BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Across Five Aprils

Average Rating 3
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very Worthwhile

Across Five Aprils is an all time classic novel that is full of aspiring characters that come close to heart. It is a beautifully written book filled with hate, love, and tears. Jethro Creighton is a brave boy who comes of age during the hardship of the Civil War. In th...
Across Five Aprils is an all time classic novel that is full of aspiring characters that come close to heart. It is a beautifully written book filled with hate, love, and tears. Jethro Creighton is a brave boy who comes of age during the hardship of the Civil War. In this book, Jethro tries his hardest to help others. He has a huge responsibility after his dad has a heart attack. Therefore he had to plow the fields all by himself. This book shows how taking on a huge responsibility can help you along the way. Irene Hunt wrote descriptively about the life and times of the Creighton family. I was completely absorbed into the emotional aspects of the situations of the characters', especially since the moving emotional line was so vivid, and understandable. This book is uniquely written and it helped me understand how families could be so affected. I thought even though the book was about the Civil War; it was definitely made for history buffs. At times it was difficult to read, as in vocabulary, but by far it was a spectacular book. On some parts I was on the verge of tears, just because it is very emotional. You feel as if you are an "extra" in Jethro's life. I felt as though I was going through his obstacles just as he was. I truly thought this book was amazing. It is like a history lesson thorugh and though. I loved this book and recommend it to all!This all time classic novel is a worthwhile read, and I'm very excited to share it with you.

posted by 4561674 on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Don't go past page 5

I am forced to read this for school, im only on chapter one and lost interest 5 pages after i began reading. If you are also forced to read this for school, i suggest spark notes. Again, im only on page 27 and i want to burn this book

posted by 158539 on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    Don't go past page 5

    I am forced to read this for school, im only on chapter one and lost interest 5 pages after i began reading. If you are also forced to read this for school, i suggest spark notes. Again, im only on page 27 and i want to burn this book

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    BORING

    All I can say about this book is that it is horribly written, boring, and just plain awful. It put me to sleep in five minutes. The whole books talks about nonsensical things, too. Why, it talked about coffee for three chapters. No one should read this book. I don't even know why it was published! To anyone who sees this book in a store, STAY AWAY FROM IT!! That is all I have to say.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Across five years of boredom.....

    I really didn't like this book. It was REALLY boring. Perhaps it didn't have such dramatic characters in it.... I would still be bored because of this book. I had to read it at school in the fifth grade, I was talking to my friend the whole time because of the stupid book...


    IF I WANTED TO TORTURE SOMEONE I WOULD READ THE BOOK TO THEM UNTIL THEY UNDERSTOOD WHAT THE BOOK WAS ABOUT AND THEN BURN THE BOOK TO ASHES.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Very Worthwhile

    Across Five Aprils is an all time classic novel that is full of aspiring characters that come close to heart. It is a beautifully written book filled with hate, love, and tears. Jethro Creighton is a brave boy who comes of age during the hardship of the Civil War. In this book, Jethro tries his hardest to help others. He has a huge responsibility after his dad has a heart attack. Therefore he had to plow the fields all by himself. This book shows how taking on a huge responsibility can help you along the way. Irene Hunt wrote descriptively about the life and times of the Creighton family. I was completely absorbed into the emotional aspects of the situations of the characters', especially since the moving emotional line was so vivid, and understandable. This book is uniquely written and it helped me understand how families could be so affected. I thought even though the book was about the Civil War; it was definitely made for history buffs. At times it was difficult to read, as in vocabulary, but by far it was a spectacular book. On some parts I was on the verge of tears, just because it is very emotional. You feel as if you are an "extra" in Jethro's life. I felt as though I was going through his obstacles just as he was. I truly thought this book was amazing. It is like a history lesson thorugh and though. I loved this book and recommend it to all!This all time classic novel is a worthwhile read, and I'm very excited to share it with you.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2001

    Not Great

    I did not like this book. I thought that it was horrible. It was sooo boring. I think think the title should of been across five hours of boredom. I do not reccomend this. I didn't expect such a bad book from Irene Hunt!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    A good Read for all.

