Customer Reviews for

Across Five Aprils

Average Rating 3
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very Worthwhile

Across Five Aprils is an all time classic novel that is full of aspiring characters that come close to heart. It is a beautifully written book filled with hate, love, and tears. Jethro Creighton is a brave boy who comes of age during the hardship of the Civil War. In th...
Across Five Aprils is an all time classic novel that is full of aspiring characters that come close to heart. It is a beautifully written book filled with hate, love, and tears. Jethro Creighton is a brave boy who comes of age during the hardship of the Civil War. In this book, Jethro tries his hardest to help others. He has a huge responsibility after his dad has a heart attack. Therefore he had to plow the fields all by himself. This book shows how taking on a huge responsibility can help you along the way. Irene Hunt wrote descriptively about the life and times of the Creighton family. I was completely absorbed into the emotional aspects of the situations of the characters', especially since the moving emotional line was so vivid, and understandable. This book is uniquely written and it helped me understand how families could be so affected. I thought even though the book was about the Civil War; it was definitely made for history buffs. At times it was difficult to read, as in vocabulary, but by far it was a spectacular book. On some parts I was on the verge of tears, just because it is very emotional. You feel as if you are an "extra" in Jethro's life. I felt as though I was going through his obstacles just as he was. I truly thought this book was amazing. It is like a history lesson thorugh and though. I loved this book and recommend it to all!This all time classic novel is a worthwhile read, and I'm very excited to share it with you.

posted by 4561674 on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Don't go past page 5

I am forced to read this for school, im only on chapter one and lost interest 5 pages after i began reading. If you are also forced to read this for school, i suggest spark notes. Again, im only on page 27 and i want to burn this book

posted by 158539 on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Very Worthwhile

    Across Five Aprils is an all time classic novel that is full of aspiring characters that come close to heart. It is a beautifully written book filled with hate, love, and tears. Jethro Creighton is a brave boy who comes of age during the hardship of the Civil War. In this book, Jethro tries his hardest to help others. He has a huge responsibility after his dad has a heart attack. Therefore he had to plow the fields all by himself. This book shows how taking on a huge responsibility can help you along the way. Irene Hunt wrote descriptively about the life and times of the Creighton family. I was completely absorbed into the emotional aspects of the situations of the characters', especially since the moving emotional line was so vivid, and understandable. This book is uniquely written and it helped me understand how families could be so affected. I thought even though the book was about the Civil War; it was definitely made for history buffs. At times it was difficult to read, as in vocabulary, but by far it was a spectacular book. On some parts I was on the verge of tears, just because it is very emotional. You feel as if you are an "extra" in Jethro's life. I felt as though I was going through his obstacles just as he was. I truly thought this book was amazing. It is like a history lesson thorugh and though. I loved this book and recommend it to all!This all time classic novel is a worthwhile read, and I'm very excited to share it with you.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe for more advanced readers...

    I really enjoyed this book when I had to read it for my freshman english class, but I can understand why some people wouldn't like it. It's slow at times, and not really for people who don't like to read, or are very picky. But if your willing to try it I think it would be worth your time.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Lillyflower

    Yawns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Thinking....

    Jist read more reviews and saw there were not all bad. There were many fice star reviews that talked about itbeing full of history. I m a history freak. I will hold out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Across Five Aorils

    Introduction
    This book is about the civil war. A family that lives in a town has some of their family is going to fight in the war. Some are going to the union some are going to the confederates. This story consists of many characters such as, Jethro, Mary , Jeb, Matt, Tom, and some others. I am not say anymore because I don’t want to spoil the end.

    Description and summary of main points
    What some of the main points I thought was cool about Across Five Aprils was, it was in the civil war. The civil war went through the years of ( 1861- 1865.) Another thing that was cool is it keeps you wondering. It also keeps on the main throughout the story.

    Evaluation
    Across Five Aprils is a really great book. There is not anything about about this story that was not good, it was very good. Those are some of the things that are very very good about Across Five Aprils.

    conclusion
    In conclusion this book is very very good. I recommend it to everyone because it is good. There is not anything about this story that is not good. That is why I think that Across Five Aprils is a great book.

