Customer Reviews for

Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man: What Men Really Think about Love, Relationships, Intimacy, and Commitment

Average Rating 4
( 786 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(414)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Not too shabby...

This book, written by funny man Steve Harvey, is about letting women into the male's mind, how he thinks, why he ticks like he does. The author knows his stuff and simply puts it out there for all of us. It's a good read that is at times eye-popping. I'd recommend this ...
This book, written by funny man Steve Harvey, is about letting women into the male's mind, how he thinks, why he ticks like he does. The author knows his stuff and simply puts it out there for all of us. It's a good read that is at times eye-popping. I'd recommend this to my girlfriends, that's for sure.

posted by readsalot50 on January 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

102 out of 143 people found this review helpful.

No self esteem or requirements for your dates, then you should read, otherwise pass. 200 page excuse for why he cheated on his wife.

Okay.. so there is validity to the information Steve says about men being very simplistic, the three P's as he refers... If women have low self esteem and have no requirements for how men treat them and no expectations of their dates then maybe this could be a useful re...
Okay.. so there is validity to the information Steve says about men being very simplistic, the three P's as he refers... If women have low self esteem and have no requirements for how men treat them and no expectations of their dates then maybe this could be a useful read for them. Women definitely need to limit the crap they put up with and scratch men off their potential list if men can't raise the bar. Steve suggest why would you want this man if he cannot show he's "all in", but really, it does not drive home to women they are worth more than the man who's not "all in". The Book "He's Just Not That Into You" is far better with all of this! After my laughing through the first 55 pages of obvious anecdotes about men and how they think (women get a clue) the next 172 pages felt like Steve writing an excuse and justification for why he once cheated on his wife.. This book contradicts itself so many time it's head shakeable, suggesting one thing and then suggesting it again completely different. I know Steve has come across all kinds of people in his line of work but perhaps his cushioned lifestyle that he's had these many years now has given him a false sense of what real dating these days is like. He's writing the book as a tool for us women to use to get a man and hopefully keep him from cheating on us, therefore I guess he felt absolutely no responsibility to also suggest (accept for one line) that not only should women turn on the honey for the "cookie" (physical intimacy) and to keep their partners but men should as well. Yeah, perhaps if you are a stay home wife/mother you can heed all the advise herein suggesting that you date yourself back to the Leave It To Beaver Days, but if you are a hard working woman who's also bringing home the bacon, it takes two to tango the home into cookie giving harmony. The language it's written in is so elementary it will not challenge your vocabulary at all. The book, if you can get it 2nd hand for a few bucks is worth a read, dropping $25 to read 225 pages of excuses for an affair is not worth the money. Again there is validity to Steve's words, that men have basically not evolved much past caveman days, but I'd say... Steve it's been a long time since you have been on the market, not only have I seen some men who've slightly evolved beyond what you suggest but I also know that women are not the only one's who need to keep up the sweet appreciations towards their partners.

posted by beart72 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 791 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    No self esteem or requirements for your dates, then you should read, otherwise pass. 200 page excuse for why he cheated on his wife.

    Okay.. so there is validity to the information Steve says about men being very simplistic, the three P's as he refers... If women have low self esteem and have no requirements for how men treat them and no expectations of their dates then maybe this could be a useful read for them. Women definitely need to limit the crap they put up with and scratch men off their potential list if men can't raise the bar. Steve suggest why would you want this man if he cannot show he's "all in", but really, it does not drive home to women they are worth more than the man who's not "all in". The Book "He's Just Not That Into You" is far better with all of this! After my laughing through the first 55 pages of obvious anecdotes about men and how they think (women get a clue) the next 172 pages felt like Steve writing an excuse and justification for why he once cheated on his wife.. This book contradicts itself so many time it's head shakeable, suggesting one thing and then suggesting it again completely different. I know Steve has come across all kinds of people in his line of work but perhaps his cushioned lifestyle that he's had these many years now has given him a false sense of what real dating these days is like. He's writing the book as a tool for us women to use to get a man and hopefully keep him from cheating on us, therefore I guess he felt absolutely no responsibility to also suggest (accept for one line) that not only should women turn on the honey for the "cookie" (physical intimacy) and to keep their partners but men should as well. Yeah, perhaps if you are a stay home wife/mother you can heed all the advise herein suggesting that you date yourself back to the Leave It To Beaver Days, but if you are a hard working woman who's also bringing home the bacon, it takes two to tango the home into cookie giving harmony. The language it's written in is so elementary it will not challenge your vocabulary at all. The book, if you can get it 2nd hand for a few bucks is worth a read, dropping $25 to read 225 pages of excuses for an affair is not worth the money. Again there is validity to Steve's words, that men have basically not evolved much past caveman days, but I'd say... Steve it's been a long time since you have been on the market, not only have I seen some men who've slightly evolved beyond what you suggest but I also know that women are not the only one's who need to keep up the sweet appreciations towards their partners.

