Customer Reviews for

Across the Veil

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An Enchanting Tale! Don't Miss This One!

Enchanting tale of two fae who are re-united in an intriguing story. Even though this is a novella, the characters are well-developed. I was truly entranced by the fantasy world that Lisa Kessler shared. Don't miss this one!

posted by LindaTownsend on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I probably would have given this more stars had I not been tricked into paying for it. BN has a habit of charging you when you think its free. Would not have paid money for something so short and obviously a preview.

posted by catweber on December 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    An Enchanting Tale! Don't Miss This One!

    Enchanting tale of two fae who are re-united in an intriguing story. Even though this is a novella, the characters are well-developed. I was truly entranced by the fantasy world that Lisa Kessler shared. Don't miss this one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A dynamic short story

    I had the privilege of reading Across The Veil and instantly fell in love with it. It was amazing how Lisa Kessler, the author, managed to fit a complete story in just 6000 words. She packed the story full of heat, descriptive words, and polished it off with a well thought-out plot. The pacing in most short stories often feels off or forced in someway. In this little jewel, the pacing of everything came naturally. This book left me without any questions other than, will Lisa write a full story sometime? I hope she does! In Across the Veil, you get to a sneak peak into the movie making business, a deadly feud between brothers, and glimpse at the Fae world. You will also witness the death of a vampire and revel in the romance between Keth and Talia. Talia and Keth are amazing characters who deserve a full book! However, leaving the story as it is will also satisfy your thirst for a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVELY READ!

    Even thought this book was a fast read, it is nothing short of brilliant. The plot was very original, pace was good, Characters and world both well developed. The twist were what kept me hanging on I NEEDED to find out what was happening. Overall it was a blast to read. I would definitely refer friends, and anyone else to read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Okay

    I probably would have given this more stars had I not been tricked into paying for it. BN has a habit of charging you when you think its free. Would not have paid money for something so short and obviously a preview.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Good

    Wow! I really liked this book. It was a short read, but it was good! I liked the leaves. Thanks for the free read. J.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great quick little story with great characters. In the short spa

    Great quick little story with great characters. In the short spanse of the story, you really get a well rounded view of the characters and what the story is all about. Again it's a quick read but for the money, it's fun to read while in the doctor's office. Loved it for what it was!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great read

    Great short story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Great story!!!

    You wil love the characters, this is a wonderful glimppse into a world that deserves its own book. Highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    A sweet paranormal romance short story. Talia, Princess of the

    A sweet paranormal romance short story.

    Talia, Princess of the Fae, walks among humans known as Natalie--a star actress. Her life is going very well until it's suddenly interrupted by Faldo...the last person she expected to find in her trailer on the set. He wants her to locate Keth, another Fae, who in a different lifetime, was beyond special to both Talia and to Faldo. This short story has strong themes of revenge, betrayal, eternal love, choice and consequence. It's a very quick read of less than 20 pages. The copy I read had a few sections (of several paragraphs each) where all lines were indented (not just the first line of the paragraph), but was clean of typos and spelling errors. I enjoyed this quick foray into the paranormal....and the happy ending after a very dark moment. Recommended to fans of paranormal romance.

    Content: sensual kisses (but nothing more), clean language. ~Kristin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Sweet Novella! I didn┬┐t know what to expect when I decided to re

    Sweet Novella! I didn’t know what to expect when I decided to read ACROSS THE VEIL and was pleasantly surprised. Ms. Kessler has an easy-to-read writing style that lured me into her world and characters. For a short story, she had a lot of information to get across and she did so with beautiful, descriptive sentences and heated conflict between the characters. The initial re-union between Talia and Keth was a bit rushed for me, but this is a short story after all! I guess that just means Ms. Kessler either needs to write a novel length prequel or sequel to VEIL so that I can truly fall in love with the characters and the wonderful fae world she creates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Good

    Short & sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Good thing its free

    Dont waste your time

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    A bit rushed

    I liked this story;however, it felt rushed. The characters are genuine, the plot was intrigueing and it all flowed well. Just felt a bit rushed, is all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    It was

    It was ok not great but good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Pass

    Glad it was a freebie

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2