Customer Reviews for

Act Like You Love Me: An Accidentally in Love Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    I devoured this book in the course of just a few hours. I'm such

    I devoured this book in the course of just a few hours. I'm such a sucker for a well written contemporary romance, and this definitely falls into the category of a well written novel.

    I love the Southern flair in this novel. The fishing, the friendly neighbors, the meddling mothers. The atmosphere reminded me of home, making it a very comfortable setting that I enjoyed immensely.

    Brynn and Sawyer are a sweet couple. I enjoyed the acting aspect of the relationship, even though there were several times I wanted to reach through the pages and shake Brynn until she came clean about who she was. As someone that would love to hide parts of my past, I could easily relate to Brynn and her desire to keep her embarrassing high school experiences under wraps.

    The most inspiring part of the book (for me) was when Brynn talked through all of her relationship problems with the person she least expected to ever share them with. (Trying so hard to keep out any spoilers!) This conversation was inspiring to me because it shows that people can't be judged by who they once were.

    If you like contemporary romance, this is a must read for the summer!

    Note: I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    I was a little hesitant about reading this book, because I have

    I was a little hesitant about reading this book, because I have been in a New Adult zone for the past year and was afraid my mind was not going to give it the fair chance it deserved. I’m so glad I did! This was quite an enjoyable book!

    So ladies how many of you haven’t told a little white lie about yourself, or omitted the truth when either dating or getting to know a guy? Come on fess up we all have done it…I know I have it’s what intrigued me about this book so much because Brynn just does what we all wish we could do or have done at some point in our lives!

    Brynn is an actress and also a self-proclaimed weirdo who quotes lines from plays and love Love and epically tragic love stories. But in high school Brynn was the weird theater geek girl who had a humongous crush on the star of the football team, Sawyer Reins who did know she was alive.
    Until one day she decides to ask him out in a rare form of bravery and he shattered all her hopes in the span of seconds. The what happens later in high school only adds insult to injury. Flash forward to a few years later and a make over, Brynn out of college and running her families bait and tackle shop with her brother is staring in the locale play in her town when their director has to quite and is replaced by none other than.. you guessed it Sawyer Reins. Only he has no clue who she is. But Byrnn still feels the hurt and resentment from all those years ago. Despite her best efforts though she can’t help but be still attracted to him, I mean he was her crush for a reason, and it doesn’t help that he is showing her more interest than a professional one either.

    Deciding not to tell him who she really is she decided to one little white lie go, whats the big deal right? But when hearts get involved and the more lies get tangle then what? When the story unfolds of what happened to Brynn in highschool I was very shocked.
    I couldn’t imagine something like that happening to me in high-school, even though my high-school experience was very normal, I felt so very bad for Brynn. Then people KEPT bringing it up! I was screaming shut up for her! Cindi did a great job at make me feel Brynn’s pain and the reasons behind her actions, I connected way more with Brynn than I did with Sawyer, even though I understood his actions as well. Brynn is read-between-the-lines funny (the kind I love) and I couldn’t wait to hear what came out of her mouth! Sawyer was a little hard for me connect with, I would have like to hear more of his side, even though it alternated it was more from Brynn’s side.

    I love Cindi’s writing style and after reading this I am definitely going to go and read about Wes and Danni’s story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    For as much as the first book in Cindi Madsen's Accidentally in

    For as much as the first book in Cindi Madsen's Accidentally in Love series is a friends-to-lovers story, Act Like You Love Me is the opposite.  Brynn McAdams may have worshipped Sawyer Raines in high school, but they're hardly friends. As a matter of fact, when Sawyer returns home from NYC to help with the play Brynn's starring in, he doesn't recognize her AT ALL. Still aching a little bit from his past rejection, Brynn decides to play it cool, hide her true identity and be who she thinks Sawyer wants her to be. I mean, she is a talented actress after all. The problem is it doesn't stop with one or two little untruths...pretty soon it's snowballed into something so big there's no going back. For either of them.

    I always love Cindi Madsen's quick, witty writing style, and she uses it to her advantage to convey each character's personality through thoughts and words. I feel like I can connect with them and always have a clear understanding of emotions and motives. The nature of this story screams anxiety, and man did I have it. I knew Brynn was getting in too deep in a lot ways; the further involved she & Sawyer got, the more I wanted her to come clean.  The suspense and build up to that ultimate moment of truth kept me on edge and when it hit, it was just as tumultuous and rewarding as I expected. By that I mean totally ripped my heart out, stomped on it then wrapped it up in a shiny gold box.

    I was glad to see this book included characters from the first book while focusing on a new main couple. I loved Dani and Wes from Falling For Her Fiancé, so I was ecstatic to see them again and enjoyed the way their story entwined with Brynn & Sawyer's. It was fun to piece together the ties between the main characters - Brynn's brother Paul is the jilted guy who loaned Dani & Wes the ring for their fake engagement. That was an AHA! moment for me. I know, I know, it's silly but sometimes when you're reading it's the little things.

