Customer Reviews for

Adaptation

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Action, conspiracies, and bizarre happenings lend an air of myst

Action, conspiracies, and bizarre happenings lend an air of mystery and heightened tension to Adaptation. Once I picked up this book, I couldn't put it down until it ended, and even then I wanted to keep reading. There is so much going on, so much waiting to be revealed...
Action, conspiracies, and bizarre happenings lend an air of mystery and heightened tension to Adaptation. Once I picked up this book, I couldn't put it down until it ended, and even then I wanted to keep reading. There is so much going on, so much waiting to be revealed. I haven't watched the movie Birds, but once I read about the birds dying in flocks and causing the deaths of countless people, I freaked out. I was scared that there was some conspiracy going on that was making the birds attack people and that there was going to be a huge, horrific apocalyptic disaster. Of course, events didn't progress to that degree, though many things did happen that did freak me out. Like agent stalkers, crazy dreams, sneaking out late at night, and many reports of deaths, humans and birds alike.

What made this story for me is how the plot was unraveled. From the mysterious way the birds are behaving to the crash and the changes overcoming Reese and David and their subsequent reactions to these developments, the secret behind Project Plato drives the plot, keeping my eyes glued to the pages from start to finish. The detailed references to many government projects lends credibility to the story. I'm not big into conspiracist theories, so I don't know how relevant many of these are to today's world. As this book takes place either in an alternate reality of our world or in the future (with a female president), it doesn't need to be entirely relevant to the present. What matters is that all these acronyms and secret projects heighten the suspense and tension. If it did try to do more than that, I'd probably run away. I'm not good with these kinds of technical terms!

This is one book where I found it hard to sort out my feelings about the characters. I like Reese. She likes to keep her emotions secure and stable, which makes it hard for her to start a relationship. Her thing with Amber is pure chemistry. Neither Reese nor Amber are quick to open up about themselves, and it's cool with Reese. She doesn't expect to start a serious relationship until she gets into one, and when something happens to betray her feelings, she locks up immediately. Her feelings of not wanting to be hurt anymore than she already has been is something that I feel many of us can relate to. Amber is an enigma. I know that she's gorgeous and seemingly very self-assured, but there's not much more other than that until towards the end. I'm hoping to learn more about her in the sequel to Adaptation. I also want to see how Reese and David's new abilities turn out, and I want to see more of the two of them as an item. You don't see many Asian guys into YA Lit, much less Asian guys portrayed in such a positive light. He's sweet, funny, and super supportive. I like him, Asian or not.

I've heard great things about Malinda Lo's writing but haven't read any of her works until now. After this book, I'll definitely be reading more of her works, past and future. I can't wait to see where Malinda takes us next with the sequel to this book!

posted by ImaginaryReads on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Adaptation

I don't really know what to make of this book. But I really liked the characters and I thought the premise was really intriguing. I enjoyed it, though the ending was a bit confusing. Warning: there is a cliffhanger and a sequel.

posted by 9696561 on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Action, conspiracies, and bizarre happenings lend an air of myst

    Action, conspiracies, and bizarre happenings lend an air of mystery and heightened tension to Adaptation. Once I picked up this book, I couldn't put it down until it ended, and even then I wanted to keep reading. There is so much going on, so much waiting to be revealed. I haven't watched the movie Birds, but once I read about the birds dying in flocks and causing the deaths of countless people, I freaked out. I was scared that there was some conspiracy going on that was making the birds attack people and that there was going to be a huge, horrific apocalyptic disaster. Of course, events didn't progress to that degree, though many things did happen that did freak me out. Like agent stalkers, crazy dreams, sneaking out late at night, and many reports of deaths, humans and birds alike.

    What made this story for me is how the plot was unraveled. From the mysterious way the birds are behaving to the crash and the changes overcoming Reese and David and their subsequent reactions to these developments, the secret behind Project Plato drives the plot, keeping my eyes glued to the pages from start to finish. The detailed references to many government projects lends credibility to the story. I'm not big into conspiracist theories, so I don't know how relevant many of these are to today's world. As this book takes place either in an alternate reality of our world or in the future (with a female president), it doesn't need to be entirely relevant to the present. What matters is that all these acronyms and secret projects heighten the suspense and tension. If it did try to do more than that, I'd probably run away. I'm not good with these kinds of technical terms!

