Customer Reviews for

Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man

Average Rating 4
( 1305 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(698)

4 Star

(288)

3 Star

(157)

2 Star

(88)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Not too shabby...

This book, written by funny man Steve Harvey, is about letting women into the male's mind, how he thinks, why he ticks like he does. The author knows his stuff and simply puts it out there for all of us. It's a good read that is at times eye-popping. I'd recommend this ...
This book, written by funny man Steve Harvey, is about letting women into the male's mind, how he thinks, why he ticks like he does. The author knows his stuff and simply puts it out there for all of us. It's a good read that is at times eye-popping. I'd recommend this to my girlfriends, that's for sure.

posted by readsalot50 on January 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

104 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

No self esteem or requirements for your dates, then you should read, otherwise pass. 200 page excuse for why he cheated on his wife.

Okay.. so there is validity to the information Steve says about men being very simplistic, the three P's as he refers... If women have low self esteem and have no requirements for how men treat them and no expectations of their dates then maybe this could be a useful re...
Okay.. so there is validity to the information Steve says about men being very simplistic, the three P's as he refers... If women have low self esteem and have no requirements for how men treat them and no expectations of their dates then maybe this could be a useful read for them. Women definitely need to limit the crap they put up with and scratch men off their potential list if men can't raise the bar. Steve suggest why would you want this man if he cannot show he's "all in", but really, it does not drive home to women they are worth more than the man who's not "all in". The Book "He's Just Not That Into You" is far better with all of this! After my laughing through the first 55 pages of obvious anecdotes about men and how they think (women get a clue) the next 172 pages felt like Steve writing an excuse and justification for why he once cheated on his wife.. This book contradicts itself so many time it's head shakeable, suggesting one thing and then suggesting it again completely different. I know Steve has come across all kinds of people in his line of work but perhaps his cushioned lifestyle that he's had these many years now has given him a false sense of what real dating these days is like. He's writing the book as a tool for us women to use to get a man and hopefully keep him from cheating on us, therefore I guess he felt absolutely no responsibility to also suggest (accept for one line) that not only should women turn on the honey for the "cookie" (physical intimacy) and to keep their partners but men should as well. Yeah, perhaps if you are a stay home wife/mother you can heed all the advise herein suggesting that you date yourself back to the Leave It To Beaver Days, but if you are a hard working woman who's also bringing home the bacon, it takes two to tango the home into cookie giving harmony. The language it's written in is so elementary it will not challenge your vocabulary at all. The book, if you can get it 2nd hand for a few bucks is worth a read, dropping $25 to read 225 pages of excuses for an affair is not worth the money. Again there is validity to Steve's words, that men have basically not evolved much past caveman days, but I'd say... Steve it's been a long time since you have been on the market, not only have I seen some men who've slightly evolved beyond what you suggest but I also know that women are not the only one's who need to keep up the sweet appreciations towards their partners.

posted by beart72 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1313 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 66
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Like it alot!

    To keep it short, I learned how simple men are to keep happy. And that woman are soo much more confusing!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Awesome Book

    I read this book on a business trip and was sharing the information and jokes he uses in the book. It was awesome. Would recommend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Ladies Only

    This book for young women who have been faced with the enigma of men. This is the perfect solution! It's fun, an easy, fast read and very thought provoking.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    Act Like A lady, think Like a man

    I have read this book, three times and still holding on to the book;
    I called my boyfriend and told him he should read this book:

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Everyone Woman Young & Old needs to read this!

    There are so many books out there on relationships that I don't even bother unless they are written from a Christian point of view on how to have a good marriage. My mom saw Steve Harvey on Oprah talking about this book and suggested I go get it because I'm having problems in my marriage. I bought the book that same day and read it that same night. I told my mom if I had this book before I got married this time or the first time, I would still be single. I knew about the flirting techniques but the treatment and what it means that opened my eyes to just how disrespectful my husband really is to me. Now after reading that book I let him know exactly how I feel. I plan on keeping this book as my eldest daughter is about to turn 13 and is already boy crazy. She will read this book before I allow her to date (that won't be until she is 18) so she is prepared for what boys and men will come at her with. I don't want her to end up with a man who can't love and respect her. Nor treat her like the queen God created her to be. Thanks Steve! You have made a big difference in my life and I believe in the lives of many other women. Ladies, read this before you go out on another date looking for that "husband". Mom's give it to your daughters so they will know the signs. Married women, read it, see where your husband falls and get it straight. By the way, I think Steve may have raised the divorce rate with this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Most amazing inforative book about men I have ever read

    I think Steve Harvey hits it right on about how men truly are & how they think. I learned so much from this book. I lent it to my sister & she liked it so much I let her keep my copy. I went out & bought myself another copy of it. So if any women really wants to know what men think & why they act the way they do this book is the best to help us understand them. It's a real eye opener & page turner. I read the book in one night because I couldn't put it down. Men make so much more sense to me now. Thanks to Steve I understand why men act the way they do sometimes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    Relationship advice from a Divorcee? What are we thinking??!

