Customer Reviews for

Acheron (Dark-Hunter Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1400 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1181)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Eleven thousand years ago a god was born to human parents. His name was Archeron. He was despised by humans and hated by the other gods.

I don't want to put any spoilers in here. I totally loved this book, in fact, I plan on reading it again soon. I loved the love hate relationship Ash has with Artie. I cried at times, okay throughout most of the book. If you love Dark-Hunters you'll love this book. I r...
I don't want to put any spoilers in here. I totally loved this book, in fact, I plan on reading it again soon. I loved the love hate relationship Ash has with Artie. I cried at times, okay throughout most of the book. If you love Dark-Hunters you'll love this book. I remember the Author Goddess said that she wanted her hardbacks to be as inexpensive as possible and I think that for a 728 page book it's worth the price.

posted by spitzlady on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

WORST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!!!!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY

The book starts out with a pregnat god trying to save her childs life. She sends the child to earth to be born into a royal family. The child is born with a twin brother and their lives are tied together. Acheron is born into a awful family that abuses him and sends him...
The book starts out with a pregnat god trying to save her childs life. She sends the child to earth to be born into a royal family. The child is born with a twin brother and their lives are tied together. Acheron is born into a awful family that abuses him and sends him off to live with a uncle that turns the child into a whore because the sight of him turns people on. He is beaten and molested over and over again. His older sister finally rescues him and tries to hide him out only to have him taken back to the bad uncle that sells his body,beats and tortures him sexually. Finally the uncle dies and he is turned out into the street by his father. Once on the street and poor the only thing he knows how to do is whore, so he becomes a prostitue to get money to live. This goes on until it is discovered by his father he is whoring for money. People think the crown prince is the whore but it's Acheron so he is thrown into prison and beaten. This pattern is repeated throught the first 300 pages of the book always the same thing over and over again. it's as if the author was stuck in a rutt and couldn't think of anything to write about. She finally introduces something new to the story which comes in the form of the greek gods apollo and his twin artemis. They turn out to be some type of vampires that drink each others (and anyone elses)blood. Artemis takes an intrest in Acheron and uses him sexually. Acheron is beaten, betrayed, and hurt by everyone he comes in contact with. Finally he gets his powers but it's sure how to use them. Then the book starts to skip informatio nand jumps from one thing to another. The story gets really bad and starts to make no sense. I have never read anything as bad as this story, it's no wonder it was in the bargin bin.

posted by bamagirl on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1404 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 71
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Artemis needs to die

    Well, if you are wanting all the questions answered from what Acheron's motives are then this is the book for you.How this man ended up as compassionate and kind is a miracle after all the pain and suffering he went through. No wonder he felt so sorry for Zarek. It took me 2 days to read this book and I was very sorry to see it end. The only thing that I was hoping for was for the heroine to put a major beatdown on Artemis. Maybe in the future we can see this witch get her well deserved desserts. I cannot recommend this book enough and look forward to what comes next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    This was the best book I have ever read. I cried and laughed and

    This was the best book I have ever read. I cried and laughed and cheered for him. AMAZING! I couldn't put it down and I re-read it at least once a year. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Oh really?

    If this book is so good then why dose it cost $1.99 ? Riddle me that !
    -C•Kyle

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Favorite book!

    I love this book! Enough said! Love the meaning behind the symbol on the cover so much I have it tatttooed on my calf! WELL WORTH THE MONEY!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    If you are a Sherrilyn Kenyon DH series fan this is a must read!!

    This book has it all. An insight into the human psyche, man's inhumanity to man, love, betrayal, humor, action, mythology, and boy howdy some humdinger bedroom action. If you really want to know what makes "The Man" tick read this book. If you want inspirational quotes read the book. If you love a lttle demon similar to Simi read this book. Better yet - just read this book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Deep!!!

    Beside Dancing with the Devil, this is definitely my most memorable dark hunter books. I thought this book has excellent imagery; I felt as I was right next Acheron watching his story. This is one of my favorite dark hunter books and it's a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    The best The best!!!!!

    This is the greatest dark hunter book in sherrilyn kenyon's series you will fall in love with acheron, i cant wait for more dark hunter

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    5 indubitable stars indubitably! – No one does Tortured He

    5 indubitable stars indubitably! – No one does Tortured Heroes like Kenyon! Anyone not reading this series, or never read this series should be - if paranormal romance is your poison.

    I absolutely love this series, each book spoils me for the next book I read that’s not in this series – I just don’t wanna stop being in this world! This book is key to the series as it explains relationships and actions that seemed illogical and/or inconceivable when originally revealed.

    Without spoiling the pleasure of discovering this book; we’re taken from the earliest days of Ash and brought up to date as betrayal, cruelty and Machiavellian plots are rampant when Ash is his most defenseless; as he receives his godhood and takes the lead of the Dark Hunters. This time out the favored T-Rex finds someone to love him for him and the journey is long and heart-wrenching.
    There are old and new characters here and the new ones blend in so seamlessly it is easy to forget that they haven’t always been here. I liked Tory but wasn’t so certain she was for Ash until she proved she was – don’t mess with Tory! Her friends were a riot and I really liked them. The “centerpiece” battle pulled plenty of stops out and left me wondering how the next book could compare. It was definitely action-packed and I enjoyed how it played out.

