Customer Reviews for

Addiction to Love: Overcoming Obsession and Dependency

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    If you find this book helpful, Susan finally has a companion wor

    If you find this book helpful, Susan finally has a companion workbook: Recovery Workbook for Love Addicts and Love Avoidants: Introducing the Ambivalent Love Addict.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Amazing

    Really great book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Addiction to love was realized after the 4 years of Codependency I went through. This was very helpful for me in my journey to have better relationships with my children. There are areas I recognized which I can now have the tools to work on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Eye Opening

    Just thumbing through some of the chapters was an awakening to so many of the repeatitive issues I experienced in my relationships.

    Its certainly worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    So helpful

    Great for those who always need the "romantic high".....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for Anyone who has Relationship Issues!

    Sounds crazy, doesn't it? Addicted to love? Who is addicted to love? Aren't we all, if we love anyone in our lives? But, this book addresses what is healthy and what is unhealthy in relationships, particularly those relationships that are so hard to kick!

    This book makes the argument that the kind of 'love' that has us stuck with someone who is hurting us is considered addictive BECAUSE it is actually life-threatening! How many people have died in old age, right after their mate has died? They just didn't have the will to live? Or how many people have committed suicide upon learning that their mate was divorcing them? This kind of 'love' is not really love, but addiction, and it IS life-threatening.

    It happens fast, is all about boundary issues and is a very tough cycle to break. This book helps those with these addictions learn how to recognize the beginning of a relationship and how to begin to really love a healthy love! WELL worth reading for MOST American women who have been programmed by the many 'man-rescues-women' movies and societal norms!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    If you are a love addict this book can change your life!

    Book Review by Reba Be, published in the Townsend Letter for Doctors: 'This is a lovely little book with pleasing chapter title pages, lively doses of healing, and lots of epiphanic information. Chapters are: Looking For Love; Contributing Factors That Influence Potential Love Addicts; Symptoms of Addiction to Love and Suggestions for Change; How Addiction to Love Progresses; Recovery; and Starting Over Again. This is also a book with suggested further reading at the end of each lesson and a bibliography that is impressive.... Peabody's experience and research adds a vital clue to who is likely to become a love addict. After the long-standing examples of youngsters whose bonding with their primary caretaker (usually mothers) is either damaged or unhealthily severed, Peabody adds the peer-rejected youngsters.... What are the symptoms of Addiction to Love? Many and various and clearly set out in Chapter 3. Read them and weep. I recommend this little tome for every throne room where young adults and the young-at-heart hang out; certainly for waiting rooms and clinics. Give a copy to someone as they head into puberty or to that good friend who's on her 7th relationship or that buddy you just know is going to blow it with his newest. And if you think you're free and clear, read the book yourself, just to make sure, naturally!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1