BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Across the Nightingale Floor: Tales of the Otori Book One

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An Excellent Series

The Tales of the Otori series is an outstanding blend of action, drama, forbidden love, and stirring fantasy. To see the gifted Takeo rise to his destiny throughout these stories has been the equivalent of being there alongside him. Lian Hearn masterfully weaves togethe...
The Tales of the Otori series is an outstanding blend of action, drama, forbidden love, and stirring fantasy. To see the gifted Takeo rise to his destiny throughout these stories has been the equivalent of being there alongside him. Lian Hearn masterfully weaves together a story of a hero with exceptional abilities that is attempting to discover his own destiny rather than succumb to those being thrust upon him by Secret societies and Powerful warlords. Within the story is also the forbidden love of the Princess Kaede and Takeo as they both endure so much in their hope of being together. This intriguing story, set in the ancient beauty of the east, has easily won my praise and it will always remain to be one of the greatest series' I've ever read.

posted by Hiddenmastermind on December 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not so great

I was talking with a friend at my dojo about books and he recommended this one. I thought, 'Cool! Samurai, ninja, feudal Japan, I'll love it.' Turns out, I didn't really like it. About half-way through, I stopped caring about the characters, the story, and Hearn's fake ...
I was talking with a friend at my dojo about books and he recommended this one. I thought, 'Cool! Samurai, ninja, feudal Japan, I'll love it.' Turns out, I didn't really like it. About half-way through, I stopped caring about the characters, the story, and Hearn's fake Japan. There is so much rich history and potential for storytelling in the real historical Japan, I can only assume that he didn't want to make the effort of researching it. If you want to read about samurai, ninjas, and learn something about Japan (and good writing), then pick up Cloud of Sparrows by Takashi Matsuoka. You won't be able to put it down.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An Excellent Series

    The Tales of the Otori series is an outstanding blend of action, drama, forbidden love, and stirring fantasy. To see the gifted Takeo rise to his destiny throughout these stories has been the equivalent of being there alongside him. Lian Hearn masterfully weaves together a story of a hero with exceptional abilities that is attempting to discover his own destiny rather than succumb to those being thrust upon him by Secret societies and Powerful warlords. Within the story is also the forbidden love of the Princess Kaede and Takeo as they both endure so much in their hope of being together. This intriguing story, set in the ancient beauty of the east, has easily won my praise and it will always remain to be one of the greatest series' I've ever read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Really Fun Read

    I just loved reading this book, which I did in a day. It is excellent fantasy. I just wish I came accross series like this more often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Amazing!

    Its one of those books that just suck you in. I would reccomend this book to anyone, young or old. I bought book 2 half way through reading Across The Nightingale Floor. This book has everything!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Fantastic Storytelling

    This book is the perfect beginning to an epic trilogy. Hearn manages to create powerful imagery that revives the strongest elements that the average person knows of fuedal Japan, and puts a unique twist on them. Filled with characters filling the classes of peasants, Samurai, Geisha's and Ninja, there is excitement throughout the entire book. The strongest book in the series, it will not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    They way a book should be written

    This book has it all; suspense, action, love, drama, intrigue, deception. I loved this book. I would recommend this to everyone, men and women, young and old. It's not just a chick-flick type book or a summer or beach read. I will let my son read it when he gets a little older, he's 12 now so in a year or two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    Intrigue, Love, Death, Supernatural Powers

    I picked this book up in the bargain bin as well and bought it because the jacket has a quote that compelled me, 'just as the river is always at the door, so is the world always outside'. This is an excellent book. It is written beautifully but the language isn't too elaborate that it becomes cumbersome or difficult to read. I would recommend this book to both male and female readers. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    Light on the Fantasy part, but an excellent story.

