Customer Reviews for

Adam

Average Rating 4.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great mystery.....

This is my first time reading Ted Dekker and this is a great mystery. It took turns in the story that do not follow the normal path for murder mysteries. I have recommended to several friends and they all enjoyed this book. The author takes the time to go through the...
This is my first time reading Ted Dekker and this is a great mystery. It took turns in the story that do not follow the normal path for murder mysteries. I have recommended to several friends and they all enjoyed this book. The author takes the time to go through the story and all the characters - making the ending great and unpredictable. It is not for all readers and does not hold any punches going through the story.

Thank you Ted Dekker.

posted by ButterMB on November 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but far out

I enjoyed the premiss but then became somewhat disenchanted near the end when the super natural began to happen. More into down-to-earth and realistic than sci-fi content. Up to that point I thought it was well worth the expenditure and the author certainly knows how ...
I enjoyed the premiss but then became somewhat disenchanted near the end when the super natural began to happen. More into down-to-earth and realistic than sci-fi content. Up to that point I thought it was well worth the expenditure and the author certainly knows how to grab the readers attention. Kind of the point I guess.

posted by 3050992 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Daniel locate the serial killer Eve in time to save his latest victim?

    Sixteen young women are dead, each injected with a mysterious illness on the night of a new moon and left in various underground basements or caverns. The murderer leaves no clues, except for one scrawled-in-red trademark, "Eve."

    Special Agent Daniel Clark has devoted his life to tracking and finding serial killers and Eve is proving an especially difficult case. Difficult, that is, until Clark and his colleagues find Eve's latest victim still alive. In a race to save the girl's life and potentially discover the killer's identity, Daniel finds himself in danger. A run-in with Eve leaves Daniel clinically dead for twenty minutes, only to survive but remember nothing of the incident.

    As Daniel attempts to recall the details before his attack, the killer strikes again, this time much closer home to all he holds dear. Daniel takes his obsession to a dangerous new level. Soon enough he finds himself in a world where blurred lines between life and death leave him fighting for his very life. (excerpt back cover).

    My Review:

    Once again Ted Dekker has done it again, in the novel Adam. He takes the reader to the brink of a serial killers madness and leaves us wondering how we will find our way back. We find ourselves in the midst of an FBI murder investigation of fifteen girls that wind up murder on the nights of a full moon. He leaves no clues that would identify who he is. His murders are so intricately planned in great detail that he leaves no room for error what so ever no matter what happens. Daniel Clark has been following the killer known as Eve even though his obsession with the case has cost him a marriage with his wife Heather two years ago. He truly believes that he can find the killer if he can get inside the killers mind.

    The story takes a turn when the FBI is notified of the sixteenth victim and Daniel feels assured that they can catch him this time. When they locate the victim alive, Daniel realizes that this doesn't fall in line with the profile of this killer. As they attempt to get her to a hospital to avoid the disease from ravaging her mind and killing her body, they race through unknown roads in the forest at top speed. It is only then that Eve materializes in the road in front of them. They slam on the brakes and cause chaos within the vehicles interior. As the agents scramble for their guns, Eve takes aim and begins shooting, it's only then that Daniel watches his world now succumb to darkness as pain runs through his head.

    These is an edge of your seat, page turning as fast as you can read them kind of book that intertwines articles from Crime Report detailing the life of a serial killer alongside the story of Eve and his continued killing rampage. This story combines the elements of Criminal Minds, with the movies Flatliners and the Exorcist for a can't put it down, suspense and thrilling novel.

    I received the book, Adam by Ted Dekker, compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and must say it does not disappoint. I've read almost all of Ted Dekker's book and this one rates up there with House and the Bride Collector perfectly. I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars. This book is available in paperback only!

    For more information on this book, the author and where to obtain a copy of this thrilling book, please visit the link below:

    http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9781599953175.htm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I am now a Ted Dekker

    This was my first Ted Dekker book, but it won't be my last. I have always enjoyed a thriller; and this book was just that. The topic and the characters kept me hooked.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Easy read

    Great story and easy read, very enjoyable reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic, by far my favorite Dekker book.

    Stunning. I have read most of Ted Dekkers books (all of his thrillers and fantasy, anyway...) and this was in my eyes the best of them all. That is really all I have to say, I won't bang out a plot summary because I believe you should get a copy and read it yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    His Best Yet

    This is by far Ted Dekkers best book yet. With his return to spiritual warfare he keeps you wanting more. I had a hard time putting this book down. This bone chilling thriller is one of the greatest books I have read in a long time.
    When a relatively unreligious man tangles with a serial killer whose killings are ritualistic and consistent he finds himself in a web of spiritual warfare dating back to the killer's childhood.
    This book deserves more than five stars. It's a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    Captivating!