    While this may be a very sweet romance series, it's not without hot moments. Act Like You Love Me gives you a lot of chemistry between characters and totally gratifying sexual tension. Another thing I give Madsen kudos for is her ability to write tender love scenes- the kissing! - but never leave you feeling unfulfilled. Her use of suggestive language gets the point across nicely without graphic details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book. You get a hot guy Sawyer that does stuff to h

    I loved this book. You get a hot guy Sawyer that does stuff to help his mom and aunt. He just didn't notice what was in from of him when he was in high school but he did have a lot going on at home to keep his mind else where. Then there is Brynn who was not popular in high school and dressed weird but now she has turned into a fiery actress in her local town and helps her brother Run the family bait shop. Things start with white lies between them because she don't want to ruin her chance of being with him if he remembers her from school. Can he get over the lies and see what's in front of him now...... Can't wait for the next book :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Brynn McAdams is different than the geeky girl she was in high s

    Brynn McAdams is different than the geeky girl she was in high school - a time that she hates to think about since it was so horrible for her. Sawyer Raines was the guy she crushed on back then and it's shocking for her to see him again after all this time. However, he doesn't recognize her or remember her and she doesn't want to remind him. But they start hanging out more and her white lies are going to catch up to her sometime, right?




    First of all, I absolutely, completely loved Brynn. She is super quirky and simply hilarious. She has a passion for theater, classic literature and acting -- it's so strong you can see it in everything she does. She is the definition of a hopeless romantic and I loved the way she gushed about the perfect romance and the fact that she collects kissing figurines. I feel like I would love to be her friend in real life and I think we'd really get along! One of the first things that happened that made me think, yes, this character is awesome is when she reenacts a fish love story with rubber fishing lures when she's bored at work. Because how hilarious and awesome is that. AND, she has pet birds named Lancelot and Guinevere.




    "It was harder to convince herself she wasn't still an awkward nerd when she was talking to her birds. Birds named for one of her favorite couples -- hey, if they couldn't be together in the stories, at least they could be together in her living room in feathered form, right?" - pg. 19




    Yeah, we totally could have been BFFs because I had a fish I named Darnay back in the day because I loved Tale of Two Cities that much.




    Anyway, high school was pretty awful for her. She was a drama geek, nerdy and made fun of. Not to mention her crush, Sawyer Raines, crushed her heart. As a result, she thinks she needs to tone down who she is when she sees Sawyer again. She doesn't want to scare him by quoting plays or Shakespeare or being too excited about romantic things. (Which, by the way, her bubbliness about those things and little things in life made me feel excited too! Seriously I love this girl).




    So, yes, Sawyer Raines, comes back into town. Living in NYC as a screenwriter, he comes back to town to help fix up the lake house for his mom. Gosh, Sawyer. He is a perfect combination of handsome jock but with a sensitive side; brooding but also funny and fun. I loved him. (Brynn's crush is totally justified). He's had some hard things happen in his past and it makes him wary of staying. Despite his wariness, he comes to really enjoy being with Brynn. And he meshes with her so well! Their interactions were perfect! He also had a few adorable quirks. I mean, who really likes grape soda?




    Anyway, I really enjoyed their story. Yes, it's a little typical and you pretty much know what will happen but I still loved reading it because of the characters! Read this if you want a cute love story with incredible characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    4 Stage-worthy Stars! In the world Cindi Madsen has created

    4 Stage-worthy Stars!




    In the world Cindi Madsen has created in Act Like You Love Me, is what every hopeless romantic girl dreams of; getting the unattainable guy. For Brynn McAdams, as much as she dreamed of being with Mr. Popular high school football player, Sawyer Raines, she never really thought it would be a reality, especially after he moved away to New York. But fate has other things in mind when he shows up, back in their hometown to direct the play she is the lead in. “Oh woe is me” does not even begin to describe Brynn’s feelings and anxiety of Sawyer showing up and disturbing her sliver of peace in the theatre. Thankfully for Brynn, Sawyer doesn’t recognize her from high school and she desperately wants to keep it that way. She never wants him to remember her being one of the biggest “drama dorks” in high school or the one event that sealed her high school fate. But that gets difficult when Sawyer keeps pushing to be near her and the “acting” on Brynn’s part begins to crack as they spend more time together. But an act can’t continue forever and Brynn is discovering that the curtain is about to close.




    Oh Brynn and Sawyer…what a wonderful contrast these two are to each other. Brynn, being weird, and bubbly, and open. A true classical literature romantic. Sawyer being immersed in the theatres on the outskirts of the stage, taking control, going after what he wants, and a complete commitment-phobe. I wanted to scream at Brynn to just be herself and not worry about what anyone thinks, especially Sawyer. And I wanted to smack Sawyer upside the head…in a good way. I adored their interactions, their relationship, and their desire for one another. 