    Of particular interest were the added outtakes of previous books which were interesting in themselves and I’m glad I got a chance to read them. I’m excited to get into the next book of this thrilling series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ !!

    ive read this book so many timee, acheron books so touching that it had me crying in the 2nd chapter. im not going to spoil anything but i must say his life was very, very rough and i like how sherrilyn makes him the powerful goddess i think he deserves it ! go read it if u havent and prepare to cry and then love acheron !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    ACHERON

    This is a good light summer read - it has some very interesting characters, based on Greek gods, can be a little hard for younger people because of sexual areas but it's well worth taking to the beach for fun! You don't need to have any prior knowledge of any of the storyline or characters,either, so that helps immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Sherrilyn Kenyon has done it again, A+++

    Kenyon has written another great book to continue in the Dark Hunter series. Having read the previous books, I was thrilled to see Acheron (Ash) get his story. I was not dissappointed. Ash's story is well told and puts alot of understanding into the his past and the way he is. The characters are well written. Having read the previous books, it was a great to read how the other characters were doing. I can't wait to start the Nick series. This is a great summer read! I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Acheron

    By far one of the most anticipated books in the Dark Hunter series and it lives up to its reputation. I'd had it sitting on my shelf for months as I struggled to get to that point in the series, not being able to read fast enough. Sherrilyn Kenyon breaths new life into the vampire novel. She's original and extremely creative. Acheron is the book about the leader of the Dark Hunters, whom we've only gotten bits and pieces about up until now. He's got a dark past that will suck you in and keep you in your seat until the wee hours of the morning. There's a good balance of romance and storyline that will keep you thirsting for more and wishing that the story didn't have an ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sherrilyn Kenyon Acheron/ Best book I ever read******

    I have to say this was a difficult book to read because of all the charactor goes through. The charactor is written so well, you feel his pain and sorrow. I have read the series so I was looking forward to finally reading about Archeron. I would recommend this for your library. I will have a place in my heart for Archeron the rest of my life, and will look at the world a little different because of him, and Sherrilyn thanks for the escape and the journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Last year we eagarly awaited the saga of Acheron Parthenopaeus.

    Wonderfully historic nods to myths,legends and of course the best "man" or would that be "god" for the job- Simi's very own Akri. Sherrilyn took her time and produced another fab, well-written, extreme character, hunk of the month who finally finds someone to love him as he really is after 11,000 years....bout time, huh? Fantastic as usual. In two parts it finally brings together all the bits and pieces from the other Dark-Hunter, Dream Hunter and Were Hunter novels to explain the hows, wheres, and whys of this fabulous male and his companions. Read this one over & over, anytime you need epic fantasy in your world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love ash

    My Amiga got me hooked on these paranormal romances. I had read bad reviews on this book, but once we start a series, we finish it. Thank god! This book was great, you get to know the man and the god. Many parts of it broke my heart, but you get to understand what a great guy he truely is and why he is such a loyal friend to all the dark hunters. Ash appears in the whole series, but this book is his story and it is a great book. Read it and you'll be hooked too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely fantastic.

    This book is very well done, the first half is dark, but must read in order to see why he is the way he is, but the 2nd half is in her usual writing style, very light, funny and heartfelt. I absolutely loved this book. Great buy! No regrets!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Her Best

    Honestly, I was not impressed with Acheron. Sherrilyn Kenyon did not pace herself with this book and you can tell by the way events fall that she rushed. From what I have seen of Ash in previous books, she didn't even begin to touch on the powers and complexities of her character. Ash is obviously someone who has gone through an ordeal over his long life, but Tory shouldn't automatically be able to make things better. She just isn't a good fit for him and frankly, I don't see how he could have fallen for her in the first place. Her character just doesn't stand well on its own. If you take Ash out of the picture, I would bet anything that Tory would be a drag down for all readers, not just the few who appreciate her because Ash has someone now who apparently cares for him.

    This is the perfect example of a fantasy. If she had left out the romance, Mrs.Kenyon would have a fairly great book here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Complex, Thrillig, Moving, Exciting, Addictive, Long and Hard

    It has to be the best book of an entire great series of books which have stolen my heart and captured my imagination. This book explains the story of a character who has made us fall in love since his first appear and it explains a lot of facts that have been cleverly been showed to us. Is delicious, difficult to read and to sallow is not expected in this sort of romantic reading to see something so much deep...
    Well.. I just loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    Deeply intense reading!

    You immediately feel for Acheron. Throughout his mortal and immortal lives, you're constantly feeling his pain, both emotionally and physically. My heart was pounding constantly. I couldn't put the book down all day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book!!

    i highly recommend this book. you dont have to read the other books to read this one but it helps... i only read fantasy lover (book 1)and night pleasures (book 2)and i skipped to this book bacuse i really wanted to see about Acheron's past and what he had to go through and wow...the book even made me cry becuase of what he went through..the book made me sad(cried) then happy... its a wonderful book...love the author! but yeah for sure it is rated whats its worth 5 stars out of 5!! awesome read! and beleive me i read more than what you see down there and this is worth it... i recommend you to look at all the author's books. and dont listen to the negative comment. it is WORTH IT!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1404 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 71