Customer Reviews for

Adam

Average Rating 4.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great mystery.....

This is my first time reading Ted Dekker and this is a great mystery. It took turns in the story that do not follow the normal path for murder mysteries. I have recommended to several friends and they all enjoyed this book. The author takes the time to go through the...
This is my first time reading Ted Dekker and this is a great mystery. It took turns in the story that do not follow the normal path for murder mysteries. I have recommended to several friends and they all enjoyed this book. The author takes the time to go through the story and all the characters - making the ending great and unpredictable. It is not for all readers and does not hold any punches going through the story.

Thank you Ted Dekker.

posted by ButterMB on November 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but far out

I enjoyed the premiss but then became somewhat disenchanted near the end when the super natural began to happen. More into down-to-earth and realistic than sci-fi content. Up to that point I thought it was well worth the expenditure and the author certainly knows how ...
I enjoyed the premiss but then became somewhat disenchanted near the end when the super natural began to happen. More into down-to-earth and realistic than sci-fi content. Up to that point I thought it was well worth the expenditure and the author certainly knows how to grab the readers attention. Kind of the point I guess.

posted by 3050992 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Adam

    What a well written book! Geez! Chilled me to the bone. That is Dekker for you. And it didn't help me that I finished reading it at night. Boy, did I have trouble sleeping! Ted Dekker is the only author thus far that has this effect on me. I'm surprised none of his better books (this one included) haven't been turned into movies. Well, except for "House" (collaboration with Perretti) which was, to say the least, a very weak representation of the book. Perhaps because "House" was botched, Dekker has refrained from allowing another movie. Haha. Anyways, if you are into horror and psychological thrills, this is your book :) I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Great read!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Good but sad

    I felt sorry for Alex and Lori. To be honest it wasnt his fault he was killing he was possessed and its Alice fault it happen to him. Because she did hat to him when was young might not killing him but he was affected by Alice and Eve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    One of my favorites. Its a suspenceful read from behinning to end. I love the news articles. This story seemed so real. Like i was listening to someone tell their own experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    This has got to be one of the best books I've read in over 2 yea

    This has got to be one of the best books I've read in over 2 years! It's riveting and is definitely a great thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the book. This will make you long for more after you've read the last chapter. It's not your typical "Christian" book either, in fact if I didn't know who Ted Dekker was before this book I would have never suspected it! Everything about this story is great, nothing is wrong with it in my own opinion. Do yourself a favor and either borrow this book, or even better, BUY this book and read all the way through! It's definitely worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Nice!

    I highly recommenf this one, i might just finishthe whole thing today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Edge of your seat

    I just finished this book, and as with all of Ted Dekker I was on the edge of my seat the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Very well written. Great book!

    I loved this book and have loaned it out to 4-5 others who all felt the same way. You have to read the newspaper articles that are scattered through the story (some people skipped over them and then didn't understand some of the story). This book made me a Ted Dekker fan. Will definitely buy other Ted Dekker books in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    SUPERB!!!

    It was awesome!!! I luv all of ted dekkers books. This is one of my favorite. It is kinda slow at the beginging but once u get into it its really hard to put down! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    I started off really liking this book. But i stopped reading it towards the end because it became boring and monotonous. I just cant get myself to finish it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Fast Paced Thriller That Leaves You Wanting More!

    I got this book on sale at a Christian books store, wholly because I love Ted Dekker books. And again I was not disappointed. SLIGHT SPOILERS AHEAD! I loved how at the beginning of the book the main protagonist was an atheist, but how at the end he started to see the "Light". This was one of those books that when you first start reading it, you can't stop. And then, when it is over it leaves you craving more. The ending was also superb, and of course, it wouldn't be a Ted Dekker novel without an unseen twist at the end! This book is a must read for any person who loves thrillers and books about possessions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    A page turner

    Exciting , keeps you involve wanting to know more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    CSI meets depth

    This book is not for everyone. It's one of those that each page leaves you wondering how it will play out, as is most of his books. I love the fact that it's about a detective and he's investigating crimes. If you like CSI type things and find yourself laughing at the tv shows, this might just be a good book for you. It's dark but there is a light at the end of the tunnel. I love how Ted always reveals God in his books! He is (by far) my favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not worth the effort

    This book sat on the shelf for months just because the cover creeped me out. I finally read it. It was not very good. The story of FBI agent Daniel who is stalking the (male) killer named Eve who gives girls some kind of agent that is similar to meningitis. First chapter: enter the good looking FBI pathologist paired with Heather, Daniel's ex wife who still loves him. Thus, in cookie cutter style, you know the pathologist will somehow be tied to the killer. This book was a mess, Eve = Adam = Satan = Alice? 90% of the book was about a serial killer and then it turns into a dance with Satan? After reading this I realized I read Skin by the same author which I didn't like either.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Daniel locate the serial killer Eve in time to save his latest victim?

