BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Aces Up

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AN OKAY READ.

    At the beginning i must say, i was in love with this book. the whole time i just wanted shannon to end up with Cole and forget about max, but that didn't happen for awhie in the book and by the time it did their relationship quickly ended. the book was good. i felt like it was the book version of the movie 21 but with slightly different characters. overall i liked it, but i wouldnt buy it if i could do it over again. hope you found this helpful :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    How long?

    This book is, well i think it is, about 492 pages long. If you also have a nook when you first openn it it will say 170 page but each page of the actual book is about 3 pages. Ex; page 6 has three pages. This will help you decide if you want to buy this book or not. Haven't read yet but bet it'll be great : )

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Here we are ladies i am james lets have s.ex

    Yaya

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Ew

    Eh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Good book

    I liked this book because it was different but not innocent. Plus its about her playing pocker. Where do you read that?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully funny.

    This is my first Barnholdt and I can definitely say that it won't be my last. I enjoyed this book greatly and would definitely recommend it to fans of contemporary YA romances or just fans of Barnholdt. She weaved a great story with likable characters and an interesting take on the poker world. Now, don't go expecting something deep and thought provoking when you start this book. This story is all light, breezy and totally cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced story, funny MC, only minor issues

    Shannon Card definitely has the cards of fate stacked against her. She's received an early admission to Wellesley, but since her dad has lost his job, she can't pay for school. She hasn't spoken to her best friend Max in months because he ran away from her after an almost-kiss, then turned around and started dating her archrival. Shannon's willing to pull herself up out of her circumstances, and decides to earn tuition money as a waitress at the Collosio, a popular Connecticut casino, though she's four years underage for the job. Shannon is dealt another unexpected hand when Cole, the dark and tempting leader of a secret network of poker-playing college students, recruits her to join Aces Up because of her extreme math skills. She keeps toeing the line of moral gray areas in her personal, professional, and poker-playing life and it remains to be seen whether she'll come out on top when the chips are down (can you tell how desperate I am to make these gambling metaphors work?).

    I always enjoy stories centering around the gambling world, probably because they're usually complex heist stories like Ocean's 11 or savvy-group-of-kids-overcoming-the-odds stories like the movie 21 (which is referenced in Aces Up--the mention made me smile). If poker or blackjack plays a big part in the plot, I can usually count on plenty of adrenaline, some betrayal, and lots of mental calculation by the protagonists, all of which really engages my attention, and it's all here in Aces Up, with a few reservations. The back cover copy made me think that the story would center on Shannon's experiences at the heart of a group of poker-playing rebels, but besides Cole, the other members of the group aren't introduced until two-thirds of the way into the novel, and then they're not very important. This is strictly Shannon's story, and her relationships and her time at home and school are given more weight than the poker scenes.

    As for Shannon herself, I liked her a lot, though I thought that she might have been more at home in another book. She's has a very funny thought process and she gets into all sorts of chick-lit types of mishaps, but you really root for her and want her to succeed. I have trouble believing her as a math genius and subsequent poker whiz, though. I suppose she could be Ivy League book smart and still have a lot of real world stuff that's hard for her to handle, but I was surprised that she doesn't really have a workable cover story in place if her folks catch her working at the casino or coming home from it (she even wears her cocktail dress home from work). Shannon tells her family she's working at a diner, but even with all their financial troubles and daily busyness, it's unusual that they don't catch on to what she's doing sooner--they aren't bad parents or substance abusers or narcissists, so it seems like they'd notice when their straight-A student stays out until 5 a.m. waitressing and playing poker. But even with these plot-logic quibbles, I was truly enjoying the Aces Up ride--I can overlook a lot when I'm having fun, and this story is definitely fun.

    I liked Shannon's interaction with Max, and Max himself was pretty endearing once a few pertinent facts about his past decisions were revealed. The poker scenes were riveting, the plot moved quickly, and I recommend giving it a look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2