    Introduction: This is a moving and great story. In this story we meet a family slowly falling apart due to a war, the civil war. Description and summary of main points: "the main character is a boy named Jeathro, but he goes by Jeth. He and his family are farm workers. Most of the food they eat is grown by them. When the war really starts to pick up some members must leave." Evaluation: The plot is good but I can think it could be better. The fact that this is mostly based off of real events like The Civil War. I don't know if the family in the story is real but there could have been a family like them. Conclusion: It is a book that should be in every ones collection at one point or another. It has strong moving moments and other not so moving moments but still just good, I can't think of another way to explain it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe for more advanced readers...

    I really enjoyed this book when I had to read it for my freshman english class, but I can understand why some people wouldn't like it. It's slow at times, and not really for people who don't like to read, or are very picky. But if your willing to try it I think it would be worth your time.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Possibly, the most boring book i have ever read

    That is really saying something. I finish every book i start, and this was probably the one i wanted to throw out the most. I had to read it for school. The book has little plot, basicly zero conflict that relates to the plot and poorly developed characters. If it were a better written book, the topic is good.

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! BUY SOMETHING YOU WILL ENJOY!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    AWFUL

    I am supposed to read this for school(but i wont). I am on page 7 and i keep reading it over and over agin all they say is old fashioned words and it is wayyyy to confusing. If you are also forced to read it, use spark notes like me.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    this book sucks

    this is the worst, most boring no point book i have ever been forced to read it sucks
    IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK YOU MUST LIKE WATCHING PAINT DRY OR WATCHING A TREES LEAVES FALL OFF IN THE FALL!!!!!!!!!THE BOOK WASTED MY LIFE....DONT REED THIS BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    The Civil War was so much more interesting before this book

    I love reading (most) books about the Civil War, but I'm sorry, this one was really bad. It was so boring...The entire first chapter was just two people planting potatoes!! If I didn't have to read this for school, I probably would have put it down a few pages into it, and I'm the kind of person who gives ALL books a chance.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    A very boring book

    I certainly do not recomend this book for anyone, unless it's for a report, like with me. It is very typical, not an original plot at all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    BOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNGGGGGGGGG

    I'm sorry, but this book does not enterest me. I LOVE history, but (no offence) this book is so boring it gives history a bad name.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    Creighton family 'lives' both sides of the Civil War.

    Since Jethro Creighton is a main focus of this story, war is seen from the eyes of the young and impressionable young boy. The characters come alive under the pen of Irene Hunt. Students might desire help in understanding the dialect in the book, but by setting the story in southern Illinois, Hunt gives a unique focus to a Civil War story.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2000

    THIS BOOK SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!

    this is a terrible book and I advise that no one ever reads it. we had the privlege of reading it in school and I have never read anything as stupid as this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    I thought the book across five aprils was very boring. I am in 8

    I thought the book across five aprils was very boring. I am in 8th grade and one of many very good writers, and i think i could have written the book better than the author. It might have been better if the author had actually made a plot, not a potatoe field. The only reason i have read past page five, is because its for a grade. I have read many, many boring books in my life and this is probably the worst. i am on chapter 7 and find it really hard to concentrate on the book, because there is no discription, no conflict and absolutely nothing interesting! Please do not waste your money on this book, thank you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Terrible

    I wouldnt reccomend this book to anyone. Im in 8th grade and we had to read this. Everyone who had to read this said that they rather read The Giver again, that is sayin alit because no one liked that book either. :( I wouldnt not buy or read this book ever again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Not really worth reading

    I had to read this book for a school project. Honestly, its like a text book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This Book should be named Across Five Sleeps because this book i

    This Book should be named Across Five Sleeps because this book is so boring. I had to force myself by tapeing my eyes open in order to read it. DO NOT READ THIS BOOK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Amazing book!

    A really great book for anyone who loves to read a story with some history behind it.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10