    This is one book where I found it hard to sort out my feelings about the characters. I like Reese. She likes to keep her emotions secure and stable, which makes it hard for her to start a relationship. Her thing with Amber is pure chemistry. Neither Reese nor Amber are quick to open up about themselves, and it's cool with Reese. She doesn't expect to start a serious relationship until she gets into one, and when something happens to betray her feelings, she locks up immediately. Her feelings of not wanting to be hurt anymore than she already has been is something that I feel many of us can relate to. Amber is an enigma. I know that she's gorgeous and seemingly very self-assured, but there's not much more other than that until towards the end. I'm hoping to learn more about her in the sequel to Adaptation. I also want to see how Reese and David's new abilities turn out, and I want to see more of the two of them as an item. You don't see many Asian guys into YA Lit, much less Asian guys portrayed in such a positive light. He's sweet, funny, and super supportive. I like him, Asian or not.

    I've heard great things about Malinda Lo's writing but haven't read any of her works until now. After this book, I'll definitely be reading more of her works, past and future. I can't wait to see where Malinda takes us next with the sequel to this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Adaptation

    I don't really know what to make of this book. But I really liked the characters and I thought the premise was really intriguing. I enjoyed it, though the ending was a bit confusing. Warning: there is a cliffhanger and a sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When Reese and David are in the airport waiting for their plane

    When Reese and David are in the airport waiting for their plane home Reese sees something odd out the window. A bird just fell out of the sky. She thinks no more of it until she hears disturbing news on the TV. A plane has been brought down because of birds. Next thing she knows she is seeing news alert after news alert saying planes are crashing because birds are flying into the engines. All flights are grounded till further notice so Reese, David and their debate coach decide to drive home. 

    They stop at a gas station but when their coach is on his way out he is stopped by a stranger trying to rob their car. The man shoots the coach but David is able to get them safely away. With birds dropping from the sky at an alarming rate and people freaking out Reese and David don't know whats happening. Reese takes over the driving when suddenly a bird flies straight into the windscreen and causes Reese to crash. She blacks out and when she wakes she sees she is in a hospital. They tell her she is lucky to be alive and that they had to treat her with top secret military care. She is made sign a non disclosure paper and left go home. When she is home she realises she isn't the same. What happened her? Why is she having these strange flashes?  

    This is my first Malinda Lo book. I was expecting kind of an end of the world type book but its not. 

    I liked Reese up to a point. She seems the typical all American girl. Smart, quiet and kind. She has a crush on David for ages but when he seems to reciprocate she pulled back. Then she meets Amber and its attraction at first sight. Now my problem is that Reese loved David but yet she pulls back and then when someone else comes along she dives head first into the relationship. She is conflicted with her feelings for both David and Amber yet her relationship with Amber is super quick. This is her first relationship with a girl so I would of liked a bit more hesitancy and holding back considering she still has feelings for David. 

    Onto David. He was a nice guy but a bit too nice. He felt like he had no backbone and just accepted everything. He didn't grow either through the book! Then we have Amber with her dyed hair and skateboard. I thought, here's a girl with some spunk. She was a good addition to the book but I still think her relationship with Reese should of been slower. 

    Plot wise I am still confused. The first half of the book was awesome. It had me gripped and I kept waiting to see what caused the birds to go crazy but I kept waiting and waiting and nothing, then when we did find out it was like the author remembered that part and just threw in an explanation but gave no reason as to why. It annoyed me. 

