BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Across the Universe (Across the Universe Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 528 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(270)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Incredible Debut YA Sci-Fi Novel -- A Must Read!

WOW! I think this word over and over again throughout the reading of Across the Universe, by Beth Revis. A Young Adult novel, it is literally a murder mystery in space, in a universe that stretches on and on, infinite and vast. And how incredibly lonely it is when stuck...
WOW! I think this word over and over again throughout the reading of Across the Universe, by Beth Revis. A Young Adult novel, it is literally a murder mystery in space, in a universe that stretches on and on, infinite and vast. And how incredibly lonely it is when stuck on a ship traveling in it. Amy is sixteen and lives with her parents on Earth. Her parents are gifted and essential to a world that other gifted members of society are selected to make a journey to. These people will be cryogenically frozen to journey 300 years to this new world to help begin life on that planet. But, Amy is not essential to this new planet. She's a kid, but is permitted to go because of her parents, and is frozen into the 300 year sleep along with her parents on the ship called Godspeed. Fifty years before the intended arrival to this new world, Amy awakes when she is unplugged and separated from her cryo-haven, surviving an attempted murder -- and no one knows who did it. Forced with the reality that she is now living in a small city that exists on the metal ship, where everyone awakens to a fake sun and drinks recycled water, Amy bonds with Elder, also sixteen. This new life is all that she will now have and she is also awake before her parents. She's now alone. Elder is next in line to lead the ship after the current aging leader, known as Eldest, passes on. But, now amidst the safety of a world which doesn't know questions and chaos, someone is starting to kill again, and they're targeting the frozen people hidden in a ship that only a few select people know about. The release date for this book is January 2011, and color me giddy with excitement for how this book will be received by everyone. It has all of the elements that all murder mysteries need, which completely satiated my desire for a good "whodunit," all amidst the realities of space and the cage of Godspeed. I could not put the book down, and my eyes were growing heavy with sleep late into the night as I kept telling myself "just one more page." Each chapter switches between Amy's and Elder's perspective, allowing you to experience each of their own stories. Normally, I tend to like one character more than another when chapters switch like that and want to hurry to get to the next chapter, but not with this one. As each chapter switched characters, I was excited, ready to find out more and uncover the mystery that each of them were facing. I cannot tell you more about the plot without giving anything away - I can only tell you that I loved this book, this story with characters so real and interesting and engaging. I was drawn into their angst, their confusions, and the mystery that they were trying to solve. There is even more to this story, discussions of class systems, prejudice, and other social issues that were fascinating. I admit that I sit on the edge of my seat wishing for 2011 to pass quickly so that I can get my hands all over Book Two -- oh, yes, this is a series! Yes, yes, yes!

posted by NatalieTahoe on October 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

needs a sequel story line felt unfinished

There was almost two main plots, you have the plot of the overall space mission and then you have the subplot of the murders. While one reached a conclusion the other did not. I definitely felt like the ending was abrupt and when i got to the last page I couldn't believ...
There was almost two main plots, you have the plot of the overall space mission and then you have the subplot of the murders. While one reached a conclusion the other did not. I definitely felt like the ending was abrupt and when i got to the last page I couldn't believe that was it. It was very original and hit on some lessons about racism and individual thought. Although there were some sex scenes that seemed odd and forced. Overall I don't think it would make it to my reread list.

posted by mastaspammip on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    horrible

    What a waste. The plot jumps around, no good resolutions, and no good dystopian society. save your money and time. also the girl saying daddy all the time was extremely annoying and the authors three new curse words were silly. they come up with new profanity but no new other words? ugh.....refund please?!

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Return Worthy

    You know that gamefly commercial where everyone is upset about buying a bad game? That's how I feel about this book. I wish I could take it back. I just might try. If it were anything else I wouldn't hesitate to return something I was so incredibly dissatisfied with. This book shouldn't be any different. The story jumps around a LOT. "Amy" sounds like a young child other than the teenager she is. The "romance" between Amy and Elder seems like a melodrama written by some high school-er based on what they THINK romance is and how they should act. The fake swearing that is useless and does not further the story nor add to the characters personality. It is just completely unnecessary. Then there are the geographical slang words that are used in different contexts only adding to the confusion of their meaning. I shouldn't have to check the urban dictionary because an author doesn't know how to be consistent with their slang. If I could I would give it no stars but I have to give it something to give a review. I am honestly surprised anyone published this piece of mediocre writing.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The plot is thick, dripping with potential. It was the only thin

    The plot is thick, dripping with potential. It was the only thing that kept me reading the book, because the characters were grating on my last nerve. Writing wise, it wasn't bad. The alternating perspectives confused me at first but after I got over that, I enjoyed it. However, the emotions the two leads were presenting were very soap opera-esque. It was if they were acting, poorly, because "that's how people are supposed to act in these situations." It reminded me very much of junior high school plays.

    In addition to that, the characters (who are supposed to be 16) act like they are preteens. I fully understand that the lead female is alone, but I do not understand how half of her can be the strong heroine and the other half be a whiny child. One side has got to win, it doesn't flip back and forth as much as it did in this book. As for the male lead, for someone who is supposedly raised to one day lead the ship, he's certainly a petulant little brat. By 16, he should hold a lot more maturity than he displayed, *especially* given his circumstances. This also switched back and forth through the book.

    I liked Orion, I liked Harley (for the most part), the other side characters were very shallow and appeared to just be there for the sake of drama. The "Season", a very clever idea, was ruined by the sex scenes that were more of a sex-for-the-sake-of-sex addition.

    Plot? Yes, I love the plot. Execution? No, this wasn't executed well. However, because of the plot and taking the author's experience into consideration, I will continue through the trilogy hoping the characters, writing, and style matures. ((And I have read the second book since writing this review. The second book is worse.))

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Horrible just Horrible

    "Across the Universe" by Beth Revis How would you feel if you knew you were going to be frozen for the next 300 years and then sent to another planet? Amy and her parents along with 97 other people are frozen and then launched in the spaceship Godspeed. The people believe that the next time they wake they will have arrived to their destination: a new planet. Unfortunately that is not what happens, when Amy wakes there is no new planet, her parents are still frozen and She along with the inhabitants of the spaceship are trapped there until landing. Not only that but there is a new leader who rules in a kind of dictatorship, things don't go as planned and the spaceship gets delayed. I was very excited to read this book, the plot seemed so original and well it was, but it was just soooo depressing. There were some parts where I would think, "Really what was Revis thinking while writing this?" I kept reading though because I did want to find out what would happen in the end but it was a complete waste of time! The whole story was just so miserable, gloomy and depressing, and that would have been alright, it's not as if stories have to be cheerful or have a fairy tale ending to be enjoyable, but it has NO ending! This is how it ends: due to many problems that occurred with the engine the spaceship is delayed over 200 years and then Revis just leaves the story there, a spaceship somewhere in the universe with people trapped and no way out! Don't read this it's a waste of time and money; there are much better books out there.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    meh

    meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Ew

    This book is terrible it makes no sence

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    BOR-RING

    I was very disappointed with this book. I'd heard great things about it and was expecting it to be amazing(or at the very least, good) but this was not the case. It was so boring I couldn't even concentrate on the story. Reading it became a chore and I LOVE TO READ. Very, very disappointed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Almost

    The characters are unrealistic while the plot is expected and a cliffhanger. Dont purchase!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    horrible horrible horrible

    never ever ever read this horrible book. this was the worst book i have ever opened and i have read moby dick! i hope you dont make the mistake of buying this book again and i hope this author never makes the mistake of writing another book like this either!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    dont read

    terrible read the overview and thought it would be good but it was a waste of money dont get it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2