BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Acorna: The Unicorn Girl (Acorna Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Hard To Get Away

This book is amazing beyond words. Can't wait to read the rest of the series!

posted by Anonymous on February 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fair

A great book for young adults.

posted by PantherJenn on July 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Anonymous

    What a fun read. Sci-fyi with humor, very well done.
    I have always been a fan of Ann McCafrey and with this co-author they have produced a wonderful set of charaters
    With human failings and surprising results from human plans gone awry. Relax and enjoy the entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    A good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Too Hard To Get Away

    This book is amazing beyond words. Can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    This book was hard to put down. Typical of all McAffrey books!

    This book was hard to put down. Typical of all McAffrey books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Strange but in a good way

    This book really caught me off guard. Definitally not you typical girl gets rescued and goes exploring in space. It does have a pretty good story line but the decriprion of Acorn a leaves me feeling like she's more of a super intelligent Mr. Ed goes unicorn. Its hard to get invested in her story and relate to her cause there is her little explanation of what her species is like.
    I like it as a slow pick up when you feel like a little reading but don't mind if your interrupted and have to get back to it later.
    I already bought book 2 but not sure I will read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Fair

    A great book for young adults.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    entertaining adventure

    This is a good well paced novel that both genders will enjoy but seems to be particularly of interest to girls and women. Lightly touches on sex without being prudish. There is some violence but not gory.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    Great series

    This is the third time I have read this series. I really enjoy it. I am an advanced reader and this book keeps me entertained. I would reccomend this book to anyone who can't find a book that is hard enough to keep them reading and likes long series! If you get the chance, read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Should have read it sooner!

    This book was recommended to me a long time ago by a friend. I kept putting it off because it looked corny, but I wish that I had read it sooner because it was really good. A little predictable, but awesomly zany.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    this book sucks it is boring and slow

    this book sucks it is boring and slow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    HATED THE SAMPLE!!!!!!!

    DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!It has swares in it.If I could I would give it half a star.It would be good if there was no swares and if it made sceance.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    My first Mccaffrey book

    I began this series when I was very young, so I cannot give an adult review of it yet. I plan to revisit it along with starting some of her other series'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    im not sure about this one

    i'm not really sure i like this one. i enjoyed the beginning but as i got to the middle my liking of this book slowly decreased

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    Morality

    At first I really enjoyed this book but as it progressed I found it to be disturbing morally. The main Character, Acorna, was innocent and pure (at least as far as I read) but the behavior of those who are the antagonists are vividly described in a manner I found extremely disturbing especially in the area of cruel abuse of young children. It got so bad I could not finish it. I was extremely disappointed.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    It wasn't the best book I've read

    I had read reviews and thought this story was going to be very good and compelling, I was wrong. I found that the book went very fast even though Acorna and her species mature qiuckly and The parts talking about mining and what not were very dull. I sometimes would look ahead to see if it was worth reading and it was also very predictable. This book did not keep me interested at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2005

    I loved this!!!

    Acorna is a lovable unicorn girl. too bad they grow up so quickly. by the way, nowhere in the book does she actually tell plants to grow with her horn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    THE BEST FANTASY BOOK EVER WRITTEN!!!!!!!

    I love these books! I got all of them for Christmas last Dec. and never can stop reading them. I LOVE them! I can't wait to get Acorna's Rebels. These are must haves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    A MUST HAVE

    This book is the BEST I have read in a long time. Acorna, a young lien girl, is found in space by three miners who then raise her, and protect her from people who want to collecte her, or kill her. A excilent stroy with good interactions between the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2002

    Acorna my favorite book of al time!

    I'm not much of a reader myself inless I find the perfect book. And in this case I found the perfect series! I just finished this book and I'm starting Acorna's Quest. I was so sure I'd love thisseries that when i bught the first book i bought Acorna's Quest and Acorna's People along with it. I must say, I would recommend this to ANYONE who loves fantasy/science fiction books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4