Customer Reviews for

Aces Spades

Average Rating 4.5
( 500 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(277)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!

Both the Hearts and Spades games are great! If you are a traditionalst -these games will bring you hours of entertainment!

posted by Reyannan on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Good, but has play problems

This is a very good Spades game, but if you are a very good player some playability issues surface:
* The play algorithm has players play a card that would be a winner if held for a subsequent trick. Specifically, it has the player play a King when the Ace is still unp...
This is a very good Spades game, but if you are a very good player some playability issues surface:
* The play algorithm has players play a card that would be a winner if held for a subsequent trick. Specifically, it has the player play a King when the Ace is still unplayed. You can steal tricks (by leading a Jack for example) that a real player would not lose.
* Your computer partner does not protect Nil bids well. It is frustrating when it unnecessarily leads a low card and sinks your bid.
* The computer resorts to suicide Blind Nil bids far too often. Many games are won because the opposing team hits -200; this gets very tiresome.

Otherwise, this is a well-done game and I suspect that less expert players wouldn't be as affected by the above problems as I. A few algorithm tweaks would improve play. The worst problem is the first I mention above, but that should be easily correctable. Maybe Blind Nil play could be configurable?

posted by 10198700 on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Fun game

    This game was fun while I was able to play it. Within a 4 hour time period the game shut down and I am unable to play it any longer. I am glad it wasn't expensive because it is a waste of money when you purchase something and it will not work

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No Load

    Game lasted less than 1/2 hour. Will no longer load.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Would not recommend this app

    This game Cheats, The game is very frustrating. For example, You can be playing and the person to your left opens with the king of spades which is trump, the next player throws a ten, the next player a jack, then when it's your turn you throw an ace of spades thinking you would take the trick, well guess what ? the player that threw down the king of spades beats your ace and takes the trick, what's up with that last I knew an ace of spades is top trump and takes all. Also I was playing partners last night and my partner bid 4 tricks and I also bid 4 tricks. we both covered and each got our 4 tricks and no more. Well guess what happened this time. The darn dog barked and we lost 100 points, we did not sand bag so why did we lose 100 points ? if someone could explain this I would appreciate it. Thank You

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Want a refund

    Game lasted one week, purchased twice. Game shuts down in the middle of play and dealing of cards. I request a refund.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    seemed like a good game...

    This app only worked a few times then it stopped..I have tried repeatedly but to no avail...it is a dud.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Was great

    Was great for a few days now it no longer keeps score if the game! So frustrating!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Update wont install

    Cant play now since update wont install. Tried to archive amd it womt even unarchive. Great game before update.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Will not load

    After playing this app 3 or 4 times, it will no longer load. Crashes every time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Game will not load

    I paid for this game and i cannot even play it......NEVER AGAIN

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    :( fix this!

    Loved the game, and graphics. Probley the best spades game i have played.... but after a day the app stopped working! I can no longer play :'(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Spades Played trial looked good

    Bought the complete game and it doesnt work
    I am putting stop payment My son was very disappointed and so am I

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    WHAT HAPPENED?

    I had previously given this game at least 3 starts... but now it will not open.....even if you arcive the game and bring it back.....do i get my money back? Or are all of the nook apps this way

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Freezes Nook

    Like the game but constant freezing is annoying. Have reported it to no avail. Must constantly archieve and unarchieve. What a solution!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Stupid!!!!!!!!!!

    It always has me lose even when im supposed to win its stupid! I would not recomendvit

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Doesn't work on Tablet

    I bought this game for my Nook Color bought in December. I just upgraded to a 16gb Nook Tablet and this app does not work. It has an error message that states this game won't play on this edition of Nook. Too bad, it was a great game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Threw My Money Away

    This game shut down unexpectedly. It will no longer open. I should have read the review before I purchased this. I am surprised that the developer hasn't fixed the glitch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Spades

    Game has stop working without reason bad representation don't buy this game!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    for the kids

    I thought it was somewhat like Hearts but it is quite elementary and I alone or with a computer partner always win...that is no challenge but I would say a good pick for the kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2