Customer Reviews for

Active Birth - Revised Edition: The New Approach to Giving Birth Naturally

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Practical, Intelligent, Wellrounded and Empowering

First time mother, I read this book in my eighth month and found it to be excellent and most importantly useful. I followed the advice as per the book and I labored for 4.5 hours and delivered my baby without drugs or any unneccesary medical interventions!!!! My labor, ...
First time mother, I read this book in my eighth month and found it to be excellent and most importantly useful. I followed the advice as per the book and I labored for 4.5 hours and delivered my baby without drugs or any unneccesary medical interventions!!!! My labor, to my surprise, went fast and I felt in control. I attribute this success to this book. A must read for anyone considering a natural and drug free birth.

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dont buy the Nook book

This book does not come out well in the Nook format, it is nearly impossible to see the pictures and there are many. They are extremely poor quality and get cut off.

posted by 10837172 on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Dont buy the Nook book

    This book does not come out well in the Nook format, it is nearly impossible to see the pictures and there are many. They are extremely poor quality and get cut off.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Practical, Intelligent, Wellrounded and Empowering

    First time mother, I read this book in my eighth month and found it to be excellent and most importantly useful. I followed the advice as per the book and I labored for 4.5 hours and delivered my baby without drugs or any unneccesary medical interventions!!!! My labor, to my surprise, went fast and I felt in control. I attribute this success to this book. A must read for anyone considering a natural and drug free birth.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2000

    What doctors will not tell you, this book will!

    I wish I had found this book with my first pregnancy, But I didn't until my fifth. What I learned from Active Birth dramatically shortened my labor and reduced my stress and pain. This information is something that I will always be greatful for.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The BEST book ever! A MUST read!

    This is an amazing book. Such a wonderful read for pregnancy. I recommend this book to all of my friends and family who are having children. Whether you have a home or hospital birth, if you care about how you give birth, this book is for you. Having a baby is such a phenomenal journey. Women need to empower their self in relation to their body and realize that they are full of strength, wisdom and intuition. Trust that. Labor and birthing can be a special, sacred experience. It does not have to be filled with pain and horror, like our society has lead us to believe. Women, trust your body and your intuition, and just ride it like a wave. You and your body will know what to do! I also highly recommend watching the documentary, "Orgasmic Birth"! You can rent it on Netflix. I hope you enjoy this book as much as my spouse and I did!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Wonderful Book

    You NEED to read this book...I had to have a pitocin-induced labor and I had no trouble getting through contractions and delivery (pain-med free) because I used the positions and techniques in this book. My husband later told me that the nurse called in a few other nurses to watch me labor through transition because they were amazed at how well I handled it. I was so engrossed in laboring I had no idea anybody other than my husband was in the room. Absolutely amazing resource

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2001

    Incredibly useful

    Active Birth is awesome! Birth really is meant to be an active experience. It helped me through 3 unmedicated VBACs, one of them a posterior baby. Balaskas' suggestions are logical & easy to practice. Why don't more doctors use these suggestions?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Giving birth

    It helpted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Eh...

    It shows her boobies on the cover.that is the only part i like.because i am a pregnet 9 year old with big boobies snd i walk ou in the middle of the road take off my shert and braw to show my boobs to everyone and show my pregnet ass.so i do not like this book.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1