    102 out of 143 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not too shabby...

    This book, written by funny man Steve Harvey, is about letting women into the male's mind, how he thinks, why he ticks like he does. The author knows his stuff and simply puts it out there for all of us. It's a good read that is at times eye-popping. I'd recommend this to my girlfriends, that's for sure.

    45 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Everything you thought you knew CONFIRMED!! and some things you may not have known.

    This book was real. It wasn't sugar-coated. It was straight to the point and directed at the reader. Simply stated, it was Steve in written format. It confirmed that my speculations, sometimes called paranoia, were on point. It was refreshing to hear this from a man, a real man, who cares enough to help us women out because, frankly, some of us really need it. For those of us who didn't have active fathers or big brothers, to educate us, this book will do it no matter what age you are. It is cut and dry, very simple to understand, and should not leave you with any question or confusion. Personally, I thought Steve will catch alot of flack from men, but if they are real men, that actually care about women and the state of relationships today, I believe they will support him. This is a great read, you can't go wrong, and if you start to slip go back and read it again!

    38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Keeper or Plaything?

    New York Times Best-Selling author Steve Harvey's Act Like a Lady Think Like a Man Addresses what men really think about love, relationships, intimacy and commitment. The book jacket pictures Steve with a wry, knowing smile perhaps from his work as a comedian but now a syndicated talk show host. Harvey states that everything is in the introduction but reveals some of the basic points. Somewhere he becomes serious and lures the reader by sporting wisdom gained through his 50 years in becoming a man, a son whose parents celebrated 64 years of marriage, and a father. He talked with athletes, movie stars, brokers, bankers, truckers, ex-cons, and hustlers - all of whom think in a similar way. Harvey has also consulted a wide range of women - those who can run a small business, keep a household with children, or chair a church group. Women who seek good men but have to know the signs when they meet one and know how to keep their relationship thriving. There are lists every woman needs to consider to determine a man's seriousness and lessons on how to spot a "mama's boy" whose mother controls their relationship.

    From focus group sessions Harvey discusses the fundamental differences between the sexes. Men keep life simple and their love is expressed in a basic manner. A man's love is shown in three fundamental ways: to profess, provide, and protect his lady. He professes his love for her to everyone who might doubt this, provides money for rent, heat light car and food, and protects her honor from disrespect from anyone and he eliminates her access to dangerous tasks. She does not have to ask for her due and should always reward him with praise for his tangible show of love. What defines a man is who he is - his title, what he does - his job, and his reward - his salary. Until he has three all in check he is too busy to focus on a woman. This is his check for manhood, his dream, and is always a check as to whether his "house is in order." A man wants and needs to be the best in some arena somewhere. He needs appreciation, support, and loyalty which ultimately build trust. Harvey addresses why men run away from a relationship and why they cheat a major concern at this time.

    While a woman is kind and compassionate, patient, nurturing and generous, she ultimately bestows her love unconditionally. A lady needs to set and keep standards. Harvey uses an analogy of being employed by a major corporation.. Just as Ford puts him through a three-month probationary period to prove himself for final acceptance with all benefits, a lady needs to do the same and not be quick to dole out the "cookie" until a man shows his intentions. Both "players" know about the "cookie" reward. Does a man want a "keeper" or is he playing a woman who has no standards or self-respect. For example, she should be appropriately dressed at all times, should allow no touching, coach him on opening heavy doors, and seating her at a table. With a classic style like that of many published authors, Harvey employs the 'KISS' delivery of keeping his message simple with various brief but illustrative scenarios. Every woman, from debutante (including their escorts), and single mothers with children can get the truth in one to two sittings with his affordable book which comes highly recommended.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    Explanation + Understanding = Inner Peace! Yes!

    I read the book in about 5 hours, which brings me to what I most loved about the book... It was to the point. A lot of self help books are packed with a lot of fluff and reiterating - you have to read about 3 chapters just to get down to the nitty gritty. Not Steve's book. He was very insightful, and when I finished the book, I knew exactly what I needed to do... Rid myself of Fear!<BR/><BR/>Also, I am now crystal clear on why men behave the way they do. And I understand why things in my past relationships happened the way they did. <BR/>Explanation + Understanding = Inner Peace! Yes!<BR/><BR/>Thanks Steve!

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reality in Print

    Great book that I read in three days! Steve Harvey gives practical advice on what men really want and expect from a lady.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Excellent Read!

    I purchased this book Friday evening at 6pm. It's Monday morning at 8pm and have about 30 pages to go. I just wanted to let you all know that this book is worth the money!

