Customer Reviews for

Across Five Aprils

Average Rating 3
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very Worthwhile

Across Five Aprils is an all time classic novel that is full of aspiring characters that come close to heart. It is a beautifully written book filled with hate, love, and tears. Jethro Creighton is a brave boy who comes of age during the hardship of the Civil War. In th...
Across Five Aprils is an all time classic novel that is full of aspiring characters that come close to heart. It is a beautifully written book filled with hate, love, and tears. Jethro Creighton is a brave boy who comes of age during the hardship of the Civil War. In this book, Jethro tries his hardest to help others. He has a huge responsibility after his dad has a heart attack. Therefore he had to plow the fields all by himself. This book shows how taking on a huge responsibility can help you along the way. Irene Hunt wrote descriptively about the life and times of the Creighton family. I was completely absorbed into the emotional aspects of the situations of the characters', especially since the moving emotional line was so vivid, and understandable. This book is uniquely written and it helped me understand how families could be so affected. I thought even though the book was about the Civil War; it was definitely made for history buffs. At times it was difficult to read, as in vocabulary, but by far it was a spectacular book. On some parts I was on the verge of tears, just because it is very emotional. You feel as if you are an "extra" in Jethro's life. I felt as though I was going through his obstacles just as he was. I truly thought this book was amazing. It is like a history lesson thorugh and though. I loved this book and recommend it to all!This all time classic novel is a worthwhile read, and I'm very excited to share it with you.

posted by 4561674 on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Don't go past page 5

I am forced to read this for school, im only on chapter one and lost interest 5 pages after i began reading. If you are also forced to read this for school, i suggest spark notes. Again, im only on page 27 and i want to burn this book

posted by 158539 on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    It was good!

    It's a really goid written book; I really don't know what you all are talking about. It is very boring for people not interested in the Civil War life. Or history itself. Keep in mind the tine it was written; WAY before we all were even born. Give it a chance! *Suited more for history freaks*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    It was okay. It was a little boring at the beginning.

    My book was about a time period in the Civil War. The author's purpose I think was to entertain. The beginning of the book was a little boring but some parts were worth reading. The main character had it rough because he had to work on a plantation farm.The main character's name is Jethro. He works on a plantation during the Civil War and he wants to help anyone that needs it.This book involves a young man that feels like that he should help everyone. The boy's name is Jethro. He is growing up on a plantation farm and he has to take care of it.I enjoyed reading this book but it was a little boring at the beginning. The book was getting better as it went on.I would only recommend to the mature readers. I don't think people of the younger mind could interpret the language and the descriptions. It is a great book to describe courage.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Across Five Aprils

    I think this book was very realistic in some ways. It showed how familys were ripped apart by the Civil War. It also showed how hard it is to get up early in the morning and work in crop fields to servive. In this book, the main character trys his hardest to help others. He has a huge responsibility. After his dad has a haert attack, he has to plow the fields allby himself. This book is really apropreate for school if you neefd to read. I would recommend this book to history lovers and to people who speak with a dealict. This book is very historical and learningful. I hope some more people will get a chance to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    A good story, poorly written

    Across Five Aprils is a beautiful, moving story that's badly written-hence my three-star review. I only read this because my school required it- it was written in so monotonous a tone that it felt like a chore to read. If the writing style was not so crummy, I would have actually enjoyed the book, but crummy it certainly was. Unless this is required reading for school, I do not reccomend this book. (Don't use CliffsNotes- this book is not worth getting in trouble over.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Amazing!!

    Across Five Aprils is an amazing book. I think it gives great detail about the CW and how the Creightons had to deal with the trouble from the people of Newton. I think it uses the dialect very well. Most people in my reading class think this book is really boring but when I get to the class, I get all excited to read the book. If you dont like CW books, dont read this novel. Jethro Creighton is the youngest boy and has to start working in te fields at ten years old! Such an amazing story! Thanks to my reading teacher, Mrs. Wenegar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Hi

    I just started reading this for homeschool, oh God...this book gets me so sleepy. Im sure it is very educational, but...the pace couldnt be any slower. The back of my book says, "this is a beautifully written book..." im sorry? What was the Chicago Tribune thinking when they wrote that?
    I guess the key is, try to read more then on chapters at a time. Then you'll be done with it sooner. Im only on chapter 2. Dreading chapter's 3-12...;(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Boring yet alluring

    :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    it was realy boring but it was educationall.

    it was realy boring but it was educationall.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Eh

    I was forced to read this book for my 8th grade reading class. Throughout the book i had no idea what was going on. This even occured when i would force myself to read every word in the chapter. I was very dissapointed that we were never told what limb Shad lost to gangreen and felt robbed of a potential great romance between the sister and the teacher turned soldier. Honestly this book is the reason so many people are failing reading class. I would recommend this book to anyone that has trouble falling asleep at night, because this book would easily knock anyone out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Crystalqueen

    Puts the herbs away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Lillyflower

    Yawns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Silverstream

    I think we/you should give her half a poppy seed for pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Anonymus

    This book stunk. I too had to read it for school and hated it. It was SO boring. I want to rip it up and tear it to peices!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Rosekit

    "Thanks..." R

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Herbleopard

    She nodded

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Ali's Book Reviews

    I have to read this book for PASS class. The chapters are too long and the print is VERY small. The first chapter is 20 pages! I am on page 22 and i already want to shoot myself. It is so confusing! To me, it is just some random words put into random sentences in a random order. It is soooo boring! Nothing has really happened yet! Nothing is really going on! This book is a piece of s***!!!!!! I only recomend this book to someone who wants to kill themself, but doesn't have a motive.

    DON'T READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Med den

    Med den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Me

    Absulutily horrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Full o history!

    I read this book in sixth grade. It is beautifully written, and no one could do beter. To anyone who thinks it is lame, you should realize that was what it was like, just waiting for news.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Lame

    I read this book for school this year.It was SSOO slow and very boring.Don't get me wrong,i love history,its just this book took a long time to get going and was too slow.Remember,this is just my opinion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10