    The greatest advice a true woman can follow is: *Stop* taking advice from people who have not been **successful** at what they are trying to give you advice on. Steve Harvey as funny, stylish, and semi-popular as he may be, has been unsuccessful at his own marriage. Before I would listen to a person who couldn't keep their own marriage together I would have to be **absolutely** certain that they were not part of the reason for its demise, and obviously that's not easily possible. Women need to learn to stop being so enthralled with a man's "charm" and pay attention to how he **lives**, does his life pattern match up to what he's talking? You could be taking advice from a womanizer for all you know. And the point is you don't know; so find a better source than a **divorcee** trying to give you relationship advice just because he's semi-famous and he wears nice suits and gets a regular hair cut (well before he went bald). Isn't your life more precious to you than that? How ridiculous and super-ficial; he's funny and seems like a nice guy, but a divorced man is no more an expert on intimacy and commitment than the man in the moon. Be more wise than that concerning something as precious as your life choices (sitting there talking about "Thanks Steve!" puhleeze.)

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    There are going to be a lot of serious talks after reading this book!

    I bought this book yesterday (3/10) and read it in one day! I read some reviews first and for those who posted negative comments I can guarantee this: they are still alone, have been for a while and there is a reason why they STILL can't see the issue because they are one of those stubborn women. This book taught me to stop being afraid and tell the person I'm dating what my standards and requirements are. That if they can't live up to those standards and requirements then keep it moving. It taught me how men think and that they truly are very simple creatures. They are in the "fix-it" business as Steve puts it. This book is extremely funny as well! But he also gets straight to the point without all the fluff and stuff. One of my favorite things he says is that us women are living by 20th century values in a 21st century world. Nowadays ladies we really need to tell our men if we want to get married! He's not going to "court" you like they did in 1945! He's not saying ask for your man's hand in marriage but you have to let him know if that is what you want. And while he gives you 5 questions you should ask a man that you first meet, I took that as a lesson for me to be prepared to be asked those same questions. Oh and ladies if you didn't already know this....when men look at you from across the room, he's not thinking how pretty your eyes are or how nice that dress fits you...he's thinking about having sex with you and what it is going to take to get you in bed. And that's where his 90-day probationary period comes into play! Let a man wait 3 months before you have sex with him. Steve is telling us that we have this power that we don't use! It's up to us to decide if we want him to kiss us, hold our hand, touch us, have sex with us. With this power why are we so willing to relinquish it so fast? And we also need to stop living in fear. A lot of these cliches and phrases (like gold-digger) men have made up! We don't expect them to pay for expensive meals at fancy restaurants because we don't want to be labeled gold-digger. Steve is telling us that it's a man duty to "provide" for us which means that yes he should be paying for dinner. He said men KNOW that we want to get married, they know we want to be in exclusive relationships. We have to stop being afraid of telling them these things because "we are afraid they will run off". If he does then he wasn't worth it anyway! I know understand the need for a man to feel wanted...it's what men were taught to do from childhood. They need to provide for their woman and as a 32 year old, single woman I was raised to do for myself by a mom who raised me alone. I wasn't taught that you have to let a man be a man. So instead of me putting my home theater system together, let him do it. It's what he wants to do and it makes the man feel good. I really didn't realize it. When I pretty much let a man know that I can do it all, what's left for him to do for me? Let me be clear...I'm as independent and stubborn as they come and even I'm ready to give that up. Shoot, no I don't want to have to do it all BUT MEN DO WANT TO DO IT ALL SO LET THEM LADIES. Sit back, relax and be a lady! I could go on and on! I cannot WAIT to use this newfound wisdom on the current relationship I'm in. Game over boys!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I love this book

    I love the book and the movie so so much

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Excellent Perspective to Consider

    I always look at books such as these as the author's opinion. This book is a very good opinion to consider as a woman in a relationship with a male, but I can say some of these ideas don't apply to some men. It is still a great perspective to think about. And Steve Harvey always has a sense of humor :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Awesome book and movie

    Im lovin it!

    Like McLovin!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Enjoyable and informative.

    It always helps when a person writes from a man's perspective and keeps it in the realm of common sense.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    Wanted to like the book....

    I had no choice but to stop reading and return Act Like A Lady, Think Like A Man. Harvey's opinions were not the problem. I like Steve. However, there was an egregious factual error in the first couple chapters that ruined the book for me. If the people responsible for the book don't care enough to do a simple fact check of their work...why would I bother spending my time or money? Highly disappointing.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST-READ for all your Daughters, Sisters, Aunts, and Female Friends!!!

    First and foremost, I am one of many single, credentialed, Muslim women in her early 30's and this book is applicable to EVERY female, regardless of age, race, religion, pedigree, and country of origin/residence. It was as if Steve took all the advice my Brothers, Uncles, and TRUE male friends, blessed it with a God-consciousness, and wrapped it up with the TRUTH.