    Cindi’s writing is brilliant and she really captures the differences in Brynn’s and Sawyer’s voices each time we get insight into their minds.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who ever had a crush in high school and wishes for the chance to do things differently. And for everyone else who got that chance ever.




    (I received an ARC for my review and this is my honest-to-goodness, straight from the heart review!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In Act Like You Love Me (An Accidentally in Love Novel) by Cind


    In Act Like You Love Me (An Accidentally in Love Novel) by Cindi Madsen, Brynn McAdams has tried her best to grow up and change from the drama geek and weirdo she was in high school. Everyone used to make fun of here because she liked to dress differently in vintage clothing and was in the drama club. She was ignored and dismissed by her crush Sawyer Raines when she dared to ask him to prom, all adding to her hating high school and wanting it to be over ASAP, and never to have to see any of the people who humiliated her again.

    Now she has graduated from university with a degree in literature and a minor in acting. She is working in her family’s bait shop with her brother and acting is her escape from reality. But while running late she has no choice but to change her shirt in her car in the parking lot. Too bad that she has just flashed her bra to a man in the parking lot. As she gets closer to him to get into the theater, she recognizes his emerald green eyes, Sawyer Raine is back in town and her first thought is to run.

    Sawyer Raine has returned home only to fix and sell the lake house for his mother. Since his father died nobody has used it and has fallen into disrepair. While there his aunt has asked him to help her by directing a play at the theater, since he has nothing else but the lake house repairs to keep him busy he feels he will have enough time to help her, do the repairs and still be able to return or move to NYC soon enough. But the beauty that just flashed him has intrigued him and he wants to know more, even if he knows better than to get involved with any actress, he has learned his lesson or so he thought.

    As fate would have it, Brynn happens to be his next-door neighbor at the lake house, and she does not like him making a lot of noise at night doing repairs to the point she can’t sleep. But one misconception on his part leads to lies by omission on her part. Brynn doesn’t want to relive her past, and maybe being someone else will be the only way she can finally have her high school crush notice  her this time.

    Sawyer and Brynn spend lots of time together working in the theater and living next door to each other, which will lead inevitably to them dating. But with Sawyer firmly set on his plans of going back to New York and then moving to LA, it leads to them both fooling themselves that this is only a fling, and Brynn into believing that her lies will not come to light before she is ready to loose Sawyer once again and this time forever.

    The romance in this book is really sweet, but both Brynn and Sawyer will need to let go of the past and open up to the possibilities a future together can bring them.
    If you want a fun, sweet and very interesting romance with a former high school jock and a drama geek, you will like Act Like You Love Me by Cindi Madsen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun romance  Brynn McAdams is at the point in her life where she

    Fun romance
     Brynn McAdams is at the point in her life where she is beginning to wonder if love has passed her by.  She's finished college, is helping run the family business, and her main outlet is acting in the local theater productions.  Sawyer Raines lives in New York, he writes screenplays, has sold one, and is currently working on another.  Home for several weeks to fix up a house his family owned to resale, his aunt talks him into directing the local play after the director has to quit.  When Brynn sees Sawyer all her old high-school memories come flooding back to her....memories of when she was a dork, of people laughing at her and being mean to her, and worst of all, the rejection she suffered from her high school crush, who just happened to be Sawyer Raines.  Sawyer was the former high school football star, popular, and was always way out of Brynn's league.  Granted, Brynn has undergone a total transformation since high school.  So much so that Sawyer has no clue who she is, and in fact thinks she is just another actress, and an actress is the last person Sawyer wants to be involved with, especially after his last relationship.  Nevertheless, he finds himself very attracted to Brynn.  Brynn kind of just goes with it, and let's Sawyer think she is someone she's not, convincing herself that she isn't really lying, he's just assuming and she's letting him.  She has no desire to relive the horror of high school again, and he is only here for a short time, right?  I mean, she doesn't even like him anymore, does she?  Will Brynn be able to pull it off, or will everything blow up in her face if the truth comes out?  Is love worth taking a chance on heartbreak and rejection again, or is the past destined to repeat itself?




    Cindi Madsen has delivered another entertaining, fun, and heartwarming romance that will put a smile on your face the whole time you are reading the book.  I really enjoyed her last book, Falling for Her Fiance, and was looking forward to reading Act Like You Love Me.  I liked both Brynn and Sawyer's characters.  Both of them have hurtful issues stemming from the past, and Sawyer is not the person Brynn thought he was.  There is definitely chemistry there, no matter how much Brynn tries to deny it.  I felt bad for Brynn, especially about her high school experience and could sympathize with her.  High school is definitely something I would never want to do again, though I never experienced anything like Brynn did.  There are a few hot moments, and the romance is really sweet.  I loved Entangled Publishing's Bliss books, and in Act Like You Love Me, Cindi Madsen delivered another great lighthearted romance that is entertaining and leaves you with a smile on your face and in your heart.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love romantic comedies and chick-lit and I felt that this book

    I love romantic comedies and chick-lit and I felt that this books was within this genre, I really like it a lot and I had fun reading the mess in which Brynn got herself in, because what starts at the beginning as a misunderstanding between Brynn and Sawyer then she takes the opportunity to create another identity and act like a different person as she is regularly with the help of the good or bad advice of her brother.

