Customer Reviews for

Across a Hundred Mountains

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    A MUST READ

    I LOVED THE BOOK, I HAD HEARD MANY MANY STORIES FROM REAL PEOPLE WHO HAVE LIVED THIS EXPERIENCE SO WHEN I FINISHED READING THIS BOOK I JUST SAT AND CRYED FOR THEM ALL, GOD HELP THEM AND BLESS THEM! I'VE NOW GIVEN THIS BOOK AS BIRTHDAY GIFTS TO MY SISTERS, COUSINS AND MY PARENTS CAREGIVER. I CANNOT WAIT FOR REYNA GRANDE'S NEXT BOOK, I CANNOT GET ENOUGH GOOD BOOKS WRITTEN BY GOOD MEXICAN AUTHORS, AGAIN I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK AND THIS GREAT AUTHOR TOO. I PROMISE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Heart wrenching

    This novel was beautifully written and heart wreching. Even though I thought the link between Adelina and Juana was obvious, it was still brilliantly done. Adelina's story however was confusing and I believe it was out of chronological order, but not exactly sure. Everything about this book was sad though, and will leave you thinking how lucky you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Heart Breaking

    I was a bit confused as to how Juana and Adelina's life came together. But as I got to the middle of the novel the author reveals the link between the two girls. Through out the book I felt so sorry for Juana and the struggles she had to live through. I kept hoping that she would finally find her father and return home to her mother for an ideal ending. Although that was not the ending the author chose, I was satisfied with the outcome. This novel was well written and brought great emotion from me. I found my heart broken in the end, when Ama could not let go of her `Miguel¿ and when Juana and Miguelito released their parents¿ ashes into the sea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Truly recommend

    Across a Hundred Moutains surprised me the very first page I read of it.When I read it, made me feel that I was in a small town in Mexico, where a young girl named Juana Garcia lived. This amazing story is about the life of Juana and Adelina Vasquez, two friends that meet in desperate circumstances and help each other to have a better life. Juana leaves her small town in Mexico to find her father, who had left their home to get a well paying job in another country, to help his family from poverty. I really enjoyed this eye catching book because every page was full of interesting situations that these two characters brought. The most important character, Juana, is an eleven year old girl who has seen things that children her age shouldn¿t see. She suffered the terrible memory of her younger sister¿s death, and the changes that her life takes when her father leaves their family. She also suffers because of her mother, Lupe¿s, depression which causes her mother to drink and drink! She is a very strong person, that doesn¿t care about what other people say about her, but sometimes is scared to say things out loud. Trying to cross the border Juana gets caught by immigration and goes to jail. Luckily, she finds a young woman prostitute, Adelina, that helps her survive in an unknown place. What I like is that Juana and Adelina become really good friends that help and support each other in life taking experiences. Adelina was a U.S citizen who left her home to follow her boyfriend to Tijuana, Mexico. Fortunately Juana convinces Adelina to cross the border into the U.S to look for her father and for Adelina to go back with her family in California. She is a kind and caring person but is blind for the supposedly ¿love¿ that she has for her boyfriend. She can be persuaded very easily, which ends in a tragic event. The large theme of this story is illegal immigration, everyday people talk about it in the news. Many people talk about how illegal immigrants should be thrown out the country and never be given licenses. Yet if you read this book, you would get a good perspective on what immigrants have to do to cross the border and have a better life here in this country. It¿s touching and hard to believe the truth of how hard it is to start over and have better life, and keep moving forward. The author¿s voice leaves you in suspense. After I finish a chapter I can¿t stop, because I would want to know what happens next in the plot. The theme that this author has given us is very important because till this day, people are going through what Juana and Adelina went through. Every time I read out of that book I imagine that I¿m there, I feel the sadness and frustration that Juana felt. But, If you want to know if Juana finds her father and if Adelina returns to her family, read this book. And trust me you would not want to put this unbelievable book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Hard to put down & I STRONGLY RECOMEND!

    this is a great book. When i opened the book i imediatly fell into the plot. i pictured things in my life that related to it. it was so hard to put down that finished it in two sitting. wonderful debut book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    it was good

    I thought this book would be dull, becuase our school assigned it, but I really enjoyed it. It was good to get a refreshing new view on imigration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    Illegal immigration is something that is alwayz on the news. People are always saying how they should be thrown out of the country.Yet if u read this book you get a good perspective of what immigrants have to go through to get here. This book was great.. i started reading it in the moring and i couldnt put it down... finished the book in one day. Itz a great great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1