    Your final review
    I recommend this book, because it stays on the main topics throughout the story. Also it is during the civil war. Also there is a lot of action throughout the story, I think. That is my book review for Across Five Aprils by Irene Hunt.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Across Five Aprils Review

    This book was an interesting read, and consiferng my history of studying the Civil War, it was acurate and page turning. However it might not appeal to a younger audience. Four stars!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    good book

    this book was pretty good, at firstit is kind of hard to tell if it will be good or not, but it soon gets interesting. i recommend it to anyone interested in learning about the civil war from an ordinary family's point of view

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    For High School not Grade School.

    I had to help my very able 8th grader read and understand this book her teacher had assigned. The language and subtleties were too difficult for 4th to 8th graders 'Library Journal's recommended age'. Like many books, if you try and read them too early you're spoiling what could be a great experience when you're more mature. Would be a good Book Club recommendation.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    Wonderful For History Lovers!

    I am an 11th grade student, and I read Across Five Aprils for an American Literature book report. To me, the read was extremely easy! I can see that if you don't like history, the book would be as dull as reading the constitution six times in a row! For those of us who are history buffs, it's fabulous. Because I tend to be emotional, a few sections in the book had me in tears. I highly recommend Across Five Aprils to any student!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Quarterly Book Project.

    Initially, i thought that this book was going to be really stupid. I didn't even bother flipping the first throught the first two pages in the eighth grade. But as my grade dropped because it was a class edition we were studying, I decided to get reading, becuase I didn't want to fail. I ended up being in LOVE with this book, and re-read and re-analyzed this book for my Quarterly book project for freshman year. i highly recommend this book, especially if you are into the conflicts of war. But you don't even have to like politics to love this book. Hey, I hate politics, but i loved this book. there is so much going on in it, but it still keeps order and everytning still flows. The part that i really enjoyed was when Jethro received the gumdrops from one of the men while he was in town i thought it was really sweet. I also thought it was cool when Sam Gardiner caught Guy Wortman trying to rob the store. I mean, he shot him in the butt. It can't get any better than that. But realy, read this book. It was great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    Easy Read...Not Bad

    This book was a very simple read. Recommended by me! However, I don't understand why the people on this page don't like it very much. It wasn't that horrible. I think you really have to read it carefully to appreciate it. Other that, a good addition to your collection!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    I LIKED IT.

    This book was assigned by my 7th grade teacher and at first i thought it was boring then it got very intresting and i grew to like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    an emotional history read.

    I absolutely loved this book ! The author wrote descriptively about the life and times of the Creighton family during the Civil War that I was completely engrossed into the emotional aspects of the the situations of the characters',especially since the moving emotional line was so vivid. This book is uniquely written and it helped me understand how families could be so affected . A must read for history lovers and its significances!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    Classic Re-read

    I first read this book in a high school literature class and thought it was 'okay.' Recently I picked it up again and found a new appreciation for it. Hunt does a fabulous job of evoking all of the feelings of a boy coming of age during such a turbulant time in American History. This is definately a book I will use in my classroom to supplement the regular history text.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Very Good

    I was required to read this book for eighth grade English, and I must admit it took me awhile to get into. In fact, I wasn't interested enough to read past page nine until the middle of July, when I had to. But when I finally did read it, I found it very interesting and hard to put down. Overall this is an awesome book, though it may have been better and more realistic had more been included about the family's faith, and God's part in everything. But it was very good, nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Okay

    I read it during the summer of 7th going to 8th grade and it was real boring but it turned out to a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    Across Five Aprils

    This book was o.k. I think it needed more of an unexpected story line. I liked it though because it had history and made the story of the Civil War interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    I totally reccomend you to read this book.

    I think this was an ausome book. Even though I chose it for a book report because it was the shortest of the two I picked I still ended up liking it. And it is not just a boy's blood and guts story, it is a dramatic, touching, story with a little bit of Romance in it too. I give it All my thumbs and fingers and toes up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Very InterestingBook, but kind of confusing

    The book about AcrossFiveAprils, was an inspiaring book to read. It was an assighnment given to me for a bookreport, to read. The book Inspired me because it told me what was happening in the Civil War, and how hard Jethro Creighton's family went through. I think this book was great, don't judge a book by it's cover ya know.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Good Book

    This is a very good book. It is a book that can keep you interested without the biggest mystery in the world. I definetely recommend reading this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3