BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Act of Treason (Mitch Rapp Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 377 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(249)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Act of Treason, Mitch Rapp Series

This by far was a poor showing for Vince Flynn. I have read every book he has written. While I rated it high in certain areas, it seemed to be rushed to print. I lacked the action and plot that the others books had. To me it seemed as if he was searching for a way t...
This by far was a poor showing for Vince Flynn. I have read every book he has written. While I rated it high in certain areas, it seemed to be rushed to print. I lacked the action and plot that the others books had. To me it seemed as if he was searching for a way to fill the pages. The flow through the book was off. I hope that the next book which has been almost a year in the writing will be much better and bring back the Mitch Rapp that we all loved, ruthless, and brutal to the enemies of the United States.

posted by Wingman on June 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not a good showing by Flynn

I am finally reading the Mitch Rapp books by Flynn. I am reading them in order and some have been ok and some have been excellent like Memorial Day. This book # 7 in the series is by far the weakest. There is very little action or suspense. The plot is never really fu...
I am finally reading the Mitch Rapp books by Flynn. I am reading them in order and some have been ok and some have been excellent like Memorial Day. This book # 7 in the series is by far the weakest. There is very little action or suspense. The plot is never really fully formed. I would have to say one word sums up this book is boring and for a thriller that is bad.

posted by pitbull42 on August 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 385 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Act of Treason, Mitch Rapp Series

    This by far was a poor showing for Vince Flynn. I have read every book he has written. While I rated it high in certain areas, it seemed to be rushed to print. I lacked the action and plot that the others books had. To me it seemed as if he was searching for a way to fill the pages. The flow through the book was off. I hope that the next book which has been almost a year in the writing will be much better and bring back the Mitch Rapp that we all loved, ruthless, and brutal to the enemies of the United States.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    For all readers that like action and a book that keeps you a little on the edge.

    Mitch Rapp is a take no prisoners type that doesn't play by the rules. He is a member of a secret CIA covert operation. The wife of the President Elect has been murdered in a bombing and the search is on for the killer or killers. This book is action packed and heart pumping....action junkies, like myself, will love this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    great story

    Unexpected



    Mitch Rapp is a C.I.A assassin who plays by his own set of rules. This book tells the story of his quest to track down the man who recently assassinated the wife of president-elect Rick Alexander in an attack on his motorcade. His quest to find this man will take him to all corners of the earth and put his life in danger when he encounters some people with nasty histories. His path will have many twists and turns as he tries to figure out who had tried to have the president-elect of the United States killed and then bring them to justice at the point of a gun. This story exemplifies what one man can do if he sets his mind to it and that if you keep working you can accomplish whatever you need to. It also shows the power of the force of nationalism and patriotism and how powerful they are in determining ones actions. The thing I enjoyed about this book most was the constant twists in the plot and how it always is switching between settings to ensure there isn't a dull moment. I think Flynn could have made this a very cliché book about an assassin, instead of doing this he adds plot twists to the story which make it so the reader can't guess what is going to happen next. I also enjoyed the fact that the main character Mitch Rapp is portrayed in great detail and also he is portrayed how someone would imagine a C.I.A assassin. The only thing I disliked about the book was how you don't ever find out what happens to the man who killed the President's wife and the book leaves you with a lot of questions. This book is more aimed towards men I think because of all the action that is in it. I think anyone who likes an action thriller type book would enjoy this because that's at heart what it is. Anyone who doesn't like reading about violence or corruption in the government most likely wouldn't like it because those are heavily prevalent in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    HIGHLY recommended...Start with the American Assassin. You won't be disappointed!

    I have read all the books and have absolutely loved them. It is sad that Vince Flynn the author passed away this year as he left all of us wanting more. He kept us engrossed and engaged from the first page to the last. You learned much from him about the government, how it works and what it takes to save our country. Once you start one of his books, you can't stop nor wait for the next one. Exciting and thrilling. He will be sorely missed. Vince had many friends, was a great husband and father as well as a wonderful american. Rest in peace Vince. You will not be forgotten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read Mitch Rapp just keeps getting better!

    After the last book I didn't think Vince Flynn could do it again. Once he got Mitch back into the swing of things it was all action all the time once again. And of course it doesn't take long to get Mitch back into the swing of things with someone killing our elected officials on our shores. But did it originate at home or over seas? Mitch will find out for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    This is a must read. America truly needs a Mitch Rapp. Dare you to get to know him!

    Vince Flynn is obviously a PATRIOT!! These Mitch Rapp books flow easily from one book into the other. I can hardly put them down. In fact I have read all 11 of them in
    about 3 months. Mr. Flynn develops characters you will love and some you will love to hate. The books give me hope that patriotism will rebound and hopefully stick this time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Highly recommended

    As always, well written, great intrigue, suspense, can't put the book down until the end. I enjoy Flynn's books very much. Will buy a new one before I log off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Awesome action

    Unlike Daniel Silva, who is a master at prose and characterization, I read Vince Flynn for full-bore action. To be honest, I don't even agree (on a moral level) with many of main character Mitch Rapp's code of conduct. But Flynn can weave a plot, and this is one of his best.

    Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Not a good showing by Flynn

    I am finally reading the Mitch Rapp books by Flynn. I am reading them in order and some have been ok and some have been excellent like Memorial Day. This book # 7 in the series is by far the weakest. There is very little action or suspense. The plot is never really fully formed. I would have to say one word sums up this book is boring and for a thriller that is bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Great

    Great character development and entertaining to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Yes! Read it!

    Love his books...so sorry there won't be anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    TO ASHYLN

    My name is dustin what u doung

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    Highly, highly recommended!!!

    Excellent!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Timely

    I have to keep reminding myself that the Mitch Rapp series is fiction. Even though this book was published in 2006, the situation with Iran and other Middle Eastern countries doesn't seem to change much.

    Unlike some of the politicians and journalists portrayed in the series, I'm happy to have the CIA watching out for us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    Great story with extreme detail and pausibility. The lead charac

    Great story with extreme detail and pausibility. The lead character is solid and well-drawn. best part is the final two chapters. The author is adept at foreshadowing and establishing tension throughout. I wish some of the detailed digressions were left out, but the story was strong enough to absorb them. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Fantastic

    I think this is one of the best that he's written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    0

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Mitch Rapp #7

    not as good as #5 or 6 but still highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    yes

    very good and interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    If you enjoy action heros, Mitch Rapp (CIA agent) is the best. I am working my way through the series, and found they get better with each one. Good way to learn about covert affairs and the White House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 385 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20