    Then when Reese and David finally get home after a month the pacing slows WAY down. It started off like a Apocalyptic book, then went to focusing on Romance, then onto Sci-Fi. I wanted the book to make up its mind!! The middle of the book was so dull that I wanted to put the book aside but I also wanted a reason to what happened the birds and whats happening to Reese and David. When we get to the final part of the book the action picked up again but again I had problems with the plot. There was so much intrigue and mystery at the start but when it ended it was so flat and boring. I honestly didn't care what happened any of the characters and nothing was explained properly. Im giving it 2.5 stars simply because the start was so good, its what happened after that brought it down. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    First of all, I want to say that Adaptation is the first LGBT no

    First of all, I want to say that Adaptation is the first LGBT novel that I’ve ever read. This doesn’t skew my review at all, and actually added a layer of depth to the book that might have been missed had it not been present. Honestly, the whole idea of the bisexual and/or homosexual nature of some of the characters didn’t bother me at all. I was mildly surprised, but the overall realization that the LGBT topic didn’t overwhelm or dominate the story just goes to show that not every main character has to be heterosexual. For someone who loves the men as much as I do, it was a breath of fresh air to be able to somewhat understand the attraction between the two girls. And to be honest, I liked it! First LGBT novel read: success!

    Now aside from that aspect, I found the beginning to be great and fascinating, and that carried through until about the second third of the book. When Reese met Amber, things just slowed down considerably in the main plot. No big discoveries, nothing but relationship. Now I’m all for book montages of relationship, but if it lasts more than a chapter or two (and I do realize that it was about the self-discovery going on, but still), it gets in the way of what I really want to know. Like what the heck happened with Reese and David?! What about their big huge mystery going on?

    Towards the final third of the book, things really picked up and I enjoyed it immensely. I stayed up until two in the morning to finish Adaptation, because after the first big action/realization, I was hooked. Couldn’t put the book down! Clues finally started to be put together, and a sense of the bigger picture happened. It was addicting. I raced through the last pages to get to the end, and when I reached the end… Wow. HUGE revelation just before the end, and then the actual ending… Adaptation had the kind of ending that could give it stand alone power, as well as allowing for following books. I was really satisfied with the ending, even though I want to know what happens next.

    And just so you know – I’m really digging the Reese x David pairing. The description of them together, getting to know each other…ahem, physically (nothing more than PG13 happened though folks) was yummy. Men are just fantastic to write about in my opinion. All sexy and… Well you get the picture. I’m swooning a little.

    Really good overall read! If you like puzzles and science fiction and a hint of mystery, I really recommend Adaptation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Hachette Children's Books and Netgalley.)
    17-year-old Reece is shocked when several planes across the US are brought down by flocks of birds, and together with her friend and her debate team coach, decides to drive home instead of flying.
    When the car they are in crashes, and Reece wakes up 27 days later, she finds herself having been given an experimental treatment, and is sworn to secrecy.
    What was this secret treatment? Why were birds bringing planes down? And what is so secret that she has to sign a non-disclosure statement?


    This was an okay story, but it dragged.

    Reese was an okay character, but she did seem a bit hesitant about things, and seemed to be led by other people rather than making her own decisions.

    The storyline in this was a little odd. We started out with a fairly interesting event, got a bit of action, then suddenly leapt 27 days into the future, by which time the original exciting event was all over! Bit of an odd one that. We then had a very slow mystery playing out, along with a lesbian love affair, and a spot of redecorating. The pace was slow, the interesting moments were few and far between, and I constantly felt like I was waiting for the story to move on.

    The romance was a bit of a surprise, as I hadn’t initially realised that the main character was going to fall in love with another girl. I didn’t have a problem with that, but it was a bit of a surprise. I have to say that Reece’s mother was very laid back about it though, if my mum caught me kissing another girl I doubt she’d laugh it off!

    The ending to this was okay, but it was very open. I am interested to see what becomes of the love triangle more than anything, but another 480 pages of this seems like a lot to go through just to find out!
    Overall; okay story, but dragged a bit
    6.15 out of 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    If you like conspiracy theories, aliens, government cover ups an

    If you like conspiracy theories, aliens, government cover ups and genetic experiments, this might be the book for you. However, if you're like me, Adaptation could just leave you wanting for something more creative.

