Across the Universe [Original Soundtrack]

Across the Universe [Original Soundtrack]

4.3 16
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

As soundtracks to misguided Beatles-inspired movies go, Across the Universe -- the companion piece to Julie Taymor's pseudo-psychedelic fantasmagoria extravaganza, telling the story of the '60s through the tunes of the Fab Four -- isn't too embarrassing. Certainly, it lacks the appalling tackiness of Sgt. Pepper and it's not as stuffy as All This and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Across the Universe [Original Soundtrack] 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read a lot of the reviews of "Across the Universe" and I've noticed something : Either people absolutely love it or they loathe it. I on the other hand like this soundtrack. I haven't seen the movie yet but the music isn't half bad. So far I think my favorite track is "Blackbird" , it's melodic and sweet. I know the original songs arw just as good but I think this album makes a pretty good attempt to recreate the magic the Fab four did so many years ago.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My sister saw this movie and purchased the soundtrack and I had the misfortune of sampling the first few songs....the music seemed very flat and dull to me and the artists didn't sound very talented in the vocal department. Save your money!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was pure perfection. I've never seen such an amazing film. They re-did the beatles music so well they must be proud. It left me wanting more I plan on seeing it 100 more times!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie and thought it was ok. But the music was so wonderful, I ordered the soundtrack as soon as I got home. I'm not a Beatles fan - well, I wasn't a Beatles fan- but the sound directors of 'Across the Universe' did such an incredible job arranging the music in the 32 songs used in the movie - I think I may be a convert now. My only disappointment with this CD is that they didn't record all of the songs. I'm looking forward to a CD with all 32 songs on it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie and immediately went out to buy the soundtrack! I hated the Beatles before I saw this movie, and now I love this soundtrack! It's amazing!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
the music is a great new modern spin on the still wonderful originals and the movie is just as aesthetically pleasing as the the soundtrack.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The way they captured the essence of The Beatles is phenomenal. The songs are heart-warming and passionate. Beautifully done. I highly recommend the movie which was stunning, captivating, moving, and imaginative.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my ultimate favorite CD! These artists are so talented and, well, it's the Beatles, so it's awesome!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of the best things I have heard in a while. It's a new twist on the old without altering it to much. It refreshing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
All of the artists on this CD are great...however, I'm not a BONO fan at all. Joe Cocker is legendary! I've seen him in concert. I've seen Paul McCartney in concert...his show is certainly the next best thing to the Beatles live. I was skeptical of this movie and CD, but when Jim sings "Girl" at the beginning of the movie, I knew I was in for a treat! And, Joe Cocker singing "Come Together" gives me goosebumps! This CD will find a place with my Beatles CDs!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just watched the movie and i loved it especialy the songs. I would recommend it to anyone that likes the Beatles. The vocal are in my opinion amazing. Who ever made movie really outdid there self!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm sixty three and this movie was recommended to me by my fifteen year old granddaughter who loved it. I liked the Beatles music in the past but never owned an album. But, I really liked the way the movie incorporated the songs into the screen play and so, I bought the CD version. I have a new appreciation for the songs and how talented this group really was. I recommend both the DVD and the CD.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago