Customer Reviews for

Across the Universe [Deluxe Version]

Average Rating 5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Who does not love the Beatles?

    After seeing the movie I had to have this CD. The movie is so entertaining and puts the music to the times we were living in and makes the music mean so much more than lyrics and music. Beautiful production. I keep this at my desk and listen to it when I have to turn out the rest of the workplace to concentrate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    This is a great CD..I had seen the movie first so I am not sure about those who buy the music without seeing the movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Movie!!

    I saw the movie a few weeks ago, and it was awesome. Allegory that's not overdone, and serendiptiously very relevant as far as the plot. The characters are obviously based on music legends like Joplin and Hendrix (duh for anyone in doubt), but again, great movie. Sadly, this version does not include two tracks: Why Don't We Do It In The Road, and I Want You (She's So Heavy). These songs are sung in parts of the movie that introduce key parts in character and plot development. But they are available on the iTunes version, which is about 60 cents more than the Member Price here. But purchasing the movie as well isn't a bad idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is why I'm a musician

    I was quite into the Beatles when I was younger but not overly so then about 2 days ago I saw this movie and ran out and bought the album yesterday. Haven't stopped listening to it since. The Beatles were the real reason I got into playing music but THIS is why I'm still a musician.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This music is timeless...with a twist

    I love the different versions of these classics. I Want You is on I tunes-not with the CD, but if you put the title in, you'll get a version from the movie.Also-it's on the Beatles' Abbey Road album.By the way, the movie storyline is pretty good and the young stars are fabulous singers and performers. Def worth the watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing production!

    The Delux version has every song in the film (some titled under different names). I wish the CD was more intune with the film in having the other actors sing, like Hold Me Tight and the film's version of All You Need is Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    I cannot stop listening to this CD. It takes classics and updates them into something new and different. I love the soundtrack and I love the movie as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Get the Soundtrack, not the movie!

    This soundtrack is absolutely, positively pheonominal. It was too bad the movie was one of the worst movies on which I've ever wasted my time. The only thing good about the movie was that this gem of musical splendor has come from that poorly crafted visual piece (piece of ...). Buy this. (And Sturgess' vocals were spot on... don't let anyone tell you differently!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the most moving cds out there.

    Wow so this movie is definitely my favorite by far. The vocals for this movie were sheer genius and the use of songs to seem like part of the dialogue were just amazing. Remaking beatles songs to almost surpass the originals is almost impossible, but this cd shows it has been done. :) A wonderful CD and movie. A must-buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One word - WOW.

    Buy it, I'm telling you. You will have no regrets if you like the Beatles at all. Their performance of Blackbird, Hey Jude, and I've Just Seen a Face blow me away. A great soundtrack woven in with an amazing movie. Just trust me, you should buy it. Not just your favorites on iTunes, because some of the less popular ones are great to. Take 'I want to hold your hand' by T. V. Carpio. It's slow, but the vocals are great. Please please please buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I AM SO IMPRESSED!

    I enjoyed Beatles music back in the day but was not a die-hard fan. This movie and CD totally turned me on. The concept and the various renditions of the music are simply incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Saw the movie last night and was totally amazed. Brought me right back to that time. Just incredible!!!!!!! Can't wait to see it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow...

    I loved it! I can't stop listening to it. This soundtrack is one of the best I've heard in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    watch the movie first, then buy the soundtack

    It is a movie to a soundtrack! You can't really understand or like it unless you have seen the movie (which is my new favorite by the way).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buy this soundtrack!

    I saw this movie with my husband, and we are huge Beatles fans. It was fantastic, along with the soundtrack. The artists have brought something new to something we thought could never be improved. And whomever is the critic totally misunderstood Sadie, she was obviously Janis Joplin... Melissa Ethridge... Really?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME!

    Beatle fans will love this movie and sound track!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must see, must hear!

    I am a huge beatles fan and I am in to movies like this one, so it was a match made in heaven for me. The soundtrack was amazing, and the way that the singers added there own personality to the already perfect beatles was above ond beyond!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing

    this movie was amazing and this is by far my favorite soundtrack to any movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2