    When I picked up this book, it seemed like something I would enjoy. The opening has a very 'end of the world' type feel to it, and while I felt it moved a bit too fast, there was something exciting about the story line. Getting trapped in an airport while planes are crashing mysteriously due to birds? That seems like a good recipe for a fun book. Once we hit the car crash and the traces of alien conspiracy started showing up, however, I started to loose interest.

    I guess it just feels like a 'been there, done that'. Instead of building something new, this book draws onto all kinds of old material. While the opening felt fresh and creative, the middle made me feel like I was watching an old sci-fi on a dusty T.V. I've read some good sci-fi, and I've seen some creative takes on it. This really didn't have that feel to me. 

    The most creative aspect involved the birds, but even that gets pushed aside with this awkward coming of age sort of romance aspect that takes up half the book. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind romance or coming of age. But it felt like someone clipped those sections out of a different book and shoved it in the middle of this novel. I would have rather spent more time escaping Phoenix than hearing about Reese's confusing love life. Which is sad, because this is one of the few books that really branches out and diversifies the main characters. The twists and turns seemed to suck out anything 'real' about those interactions though.

    The romance with Amber felt forced and unnatural, the opening felt rushed, and I had to spend too long suspending my disbelief. There were also smaller things that bugged me. Like David offering to drive the rental car. Almost all rental companies require drivers be 21 years old to drive, and even then you get fined extra. Then they crash it, and there is just no dealing with the fact they totaled the car. That is some massive debt they just piled on their debate coach's family. The longer I read, the more I started questioning the story line. It felt like a campfire story not a book. There was nothing solid in this novel that drew me in enough to believe what was happening.

    Good Sci-Fi has enough in it to make you question what's around you. This book just tried to build on the paranoia that already existed. By the end, it just felt cheesy, and I just wasn't buying any of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Yea! For bisexual representation. The writing got a little diffi

    Yea! For bisexual representation. The writing got a little difficult for me in the middle but overall this is a very good read. It's an interesting story line with a well written main character. Realistic portrayal of young adults / teens without going overboard on the drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    "Adaptation" by Malinda Lo is mainly about; Reese, Amb

    "Adaptation" by Malinda Lo is mainly about; Reese, Amber and David. Reese and David are debate partners, who get in a car crash around Area 51. They're miraculously revived by a top secret  government procedure performed by Dr. Brown. They are forced to swear not to let anyone know about this procedure because if they did they would be executed. As soon as they return home to San Francisco, Reese meets her lovely girlfriend Amber and strange things start to happen, they begin to be followed by men in black suits and there are recording devices and cameras hidden in their homes. In a strange turn of events,  amber disappears, and Reese and David are then abducted by another  government agency by the name of Blue Bird, they are obsessed with finding out the procedure used to help Reese and David recover, later finding out they're not completely human anymore. 

    I personally loved this book, it was strange and had a lot of twists and turns, i wouldn't recommend this if you're a slow reader but if you can catch on things and enjoy science fiction this book is perfect for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The lack of consistency from this author was more than a little

    The lack of consistency from this author was more than a little annoying. The main character seemed to be all over the place to support the plot line instead of allowing the character to take the lead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Not Sure

    What I was going for when I bought this book was more dystopian. If that's what you are looking for, I recommend Article 5.

    This book trailed off topic sometimes. I just made a face to myself and said, 'What does this have to do with anything?' Yet, the story line of Adaptation was very good. I loved that. But I felt like her writing was a bit mediocre. Sometimes I thought I could write parts better than the author.

    This book actually turns out to be a science fiction book. The whole time during the book you know something is up and the ending was a bit disappointing because it really wasn't what I expected.

    The author foreshadows future events casually by asking questions to herself, in which I just roll my eyes.

    Not exactly sure if I would recommend. This book is addicting because of the story line and characters, but the author needs more practice.

    Currently contemplating reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Good book!

    I liked this book alot! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Loved it

    After i fineshed it i told my mom that she might like the book. After she finished the book she said it made her blieve in concperansies

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2