    What a great book! I'm so pleased to have discovered a new Sci-Fi Fantasy author. If you're into the heavy version of the Fantasy genre, this book may not be for you, as there's not a lot of fantasy, but there's enough that it can't be classified as just fiction. I'd say it's rather like a King Arthur novel in that sense. The story is set in feudal Japan, but there's not much historical background in the book. There really doesn't need to be, as the story could have been set in feudal anywhere, but some of the details work best in Japan (such as the Nightingale Floor). Our hero, Takeo, is found living quietly in a remote mountain village. After the villagers are massacred by Lord Iida`s men, Takeo (Tomasu at this point) meets up with Shigeru, Lord of the Otori clan. Takeo goes to live with Shigeru, takes lessons in many subjects (including writing, art and swordplay among other things), learns of his true background and the abilities he has because of his background, and is eventually adopted by Shigeru as his heir. In the meantime, a lovely young woman named Kaede is being held by Lord Noguchi as a hostage. She is being treated badly, even though she is nobility. Noguchi is allied with Lord Iida, the most evil guy around. Eventually, Noguchi decides that Kaede would be most useful as a pawn and she is betrothed to Shigeru. Sadly, Shigeru is in love with Lady Maruyama. It¿s a nice underlying love story to go with the adventure. Takeo, it turns out, is a member of the Tribe. The Tribe has magical abilities that are passed on genetically. Takeo¿s father was of the Tribe. In Takeo, the powers are strong (Does this surprise anyone? If they were weak, we probably wouldn¿t have much of a story¿Luke I am your Father¿but I digress). The Tribe¿s abilities include super hearing, invisibility, and splitting into two, among other things. Everyone in the story seems to feel that all the world¿s problems would be solved if only Lord Iida were dead. Trouble is that he¿s quite powerful and pretty paranoid. He¿s had a Nightingale Floor built in his quarters. The floor has been built to be extra squeaky, so that no one can walk across it without making noise. But, perhaps Takeo, with his magical abilities can take care of this for us¿ All in all, I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the two sequels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    This book is amazing!

    This book is the kind of book that you cant put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Wow!

    I couldn't put it down I loved itso much. I definatley recomend this book to anyone that loves great characters, amazing storylines, and characters you wish you could drag from the book and hit yourself!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Love it

    Just enough romance, action, philosophy,and japanses culture! A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A book to fall in love with

    The Nightingale Floor
    A book to fall in love with. Kateo travels to the capital with Shigeru, knowing they could be both going to their deaths. Loyalties, allegiances and loves all change destiny's in this book. Shigeru is murdered and his wife to be believed to be cursed. Shigeru's true love takes her own life and the lives of her children, while Kateo and Kaede are able to finally reveal their depths for each other only to be torn apart again. The characters are beautifully developed and the scenes come alive with each turn of the page. This should be the second book in the series, can't wait to read the rest. A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Opening To a Captivating World!

    This book was amazing. It was the second time that I read it and I was still shocked by the plot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a great fantasy book that blurs the line separating reality from great fiction in a way that reminded me of martial arts films: very fantastical, very action-oriented. Like most good fantasy and sci fi books it is a coming of age story and the character really develops. It is not historically accurate, but develops some themes I have encountered in other Japanese movies and books in an unusual way. I ordered the first book in the series online and had to order the others after I finished this one--I could barely wait for the others to arrive. I am trying to read the series for the third time but I have recently moved and misplaced this first one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    A Must Read

    This Book Is Amazing, its packed full of suspence, I recommend it to everyone of all ages i never read until my friend told me about this book im hooked on reading them! and im sure you will be too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Best book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I'd give it 100 stars if I could! This book is incredible!! The writing is beautiful, and the characters are very deep and this book is a saga that is great!! Lord of the Rings Eat your heart out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    The best of the best

    For the time that I read this book it was like it was glued to my hands. This book has many plot turns and it is a very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    A supernatural adventure

    I don't think i have ever read anything this great for a long time. This book was a unique blend of love, adventure, friendship, and self control. I would recommend this book to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    A beautifully written, thoughtful, and emotional read

    This book was so beautifully written. The beauty, history and customs of ancient Japan was brought to life through the words on the page. Even though fictional, this book brought me to another time and place and made me interested in the lives of the characters. I experienced Takeo's emotional and physical journey throughout the story. I cannot wait to continue reading the other two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!!

    Honestly, I have never read anything like this before. I was stunned by the high quality of detail in every description on every page of this book. I think anyone who has an interest in Japanese history (or Japanese historical fiction) should read this book. It will blow you away. ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Glad I looked in the bargin bin

    I was walking around the book store and I glanced at the bargin bin and a book caught my eye. I saw a sword on the cover and I immediately thought 'cool.' as I'm interested in the Japanese culture. The book was only $4.98 and I figured I would give it a shot. It was one of the best books I've read to date. I finished it in one sitting of a few hours and I just ordered the second and third parts to this. It's a fantastic book that I would love to see made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4