    Adam is a captivating novel that will keep you reading on the edge of your seat...literally! This whole book was an adrenaline rush that made my heart beat at twice its normal speed. It was a great book that made the reader realize that the spiritual realm is very real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    Superior Read

    The book Adam by Ted Dekker is a great piece of literature. It involves a serial killer who goes by the name of Eve. The protagonist of the story is Daniel who is an obsessive FBI agent that specializes in getting into the minds of criminals like Eve. Dekker chooses in this book to tell the background story of Eve by inserting news article snippets between chapters that describe Eve¿s past as told by his sister. The article is what would have appeared in the papers after the end. This keeps the readers one step ahead of Daniel who must brave death and fear in order to succeed in his goal.<BR/> The Eve killer is known as such because he only kills women. The women are always killed on the new moon by a disease. The book¿s title however is Adam. Adam is Daniel. Daniel is the first adam killed by Eve. He however is shot not killed by disease because he managed to find the next victim before she died. Lori Ames managed to revive him after several minutes though his memory of Eve¿s face is locked away and he suffers massive panic attacks every few hours.<BR/> As both the story of Daniel and the story of Eve progress in tandem, it becomes clear that because of his obsession Daniel is becoming like Eve. The book is a tale of obsession and good overcoming evil. It is a great book for anyone who likes thriller type books that will keep the reader¿s attention until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    Independent Reading

    Daniel Clark is a FBI behavioral psychologist who doesn¿t believe there is a God and is convinced that religion is based on half-truths and well-constructed myths. Daniel has been obsessed with finding a serial killer that goes by the name ¿Eve¿. Eve has killed several young women and he only kills them when there is a new moon. All of Eve¿s victims are found dead after having suffered from an illness but none of them have any marks of abuse. <BR/> After encountering Eve while trying to save a victim Daniel is shot and dies but is resuscitated after twenty minuets of clinical death. Daniel knows that he saw the killer¿s face right before being shot. He realizes that he knows Eve¿s identity and the only way to reveal the killer, but those few moments are lost in his memory. Trying to surface those memories Daniel decides that the only way to do so is to die again. The serial killer has already destroyed Daniel¿s marriage and has taken his life, but he will stop at nothing to expose the man by the name of ¿Eve¿. In attempts to revive their marriage, Daniel¿s exwife becomes obsessed with finding Eve as well. She receives phone calls warning her that if she doesn¿t get her exhusband to stop his search for Eve he will regret it. The search continues and the suspense rises as new identities are revealed but will Daniel ever be able to remember the serial killer¿s face and what is the reasoning behind Eve¿s murder of innocent young women? By the events that occured, Daniel is forced to reconsider his beliefs on God and begins to realize that a relationship with God is possible. <BR/> Adam is a book full of mystery and suspense. Ted Dekker does a great job of capturing his audience and throwing them in a whorl wind of extreme events. He uses allusion to refer to Adam and Eve in the Bible. Daniel is Adam because he is the serial killers first male victim. This book also shows the conflict between good and evil that is faced by everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The unseen "enemy"

    If you enjoy plot twists this is definitely a book for you. For those that consider themselves "believers," then this is one that you will definitely not find boring and may even give you a different perspective in how you view those around you and just what might be plaguing their everyday lives and how we musn't forget what has ultimate authority and power over our lives. For sure a page turner and after I had finished it, was dissapointed that I read through it so fast, but quite literally it is just that good to be reread in case you missed the finer details from forensic minds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    A Breathtaking, Shocking Thriller... Incredible!

    I loved this book! It was given to me as a gift and I had no desire to read it at first. I gave it a try one day, and suddenly I was captured by Ted Dekker's style and mastery of adrenaline. Adam was one of those books I just could not put down. Definitely read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    A Must Read

    I'm a big fan of Dekker and this is one of his best pieces yet! I bought it after my dad twisted my arm 'didn't take much' and in no time I was finished with the book. Great read! Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Amazing Book

    This book was incredible. I could not stop reading it. Ted Dekker is an amazing writer and seems to have a way of captureing his readers. I recommend this book to every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    The Best in a long time

    This has got to be one of Ted Dekker's best works. After getting hooked on his writing from 'The Blessed Child', I have read everything of his that I could get my hands on. After several years of reading his work, I have to say this is the best he has produced. A real page-turner, I struggled to put it down and found myself looking forward to every opportunity I had to pick it up again. I hope he makes a sequel of this one because it is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Spell Binding

    Like most of Ted Deckers books this is one you will not be able to put down. What an ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Edge of your seat thriller!

    I can't put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    OMG!

    I read this book in two days. Wow! A really good read. Dekker writes in a way that makes you feel present, on the pages with the characters. I really could not put it down. GOOD BOOK! My first Dekker read and not my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    wow!

    this book was awesome! this is the first book i have read by this author and now won't be the last!! it keeps you on the edge of your seat. you might not want to read it at night and/or alone!!!!! you will not be disappointed!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Very Nice

    Adam was more intense than any other TD book I've ever read...and I've read most of them. I found myself at 2 AM scared, but I couldn't stop turning the pages. Wide eyed, I kept on until the...sorta surprise ending...it was a great book. Although a piece of advice...don't read it at night...at least unless you want to lay awake for like ever thinking about it..and if you do, leave the light on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    scary, wonderfully written, outstanding

    ADAM was the first book I've read from Ted Dekker and he now has me hooked for life. The only negative comment is that the book ended. I was so wrapped around the characters and plot that I was sad to see the story end. Wow, what a great ride! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Shaping out to be a great book

    I'm still reading this book, and it is amazing! I'm seeing a resemblence in this book to Thr3e, which was arguably Dekker's best book. Adam is intense, riveting, and compelling. I heard it's being made into a movie, and what a movie it would be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5