    One of the most profound revelations I experienced when reading the first three chapters of this book was: this applies to our Fathers and our male co-workers. Our Fathers, because this is the first male relationship females form and it impacts every male interaction going forward. If Men are not where they want to be when their children enter this world, how does this impact the development of their daughters and sons? Jada Pinkett's father sat her down and honestly said "I cannot do this Parent-thing." Wow!!! The truth is difficult to hear, but very liberating.

    As much as many of our mature, well-adjusted, professional colleagues try not to bring their personal challenges to work -- they do. If you have the misfortune to report up to or work closely with a Man or Men who are insecure, immature, without integrity or strength of character, not 'his own Man', and is selecting the wrong choices to be successful...this book should make you 1) fall out in laughter & tears, and 2) quickly take action to improve your work life. Either way, you will change what you say, do, and how much you extend yourself to maintain the professionalism to protect your mind, spirit, and heart while he struggles toward his destination.

    The consensus of my Muslim women friends who were raised cosmopolitan or traditional, the only thing missing was a chapter on "Abstinence, Chastity, and Safe Sex" or as we titled it in the classic Steve Harvey Sister Odell jargon: "Mary vs. Mary Magdalena"

    This would have been a perfect compliment to the story of his daughter, her presumed boyfriend, and being "Kicked Around." Steve references many Christian phrases and practices, but does not address a subject which is very prominent in Christianity, Islam, and Judaism: "The Virgin Birth." Talk to the women who believe, raise/raised, and practice Chastity as a covenant between them and God. Talk to women, who represent the highest and growing, newest infection cases for HIV/AIDS.

    Otherwise, we are looking forward to Steve writing a book titled "Be a Man -- Acting is for Cowards and Pimps."

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man

    Humorous, true to life, advice on female/male relationships. Great read for young females starting to date and older ones who just do not get how a man thinks.
    Wake up call to women who have lowered their standards.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Steve Harvey "Act like a Lady Think like a Man"

    This book is applies very good common sense advice to not only women but man too. It's a fast read and my personal suggestion is this book would be good for young adults. Those starting to date and want a man's perspective on how to stay being "a lady" at all times. In this day and time, Men want Virtuous Women, not virgins. They want women with Intergrity, not idiots, women with a vision, not one with the victim mentality. Thanks Steve

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    Shockingly true fun read but a little worrisome with regards to current generation.

    My father was absent and my brothers so much older that they were in the military before I could learn much about "men" (I put this in quotes because we like to refer to real men but society doesn't have a good term for males that don't really face up to any responsibilty right now). After being married to my second husband for 32 years I found this book funny and shockingly dead on. Women out there take heed. You are looking for these characteristics if you want someone who will "man up". If you are giving anything away, there are always those willing to take and take advantage. In this Steve is dead on. Just like women need to nurture men want to protect.
    However, this book offers little but a few laughs and a few insults to most women under 32. My daughter and her crowd are now obstetricians, pediatricians, lawyers, financiers, bankers, and executives. They grew up with real men like Steve describes for fathers. They also saw their mothers who were just as smart and capable giving up what they saw as a real life in order to "kow tow" to these men. When I read the part about leaving your high heals on for your man, I know that my daughter would not just throw the book out but not speak to me for a month if I shared it with her. There are just as many women out there who came from wonderful homes where both parents loved, cherished and supported them as well as now encouraged them to compete with their brothers and all men. They were taught that they can be do or have anything they wanted. Boys from these homes were taught that for centuries. They don't want these men and they are not going to play pretend either.
    I'm close to Steve Harvey's age and other professional women my age always dealt with men in a more relaxed fashion than today's do. We used to tell them we wanted June Cleaver for our wife too but same sex marriages are still illegal in most states. Not to mention the fact that she is getting harder and harder to come by.
    I think in order to reaise our children and keep our sanity more women have evolved than men and we are at a crossroads. The fifties aren't coming back. I haven't read the other reviews yet but in my opinion this book is no help at all to the strong independant confident woman of this millenium struggling to find a mate that really understands them and will not take advantage. It is also insightful, funny and tells women some thing that I think everyone needs to understand about men.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Not what I expected

    Saw Steve discuss his book on two different talk shows,and I thought there would be an advantage for us married ladies,we struggle with our men,too. The entire book seems geared toward younger single women. Sad for me..I thought I just had to have this book,but was surely disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent advice!

    The gist of this book is this: If you understand how men think, you can stop second-guessing yourself and then you can move on to get the man you want. I thought the author (Steve Harvey) really laid it all out there, letting us women know that men, sometimes, aren't in the same mindframe as women. It's good to read these books so that you know what you're up against and you know how to play it out once it gets set in motion. Another good one: Become a Total Man Magnet: Make Every Man Fall in Love with You Instantly - Make Him Chase You Down Desperately and Beg for Attention

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    Don't waste your money....

    I purchased this book and returned it. This book is not worth the money.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1313 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 66