Customer Reviews for

Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man: What Men Really Think About Love, Relationships, Intimacy, and Commitment

Average Rating 4
( 514 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(283)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE THIS BOOK

ANY FEMALE WHO HAS BEEN BROKEN HEARTED MANY TIMES BEFORE. SHOULD READ THIS BOOK IT TRULY IS GOOD, AND GIVES EXCELLENT ADVICE. ITS LIKE LETTING WOMAN KNOW LOVE YOURSELF BEFORE YOU CAN LOVE ANY MAN. WHEN YOU ENTER A RELATIONSHIP YOU SHOULD ALWAYS LET A MAN KNOW WHAT YOUR ...
ANY FEMALE WHO HAS BEEN BROKEN HEARTED MANY TIMES BEFORE. SHOULD READ THIS BOOK IT TRULY IS GOOD, AND GIVES EXCELLENT ADVICE. ITS LIKE LETTING WOMAN KNOW LOVE YOURSELF BEFORE YOU CAN LOVE ANY MAN. WHEN YOU ENTER A RELATIONSHIP YOU SHOULD ALWAYS LET A MAN KNOW WHAT YOUR EXPECT TO HAPPEN IN A RELATIONSHIP AND STAY WITH THOSE CAUSE IF YOU DONT THEN THE MAN IS IN CONTROL AND YOU END UP GETTING HURT.BASIC STUFF LIKE THAT. ITS JUST A ALL TIME BOOK FOR ME. I READ IT AND PUT IT TO USE. RIGHT NOW IM IN A WONDERFUL RELATIONSHIP WITH MY MAN FOR 3 YEARS. WHEN MY FRIEND WAS IN BAD RELATIONSHIP I GAVE IT TO HER NOW EVERYTHING IS A BREEZE FOR HER. SO FOR ME I BELIEVE ITS GOOD ESPECIALLY YOUNG GIRLS SHOULD READ.

posted by 11147870 on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not So Great!

Guess I should have done some research before I bought a book on marriage from a 3 time divorcee! I did not agree with a lot of the ideas he has. BTW, Men are born with the spirit of self control!

posted by 8504660 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Not So Great!

    Guess I should have done some research before I bought a book on marriage from a 3 time divorcee! I did not agree with a lot of the ideas he has. BTW, Men are born with the spirit of self control!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Sexist

    Maybe he means well, but this book was so sexist. He makes lists of how women should act around the house. Makes it very clear to not mention the fact if you are more successful because men need to be needed. Also, includes translations so that way you can disguise your standards with "pretty talk."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Ok sooo..?

    Really...? Ok so Lets all ask for help on how to get a BF through a review. It will totally help us and would never show how desperate we are(: -.-

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Boring

    Could not even make it to the 4th page it was just boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Don't waste you're money

    This book was a waste of money. Glad it was a special and it didn't cost much. I may not be a man but some of the stuff he says a man will do or think is so far out there. Plus not all men have the money he has. My husband is just fine with me making more money than him. He doesn't have to be SOLE money provider to feel worthy. I started this book and realized how stupid it was and deleted it from my nook. Too bad Steve Harvey doesn't know what true love is all about. I think he's still living in the 50's. If I don't give my husband what he wants when he wants it then he's going to find it from someone else?!!??! Seriously?? Give me a break. Grow up Harvey!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Like movie

    Like this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Things we simple before this.

    No.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Stop

    Im tellin barnes an noble

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    A

    ANY ONE TELL ME HOW TO GET A BOY FRIEND PLEEEEEEEEASE
    ITS IMPORTANT FOR A 17 YEAR OLD GIRL TO GET SOME ONE HERE : )

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Jo

    Horid

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Fuck me

    Sex with me i am 30

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Don't waste your money

    This book was ridiculous. It wasn't even funny. Seriously ladies don't even waste a second of your time on this book. I wish I could give zero star rating, because even one star is too generous.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    waste

    Maybe bc i have mainly guy friends or bc i can see things for what they are but i didnt learn anything new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Not worth it!

    really???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Really?

    Doesn't Harvey have friends who are academics? I guess we shouldn't expect more than comic relief, but I think Harvey is serious. This is nothing new, women are capable of unconditional love whereas men are somehow unable to do so as they are primarily motivated by their smaller minds. It sells men short and sets women up for a fall. The world is a gendered place, but not all women can simply love and not all men are guided by primitive roles. Is there some way to meet each other in love as equally capable and flawed without all the Mars Venus baggage?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Garbage

    Payed for a book with BLANK pages on all of them!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2