Customer Reviews for

Adam

Average Rating 4.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great mystery.....

This is my first time reading Ted Dekker and this is a great mystery. It took turns in the story that do not follow the normal path for murder mysteries. I have recommended to several friends and they all enjoyed this book. The author takes the time to go through the...
This is my first time reading Ted Dekker and this is a great mystery. It took turns in the story that do not follow the normal path for murder mysteries. I have recommended to several friends and they all enjoyed this book. The author takes the time to go through the story and all the characters - making the ending great and unpredictable. It is not for all readers and does not hold any punches going through the story.

Thank you Ted Dekker.

posted by ButterMB on November 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but far out

I enjoyed the premiss but then became somewhat disenchanted near the end when the super natural began to happen. More into down-to-earth and realistic than sci-fi content. Up to that point I thought it was well worth the expenditure and the author certainly knows how ...
I enjoyed the premiss but then became somewhat disenchanted near the end when the super natural began to happen. More into down-to-earth and realistic than sci-fi content. Up to that point I thought it was well worth the expenditure and the author certainly knows how to grab the readers attention. Kind of the point I guess.

posted by 3050992 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great mystery.....

    This is my first time reading Ted Dekker and this is a great mystery. It took turns in the story that do not follow the normal path for murder mysteries. I have recommended to several friends and they all enjoyed this book. The author takes the time to go through the story and all the characters - making the ending great and unpredictable. It is not for all readers and does not hold any punches going through the story.

    Thank you Ted Dekker.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Surprising!

    In all the books I have read, I have NEVER been completely surprised by a plot change. This one though, has a jaw dropping plot twist that intensifies the suspense that was already there throughout the novel. Very different reading experience.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    worth the read

    The book Adam starts off with an excerpt from Anne Rudolph's article Man of Sorrow: Journey into Darkness. Piece by piece Dekker creates a mystery of a puzzle by using this article. FBI agent, Daniel Clark, has based his whole career on learning how killers think and in doing so he believes he will be able to catch them. Daniel has hit rock bottom with his new case, EVE. As much as he tries he has not been able to keep EVE from killing fifteen females. He is a man of will though and dares not to give up; because of this EVE is now willing to stop at nothing to cause Daniel to stop chasing him. During the killing of the sixteenth victim Daniel is shot in the head and killed, or so everyone thinks. Daniel is revived after clinically being dead for over twenty minutes. Daniel now has an image of EVE trapped in his brain and must die again several times to recover it. In the end Daniel comes face to face with the killer once again and must make a decision of what it is he truly believes in.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Yearning to Read Review

    Daniel Clark is obsessed. So obsessed that he has sacrificed his marriage to his ex-wife Heather, along with everything else that should matter most. Why? The Eve Killer is out there, wreaking havoc by kidnapping young woman from ages nineteen to twenty-four and killing them with a new strain of meningitis. He works like a clock, killing his victims when the moon is new and waiting almost a full month before snatching the next young girl. The FBI has done everything, but Eve, as they call the killer, seemlingly cannot be stopped. After sixteen months of searching, Daniel is now hard on Eve's heels, sure that if he can just understand the killer's mind, he could catch him and bring him to justice. When a big break in the case is made, Daniel finds himself face to face with Eve and does his best to stop him; however, that is before Eve raises his gun, points it at Daniel, and pulls the trigger...


    This book was amazing. Ted Dekker, as far as I know, is the only author that ever makes me want to read ahead. I was in the first 100 pages of Adam and I was dying to know what would happen to Daniel, Heather, Lori (Daniel's partner), and the rest. I wanted to know who Eve was, why he was killing all the women, and what this strain of meningitis really was. In the end, my expectations were far surpassed.

    This book was intensely psychological, so if you want to read it, prepare yourself for mind games. Two of the characters were kidnapped at ages two and three and were abused growing up, based off the rules of the kidnapers' twisted religion; this affects their lives later on, which in turn creates a devastating affect in the book. You will see how easily our minds are deceived into hating truth and how scary that really is. I was amazed by the twist in the end, and I am so thankful for Ted Dekker's love for God and how he turns that love into great books that glorify Him.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    A most read

    Adam was my first Ted Dekker. When i started to read this book i thought it was going to boring but i kept reading. As i kept reading i fell in love with this book. It was interesting and awesome. Ted dekker's world just off the hook amazing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Creepy! And great!