    Brynn is an attractive woman, she is a theatre actress and she loves romance (movies, books, plays, etc.), but usually she doesn´t have good luck with men because she starts quoting lines from plays in a regular talk. And she was not always attractive because in high school she took really bad decisions regarding her appearance, so in her high school years she was a insecure girl who loved the theater. She used to have a crush with one of the most popular boys at school, but he never notice her so when six years later Sawyer returns to the city, to remodel a house that he wants to sell; and he also ends up been the director of the play where the main actresses is Brynn.

    Sawyers is attracted to Brynn, but after the romantic disaster he had in New York, he has vowed never to date another actress, and apparently that is not going to difficult to accomplish because Brynn, the actress to whom he is attracted, seems to hate him for no apparent reason.

    The story is told from Brynn´s and Sawyer´s POV, and I love dual POVs because they allowed me to get to know and like both characters.

    Overall, this is a fun romance novel, very entertaining, very cute romance and with a happy ending. It is highly recommended book for fans of romance/chick-lit novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    I really enjoyed reading Act Like You Love Me, especially since

    I really enjoyed reading Act Like You Love Me, especially since it took place where I live. That part really caught me off guard, but made me even more excited to continue reading it! It is always so cool to read about places you visit on a regular basis.




    Brynn is such a fun main character. I feel like everyone can relate to her in some way or another, especially when you look back to those awkward high school years. As for Sawyer, he is absolutely swoon worthy. And I just loved the tension between the two of them and the growth that you see as they both learn to tear down the walls they've formed around themselves for so long. 




    I didn't read book #1, but now I definitely want to go back and so. And truthfully, Act Like You Love Me could easily be a standalone. It was such a quick and fun read. The flow and pace of things was perfect and kept my full attention. I would love to read more about Brynn and Sawyer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Act Like You Love Me had me smiling the entire way through.  Br

    Act Like You Love Me had me smiling the entire way through. 

    Brynn is adorable. She's a very real, down-to-earth character that I found very easy to relate to. My high school experiences were
    nothing like hers but you really felt for her and understood what she went through. 

    Brynn was the highlight of this book. I felt like if Brynn was a real person that we would be the best of friends.
    Most book characters are relatively "normal". It's refreshing to find a character that has realistic quirks and personality traits
    that readers can relate to. 

    The story was fun and quirky, although I did want to smack Brynn over the head a few times. I also laughed out loud more time
    than I can count. Overall a great, fast read. 

    Honest review given due to an ARC given by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Cindi Madsen has written a contemporary romance that is filled w

    Cindi Madsen has written a contemporary romance that is filled with love, tenderness and caring. With perfect writing skill, she shows us how the past influences the future. Brynn McAdams had a rough time in high school. She didn't fit in but that was not the worst. She is still hurt by a humiliating experience that happened in front of the entire school. When Sawyer Raines, her secret crush and popular jock, returns to direct the play she is in, all these bad memories return with a vengeance. Sawyer is attracted to Brynn and she feels the same. When she realizes that he doesn't remember her, she lets him think she is someone else. She wants him to see the confident woman she has become. Both have insecurities and emotional baggage that seems to doom their future, but love keeps growing. Can they reconcile the past and move on? Will they find happiness together? The love story is so perfect. The characters even the minor ones are people that you want to know. This is definitely a feel good book. Don't miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    I had read the first book in the Accidentally in Love series so

    I had read the first book in the Accidentally in Love series so when I was offered an opportunity to read an ARC of Act Like You Love Me I jumped at it. I've been reading a lot of books from the Bliss line lately and I've enjoyed them. They tend to be sweet stories with just enough angst to keep you turning the pages.

    I really liked Brynn's character in this. I liked that she didn't fit in during high school. I think it made her a better person. I also liked that she retained her quirkiness as an adult.

    Sawyer... I didn't like him as much as I liked Brynn. I understood his issues with the past, but there's that one moment when he said his situation probably wouldn't have changed his answer back then. Other than that I liked that he was determined.

    I saw this as 2 different stories. One was the obvious love story, but the other was Brynn realizing she didn't need to change for anyone. I'll definitely continue reading if there's another book in the series. I'm kind of thinking maybe Wes' friend Connor will be next??

    I received an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1