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    A waste of money.

    The information given on the Oprah show was, essentially, the entire book. The interview was considerably more entertaining. It would have made a better booklet of approximately ten pages.

    12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Steve Harvey at his best!!

    I read this book in two days, would have finished sooner, if I didn't have to go to work. Steve is letting women know the constant mistakes we make, how helpful from a man's point of view!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    We'll see how this works

    I heard about this book from my mom. Im a Steve Harvey fan. But when I heard what the title was I thought why is he trying to make things worst on us young me who are aspiring to be good husbands a fathers like our new president. But then after thinking about it. I said to myself he's not hating on his fellow brother, but in fact helping us who are involved with woman who are too damb strong sometimes. --Ladies yal can tear a relationship apart too. Stop playing verbal games because you can't over power us physically.--Instead try to learn how we think and what makes us tic, what our fuel is,cause best believe thats what we have always done. Take pimping for example.<BR/>But my relationship is in a down spiral and I can't for the life of me get this train back on track. Now I am a new parent of 7 wk old twin girls and I here taking care of all three. But I can't get her to see things clearly. Im faithful and everything and trust is not an issue, But there is sooo much DRAMA that all comes from her. SERIOSLY--Im gonna buy this book for Valentines day while im gone on a trip for family reasons. I hope that when get back it has made a difference. Then I'll send another review.<BR/>P.S. If it works ill even read it my damn self.

    10 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    Men and Women Take note!!!

    This book was an instant hit for me. As a man, I was worried that Mr. Harvey had given us a bad name and or a misrepresentation. However, you will find the truth of the simplistic nature of the men that you deal with daily. In addition men will find in these pages hidden the insinuated guide of what a real woman that is a "keeper," is like and how she will act. As much as it may hurt, if you are ready to give up "the game," you will find the description of what to look for (in general) in between the cover of this book. I highly recommend it, especially for the utility found in the last chapter of the book. Women and Men take note. Steve Harvey is speaking and telling the truth.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    How to possibly change your behaviors and think about your responses towards Men!

    This book totally held my interest from start to finish. I simply did not want to put it down. It is funny, makes you really think about your previous actions towards the opposite sex. It makes you think what can I do to be more like what these men are saying they want in a woman! It gives insight into the man's mind, his true wants and needs, and how to go about getting a man that you want to have in your live. You might not like what it has to say at times or how it compairs to your previous actions or words but you will be able to see where you might have gone wrong in previous relationships. It truely was so good that I bought it for both of my daughters.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Act like a lady, think like a man

    Excellent book. A must read for every woman. I wish some of the things Steve Harvey says werem't true, but they are and too many women are hiding their heads in the sand when they could be taking better charge of their relationships.

    Thanks, Mr. Harvey!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Found out a lot I didn't know.

    Overall, this is an excellent read for women. It is written by a man, so there's much to tell us. If you are having trouble in the men department, give this one a whirl. It's really helped me out.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    Insightful

    This is an insightful and easy read. This book provides knowledge that every woman's father should share with her. If nothing else is provides great insight from the male perspective.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    Great book!!

    I read this relatively short (about 250 pages) book that was very clear, in plain English, and helpful! I actually tried the 90 day rule and it works (unfortunately the relationship didn't, but at least I found out within 90 days)! I recommend this book to all ladies, especially single women.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    Act Like a Lady

    Wish I would have had this book in my 20s. Very few men now a days act like the real man that Steve describes. Many have their wife acting like a mother instead of a wife/lover and don't even seem to mind. It is frustrating making more money than your man and he has no motivation because eveything is being taken care of anyway. I needed my man to be a man - provider, protector, and profess that I am his one and only, not act like a boy. Hind sight IS 20/20. Recommend for teenage girls and women in there 20s looking for a good man. Helps recognize signs of someone playing them.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    For 20ish Women, Not Seasoned Veteran Women

    I understand what Mr. Harvey is conveying, however I only know one or two men that resemble the real man he speaks so highly of. My father, being one of them. This is a training manual for folks in their 20's who are still pretty stupid and just do not know it. I can say that because like most 20-somethings, I too was dumb as a box of rocks but thought I was smart. You do not get to the stage that Mr. Harvey is speaking of until you reach your mid 30's...that's if you have pulled your head out of your butt by then. Most men do not agree with being the kind of man he speaks of in this book. It takes big balls to become the man he is talking about; the kind who really gets it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Awesome Book

    I read this book on a business trip and was sharing the information and jokes he uses in the book. It was awesome. Would recommend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Ladies Only

    This book for young women who have been faced with the enigma of men. This is the perfect solution! It's fun, an easy, fast read and very thought provoking.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 791 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40