    I'm a big Ted Dekker fan, so this book doesn't disappoint. I still don't think he's topped his Red, White, Black series (I know, that's the wrong order), but I think this one is pretty fantastic. I like that he writes moral books that aren't preachy or pretentious...he just writes good books, darn it. I'd definitely recommend it...but, since I'd recommend pretty much everything he's written, that's no surprise.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    Adam Review

    In a world where evil runs free, FBI psychologist Daniel Clark searches for the serial killer who has terminated the lives of numerous innocent women. In this thrilling, suspenseful, and page-turning novel, Daniel Clark's obsessive addiction to the "Eve" case results in his death and ultimately, his resuscitation and retaliation to find the face of the man who killed him. Ted Dekker's purpose to reveal the light upon the topic of spiritual warfare shines through the pages of his book. Once you pick up Adam, it will be almost impossible to relinquish. Every page is filled with exhilarating text and brilliant detail that will lure you in from the beginning! "Mucus ran from both nostrils and mixed with foaming spittle that seeped from her mouth. Stringy blonde hair hung below her ears trembling." How could someone not envision the scene from that elaborate passage? Adam, being my first Ted Dekker novel, is indefinitely my favorite book of all times. It's a must-read for all book-enthusiasts!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Interesting but far out

    I enjoyed the premiss but then became somewhat disenchanted near the end when the super natural began to happen. More into down-to-earth and realistic than sci-fi content. Up to that point I thought it was well worth the expenditure and the author certainly knows how to grab the readers attention. Kind of the point I guess.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for lovers of psychological thrillers

    Dekker has a way of writing that makes it easy to read and easy to be entrapped by. The book hooks you after the first chapter. Some books start out slow and work into the plot but this one just jumps right into the action and keeps you guessing until the very end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! A great read!

    I loved this book. I was engaged in reading from beginning to end. Just kept wanting to know what will happen next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Weird

    This is one of the weirdest books, but what made this book different from all the other weird books I have ever read is I really enjoyed it. It is really really good. Strange yes. Plausible? Not really. Regardless I couldn't put it down. It makes you think at times too. And the plot twists that continue to come just become more and more shocking till at the end I nearly gasped at the last twist. A really really good book. Read it. You won't regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book....definately a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Dekker's Best

    Great twist! Ending is fantastic! A tale of possession and redemption.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Well-written with good charater development, but the idea of a man coming to believe in God just because he witnessed a demon possession was off-putting to me. I would hope that faith would be based on more positive daily evidence of God's Love.

    It was not a poorly composed novel, yet the theme of coming to recognize the good and evil around us was not developed in a satisfying fashion. At the end, I was left feeling as though that issue had been employed in a superficial manner, like a cheap trick, which disrespected any reader's intelligence and sensibilities. Surely, a deeper or more credible handling of the material could have been incorporated into the text. In other words, it was just too dark and too stark for this fan of criminal and political intrigue. I do not doubt that people allow bad entities to taint their souls, I simply think the author could have done a better balanced job of portraying it. Embracing God strictly out of fearing the devil is a primitive and lopsided form of spiritual awakening.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Definitely NOT for everybody!!!

    If you have read Dekker's works, you know to be prepared for something totally unexpected. In "Adam", he does not disappoint. Though I was appreciating the experience of reading this book, I often found myself feeling forced to return to it. I wanted to know what was next, but I didn't want to know. I had this experience over and over, right up to the very end. This sort of fascinated craving coupled with repulsion is, I suppose, part of what constitutes a very good book of a certain sort.
    I must say, however, that, if you feel haunted later from reading scenes of gross criminal action, or of child abuse, stay away from this one. I read a book, usually, and move on. When I got a request to review this one, I had to recheck it to remind myself what it had been about, as it was several weeks ago when I read it, and I have read many since then. It only took a glance to the pages, though, for it all to come swooping back to me. Dekker has fascinated and surprised me before, but this one is really a winner----if you can stand it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Absolutely Amazing

    This was the first book I was ever physically yelled at to put down. Keeps you on the edge of your seat as you put pieces of the puzzle together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Love this book!

    I love detailed mystery that take you inside the story.

    This one deluvers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Fav book

    My personal favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Amazing novel

    This book kept me on the edge the entire time. I could not put it down, at all. Great suspense novel that will have a none believer wondering if there is something truly evil out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9