Customer Reviews for

Acorna's Triumph (Acorna Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    This entire series is a must read!

    This entire series is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Getting worse each book

    I wasn't pleased with this one. It had too many holes and was too whiney. I think Acorna has overstayed her time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Targeted to Younger Readers

    Acorna¿s Truimph is the seventh and final book in the Acorna series by Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Ann Scarborough. Acorna is a young linyaari (a humanoid-unicorn species) who was raised by humans. In previous books, she has had many adventures to be reunited with the other linyaari and free their home planet from the insect-like khleevi. In Acorna¿s Truimph, Acorna is reunited with her missing lifemate Aari who has been time-traveling with the feline shape-changer Grimalkin. Acorna bounces from one crisis to another across space and time, chasing thieves and rescuing people, all while trying to solve the mystery of Aari¿s strange behavior. The plot reads like a series of television episodes ¿ each crisis is neatly wrapped up and then the characters move on to the next adventure. Several of the supporting characters aren¿t much more than clichés and even the main characters seem shallow at times. However, it is entertaining in a tongue-in-cheek kind of way and the action does bop along fairly swiftly. This light-hearted jaunt through space and time with almost-magical unicorn people will mostly appeal to young adults. Others might want to try Scarborough¿s Nothing Sacred or books from McCaffrey¿s Pern series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Triumphant concluion to this great series

    The Ancestral Hosts are near immortal shapeshifters, who rescued the Ancestors (unicorns) from earth because they were hunted to near extinction by humans who wanted their magical healing horn. The hosts mixed their DNA with that of the Ancestors leading to the creation of the Linyaari race. They made their home on Vhiliinyar until the insectoid race known as the Khleevi destroyed their home world. Acorna, who as a baby was found and raised by three space miners, finally is reunited with her people and meets her lifemate Aari......................................... Together they help to rebuild and terraform Vhiliinyar but below the surface of the planet they find a room meant for time traveling. Aari becomes lost in time and space and when he returns he is different and Acorna keeps her distance from him. After rescuing a previously unknown sentient race, Acorna begins to believe that Aari is really an Ancestor host that he traveled with and the real Aari is trapped on Vhiliinyar in the past during a Khleevi attack. A rescue mission is mounted but will they be in time to rescue Aari before the Khleevi torture him once again.......................................... The Acorna novels are great space opera filled with non-stop action and enough romance to appeal to fans of that genre. Fans of Star Trek, Star Wars and Lost in Space will find ACORNA¿S TRIUMPH a wondrous delight and a fitting end to this breathtaking series. Readers who liked this book will want to read the previous six works in this series starting with the aptly named ACORNA............................ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Sad to see the series end...

    Over the past few years, Acorna has won the hearts of fans around the world. Sweet, yet strong, she has faced down aliens, healed, and searched for her past and her future. Yet, she has been a tragic heroine, for in the quest for freedom, she lost her lifemate, Aari....................... Fortunately, in her universe, time is something to be bent, and through the magic of alternate realities, Acorna and Aari get a second chance. The problem is, Aari seems to have no memory of their love other than a dry recitation as if he is reading a script of who he is supposed to be. As heartbreaking as that change might be, there are direr matters at hand, the insectoid aliens who have caused Acorna's people so much pain are once more a threat, and thieves have stolen a treasure that must be recovered. .......................... **** As with the Pernese stories, domestic dramas weigh equally with planetary crises to create a well rounded story. Fans of action, adventure, intrigue, and romance each have something to appreciate herein. Subtle humor poking fun at this current timeframe lighten the mood appreciably. While you may be sad to see this saga end, since Ms. McCaffrey's stories are among the most re-readable written, it is nothing to be too disheartened about. ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1