Customer Reviews for

Acheron (Dark-Hunter Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1397 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1179)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Eleven thousand years ago a god was born to human parents. His name was Archeron. He was despised by humans and hated by the other gods.

I don't want to put any spoilers in here. I totally loved this book, in fact, I plan on reading it again soon. I loved the love hate relationship Ash has with Artie. I cried at times, okay throughout most of the book. If you love Dark-Hunters you'll love this book. I r...
I don't want to put any spoilers in here. I totally loved this book, in fact, I plan on reading it again soon. I loved the love hate relationship Ash has with Artie. I cried at times, okay throughout most of the book. If you love Dark-Hunters you'll love this book. I remember the Author Goddess said that she wanted her hardbacks to be as inexpensive as possible and I think that for a 728 page book it's worth the price.

posted by spitzlady on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

WORST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!!!!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY

The book starts out with a pregnat god trying to save her childs life. She sends the child to earth to be born into a royal family. The child is born with a twin brother and their lives are tied together. Acheron is born into a awful family that abuses him and sends him...
The book starts out with a pregnat god trying to save her childs life. She sends the child to earth to be born into a royal family. The child is born with a twin brother and their lives are tied together. Acheron is born into a awful family that abuses him and sends him off to live with a uncle that turns the child into a whore because the sight of him turns people on. He is beaten and molested over and over again. His older sister finally rescues him and tries to hide him out only to have him taken back to the bad uncle that sells his body,beats and tortures him sexually. Finally the uncle dies and he is turned out into the street by his father. Once on the street and poor the only thing he knows how to do is whore, so he becomes a prostitue to get money to live. This goes on until it is discovered by his father he is whoring for money. People think the crown prince is the whore but it's Acheron so he is thrown into prison and beaten. This pattern is repeated throught the first 300 pages of the book always the same thing over and over again. it's as if the author was stuck in a rutt and couldn't think of anything to write about. She finally introduces something new to the story which comes in the form of the greek gods apollo and his twin artemis. They turn out to be some type of vampires that drink each others (and anyone elses)blood. Artemis takes an intrest in Acheron and uses him sexually. Acheron is beaten, betrayed, and hurt by everyone he comes in contact with. Finally he gets his powers but it's sure how to use them. Then the book starts to skip informatio nand jumps from one thing to another. The story gets really bad and starts to make no sense. I have never read anything as bad as this story, it's no wonder it was in the bargin bin.

posted by bamagirl on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Disturbing

    I read this book a few months ago and it has taken me this long to write a review. This book is broken down into two parts. The first part is Acheron's young life, from his birth to adulthood. The second part is his meeting his Love/Mate (I don't want to mention who it is for anyone that has yet to read the book). The first part: The most disturbing part about this is all the abuse Acheron suffered. Every kind of abuse imaginable he endured and I mean by EVERYONE in his life, except his Sister (I don't want to give away her fate so I won't go into that detail). The second part: I love that he met his Love. But, again I am disturbed by the fact that the first thing she does upon officially meeting him is to throw a hammer at him. This seems not to faze him. Overall: I think the Author threw everything out there (abuse wise) and expects us, the readers, to believe that Acheron came away from this relatively unscathed. Yes, he does have his "quirks", but after all he has endured in his life, Acheron should be a stark raving lunatic and not the character we know and love. I gave this book three stars, only because of the overall abuse.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Her Best

    Honestly, I was not impressed with Acheron. Sherrilyn Kenyon did not pace herself with this book and you can tell by the way events fall that she rushed. From what I have seen of Ash in previous books, she didn't even begin to touch on the powers and complexities of her character. Ash is obviously someone who has gone through an ordeal over his long life, but Tory shouldn't automatically be able to make things better. She just isn't a good fit for him and frankly, I don't see how he could have fallen for her in the first place. Her character just doesn't stand well on its own. If you take Ash out of the picture, I would bet anything that Tory would be a drag down for all readers, not just the few who appreciate her because Ash has someone now who apparently cares for him.

    This is the perfect example of a fantasy. If she had left out the romance, Mrs.Kenyon would have a fairly great book here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Acheron (Dark-Hunter Series)

    I'm not really sure how to rate this book. The second half I loved. Tory is just too cute. And perfect for Ash. But the first half is made to show how much one person can suffer. What Kenyon put Ash through in just the first few chapters is just disgusting. When I read Zareks story I had to skip so much of it because of Kenyons very descriptive torture of a child. I don't understand why so many authors and movie writers seem to think that child abuse and rape are so entertaining. I have waited along with everyone else for this book, and I am so disappointed about it that I may just be through with Sherrilyn Kenyon. I understand that she wanted us to know that Ash had suffered, just like she wanted us to know that Zarek had suffered. But so many things in both of their stories was just not necessary. I have not even finished the first half of this book and I don't plan to. Luckily I was so excited about finally having Ashs story that I read the second half first. That part was well worth a read. I was really looking forward to Strykers story too. But now I think I will pass on that. I will watch for the reviews when it comes out. Someone give me a heads up on the child abuse or rape. I just can't stand it. It's really a shame about this book. Because I have the entire collection of Kenyon. I almost feel like I'm back in high school being dumped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Recommended

    None

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    could have been more exciting.

    ive waited for this book for years and when it got here it felt rushed and unlike the rest of the series.. i feel like ash was different and i should have known the girl better before this book. this book should been epic but it just wasnt. now the series is going in a totally diff direction. im disappointed to say the least. sorry sherrilyn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Emotional Rollercoaster!!! Wow!!!

    My first Sherrilyn Kenyon book, and this is the one I pick up, wow! This poor demi-god of a human!! My heart broke for him over and over again for many chapters. Up / down, up / down Acheron suffered in all ways possible for many, many years of his life - and then more. I was emotionally exhausted for him and I found myself hating his family - even Risa & Artemis sometimes. The story is written very well, almost in breath by aching breath. Although it's long, you really KNOW Ach by the time this book is done, and by then you are so thankful for his happy "FINALLY" ending!!! What a good man / demi-god he is! =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    A bit disappointing

    I have to admit, this did not live up to it's hype. The first part 'Ash's past' was really well-written, gritty, evocative, and well-paced to what needed to be told. The present-day part of the book felt rushed and incomplete - a surprise, considering that Sherrilyn Kenyon began writing this book at the very beginning of her foray into Dark-Hunter territory. I get that his romantic interest 'rocks his world', but Ash's discomfiture seems contrived, not authentic or believable. Sorry, I wanted to like it...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Good but I thought it could have been better

    I absolutely love Acheron's character. I thought the first part was good with giving us so much about his pain and background. It seemed to go on forever but it was ok. The second half left me not feeling as complete as I hoped. I had hopes of a better female for him and I wanted something more in terms of what he was fighting. I would have love to see the Destroyer get released and wreck some havoc and he found a way to get her to calm down and back to her realm. Maybe it was just me but I thought the book was a bit of a let down. I was happy to see Acheron not feel so lonely but Tory did nothing for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2