    Sixteen young women are dead, each injected with a mysterious illness on the night of a new moon and left in various underground basements or caverns. The murderer leaves no clues, except for one scrawled-in-red trademark, "Eve."

    Special Agent Daniel Clark has devoted his life to tracking and finding serial killers and Eve is proving an especially difficult case. Difficult, that is, until Clark and his colleagues find Eve's latest victim still alive. In a race to save the girl's life and potentially discover the killer's identity, Daniel finds himself in danger. A run-in with Eve leaves Daniel clinically dead for twenty minutes, only to survive but remember nothing of the incident.

    As Daniel attempts to recall the details before his attack, the killer strikes again, this time much closer home to all he holds dear. Daniel takes his obsession to a dangerous new level. Soon enough he finds himself in a world where blurred lines between life and death leave him fighting for his very life. (excerpt back cover).

    My Review:

    Once again Ted Dekker has done it again, in the novel Adam. He takes the reader to the brink of a serial killers madness and leaves us wondering how we will find our way back. We find ourselves in the midst of an FBI murder investigation of fifteen girls that wind up murder on the nights of a full moon. He leaves no clues that would identify who he is. His murders are so intricately planned in great detail that he leaves no room for error what so ever no matter what happens. Daniel Clark has been following the killer known as Eve even though his obsession with the case has cost him a marriage with his wife Heather two years ago. He truly believes that he can find the killer if he can get inside the killers mind.

    The story takes a turn when the FBI is notified of the sixteenth victim and Daniel feels assured that they can catch him this time. When they locate the victim alive, Daniel realizes that this doesn't fall in line with the profile of this killer. As they attempt to get her to a hospital to avoid the disease from ravaging her mind and killing her body, they race through unknown roads in the forest at top speed. It is only then that Eve materializes in the road in front of them. They slam on the brakes and cause chaos within the vehicles interior. As the agents scramble for their guns, Eve takes aim and begins shooting, it's only then that Daniel watches his world now succumb to darkness as pain runs through his head.

    These is an edge of your seat, page turning as fast as you can read them kind of book that intertwines articles from Crime Report detailing the life of a serial killer alongside the story of Eve and his continued killing rampage. This story combines the elements of Criminal Minds, with the movies Flatliners and the Exorcist for a can't put it down, suspense and thrilling novel.

    I received the book, Adam by Ted Dekker, compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and must say it does not disappoint. I've read almost all of Ted Dekker's book and this one rates up there with House and the Bride Collector perfectly. I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars. This book is available in paperback only!

    For more information on this book, the author and where to obtain a copy of this thrilling book, please visit the link below:

    http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9781599953175.htm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Adam by Ted Dekker

    I picked this book up because I am a mystery lover and the description of the book on the jacket was compelling. However, three or four pages into the book, I was howling with laughter and sharing one poorly constructed sentence after another with my equally amused husband. I am amazed that this is a best-selling author: the writing is clunky and poorly executed and on almost every page there are at least four or five sentence fragments. I spent my entire time not so subconsciously editing as I moved through this riduculous book with it's silly characters and as silly plot. Can't the publisher afford a decent editor? Of course, it's probably not in the budget to completely re-write the book...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I am now a Ted Dekker

    This was my first Ted Dekker book, but it won't be my last. I have always enjoyed a thriller; and this book was just that. The topic and the characters kept me hooked.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Pure crap

    Formulaic, self-indulgent, pointless, predictable. A waste of time.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    godly thriller

    Like house he follows a theme of a nice build up but at the end it has a very spiritual tone. i believe this is probably his writing style.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    LIKED it.

    a friend told me i "needed to read this!" best books shes ever read. so i picked it up expecting the greatest novel ever! it was really good i liked it but i was so ready for something scarrrry and wonderful, i guess it was just a letdown that the plot was predictable. the last twist was a surprise ill admit but everything else was just..blah. im 14 and i really love ted dekker but i think im gonna stick to dean koontz and stephan king.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9