BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Act of War (Jason Richter Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Not mclanahan but not too shabby

    Action is good. Love the cids! Definitely not mclanahan but very enjoyable. Would like more on the miltary tactics and firefights. My biggest complaint, how many languages do i need to know to keep from skipping pages? Russian? Spanish? I am addicted to tech stuff and blowing stuff up and all that so how about a little more of that. Richter is cool, kinda. Last request, tone down the sex scenes, save them for the movie, reading about the south american gamma agent boning his pygmy indian wife while she breastfed their baby was a little ummm, eww.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    highly recommended

    Dale Brown make you feel like you are included in the story. He does a lot of work before he sit down a writes a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Oil refineries

    Quite a bit of action. Not bad but slipping from original series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Almost A Perfect Blend

    The book manages to combine all the things I like in a story: action, comedy, life-like situations, terror (terrorist terror), and romance. THIS BOOK HAS BECOME ONE OF MY FAVORITES!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    Entertaining

    This is an entertaining read but it is not Dale Brown's best book. I would like to see a connection to the Dreamland group he so often writes about so that the two special units are more integrated in saving the world.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Rush Job

    Intense detail through most of this book and tying up loose ends in the last chapter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Techno yes - thriller no

    Terrorists strike an America oil refinery with a small nuclear bomb. In steps Major Jason Richter, Army nerd extraordinaire, with his super CID exoskeleton. The hero of the hour saves a busload of kids, along with a beautiful reporter, and promptly gets placed on the newest war-on-terror team. The team starts to tackle the terrorist group responsible, but the team seems to be set up for failure with conflicting personalities and egos. The battles rage on around the globe, as Major Richter tries to pull the team together, find the mastermind behind the plots, and save his country from another disastrous attack. Techno, yes thriller, no. This book started out with promise and I really wanted to like it. But after the introduction of the major characters and gadgets, it quickly becomes cliched and predictable. The nifty new weapons systems would play much better with believable characters and a realistic plot. The pacing is fast, but the many twists and turns feel forced. Dale Brown is perfectly capable of writing exciting techno-thriller books with good characters ¿ but this is not one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    A Notable Disappointment

    I found 'Act of War' by Dale Brown to be a very disappointing read. Generally, when I begin a book I will stick it out and finish it. This was the first book, in some time, that I almost gave up on before I finished one quarter of the novel. What was most glaring to me was the improbable traits of the leading character Jason Richter. Here we have an adolescent major (24 years old if my memory serves me correctly) in the army whose behavior would get anybody in the 'real life' service court martialed quickly. In addition, the plot was highly dubious as well. In short, it was very, very difficult to develop any degree of comfort with the premise of this novel. I am an avid reader and enjoy the works of many different authors particularly with respect to mysteries and thrillers. This has been the worst novel I have encountered in the past two years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Cardboard has more depth than these characters

    I have read most of Brown's books, and enjoyed the 'Old Dog' series. He attempts to set up a new series with this book. While military thrillers are not known for their well developed characters, to say these are two-dimensional would be a gross understatement. Not one character is likable or interesting. Characters are killed off more often than the red shirts on Star Trek, and introduced apparently only to have someone to kill off. The plot (if one is charitable enough to call it that) is predictable. Plot developments could not be telegraphed more. Dale Brown owes me several hours of my life back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Excellent Book!

    I loved the combination of intelligence and technology. It had a great story with excellent character development. I like Jason Richter the best because he believes in getting the job done. I hope to see another book about the CID in action with Richter, Vega, and Sergeant Major Jefferson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action packed thriller

    The events of 9/11 are nothing compared to the actions of a terrorist group a few years later. At the Tans Global Energy Transshipment and Refinery Company, a single man detonates a nuclear device inside the complex killing thousands of people and emitting a massive dose of radiation into the atmosphere. --- The president declares a war on terrorism and has a joint civilian military unit formed to seek out the terrorists all over the world. Major Jason Richter is part of the few because he created an exoskeleton that is practically invulnerable with a man inside who can control the advanced machine loaded with plenty of weapon power. It is a new kind of soldier in a new kind of war and the people in charge of the operation feel that the CID¿s (Cybernetic Infantry Division) are too new and untested to use them as the main force in the upcoming campaign. Jason is determined to destroy the terrorist group GAMMAs because they believe refineries and other such targets are polluting the earth. Neither Gamma nor Jason realize the true enemy is hiding in the shadows; they must be found and taken out with the best ones to do that are Jason and the CID¿s. --- Dale Brown out does himself with this action packed thriller that starts off with a nuclear bang and just gets more exciting . The protagonist is a warrior geek, a scientist who invented a powerful weapon and is not afraid to be part of the combat team. Atari is releasing a game based on ACT OF WAR, which should be a fantastic game, because although there is plenty of action, the choices are based on the decisions the characters make.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2