Customer Reviews for

Adios, Tobias Griffin

Average Rating 3
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    Ah the lost art

    Quintessence. A must read for anybody who reads anybody. A twist of light despotism laden in a sea of satirical clarity. Perfection only recognized by those who can truly appreciate the contemporary classics of our time! Reviewers, have you so quickly forgotten the gentle whisper of Kurt Vonnegut's Sirens, or the mild mannered "somatized" heroine of Brave New World? What about Big Brother? Have you so quickly laid these works on the shelf and forgotten their essence? Where is the spirit of simplicity? This book offers that and more, but I shudder to think of a middle schooler reading its pages and devouring its meaning with its devilish little fingers...I delight in the creation of Tobias and his "lightness of being" Bravo b.j. kawa Bravo.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    Odd Novelty

    Sandwiched between the cover is an odd novelty of sorts. I wanted to love this book (as I do all books) but it took awhile to get into the characters. I didn't feel they were established enough for me to really want to hang out and have beers with them, or maybe go to a party where they were all at. As I read on I begin to connect some things in my own mind working hard to understand the point of the whole thing. I think I get the point, but nowhere in the book did I discover why all these things were happening. The cover threw me for a loop, but after reading the book, studying the cover, flipping through the pages again, and studying the cover some more I think I get the point. I didn't think the beginning was necessary. Just a few pages thrown together to introduce the narrator which I thought was out of place. There were some really good lines and moments in the book but their didn't seem to be an intent on focusing on the good ideas that were presented. Is the kid stupid or just naive or does he not care? The character Tobias isn't stable jumping from good guy to depressed guy to happy guy to follow along guy. Why does the character just follow along with what's going on when he wasn't brought up that way? And where is he going at the end of the story? I've got a lot of questions that the story doesn't answer which is what I liked about it even if it doesn't make complete sense. If you're put off by this book I think it's because you're supposed to be. I was at first but after a second look some ideas fell into place. I didn't see the point of the upside down flag until I realized what it stood for. It might be the only brilliant aspect of the book. Otherwise it's an odd novelty that sits on my coffe table and I set my remote control on top of. I normally wouldn't comment about a book I've read but I keep finding myself going back into it even though something so simple shouldn't be so difficult. Far from the greatest book I've ever read. Just odd.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed this book

    This book wasn't much of a war story. I thought it was easy to read, but that the author was sluggish at times and that he could have done a better job building the main character. I liked the first person narrative and the relationship between him and the sergeant, even if the military ranks were not represented well in the story. <BR/>I didn't really feel that the relationship between the main character and the lead female character was established very well. I thought the story was interesting, but the supporting cast wasn't represented very well, almost like this was a diary that should have been solely focused on the Tobias. I enjoed this book and think that it's something simple that you don't have to stretch your mind about.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    Enthralling, Thrilling, and Downright Ridiculous

    After reading this book I didn't know whether to laugh, to cry, or to just shut its covers and place it on the shelf until the day that I decide to read it again. I wanted to cheer for the main character, but I can't decide whether I'm more enthralled by him or by Sgt. Townsend who rises to each occasion to keep this book moving along and interesting. <BR/>The author speculates about the things that could be in the future, placing this story somewhere after 2016, but never lets in on the date. Other than the limited idea that one of the characters may or may not be time traveling, I never got the feeling that the future was much different from today, which makes this story easy to relate to. <BR/>I had a lot of questions as to where the author was taking this, even though the first chapter made me believe I knew exactly where it was going to go. But don't be fooled, because throughout the story it could go so many different ways! <BR/>I was thrilled, amazed, flabbergasted, at awe, and basically downright impressed with the way the book ends. I won't give it away, but I finally get the point that is so subtly stated throughout the entire story; things aren't always as they seem.<BR/>I'm glad to see someone stretching the boundaries of "storytelling". The way with words can sometimes be confusing, but overall I felt it was well written and easy to read. <BR/>There are some moments where you wish things would move on, but the author kept me engaged, somehow managing to make this story sexy, funny, sad, loving, terrifying, thought provoking, and downright ridiculous, inviting the readers to our own point of view about what we want to think. <BR/>Adios, Tobias Griffin dares us to ask ourselves the question "Who's in charge?", what does "Freedom" really stand for, and when everything seems out of place and that all may be lost, can we survive by just being ourselves?<BR/>Hoo-Rah for Tobias Griffin! The fact that I laughed out loud, felt like I could shed a tear or two, and could relate to what might happen in the future (because of our government) made this a read that I would suggest to just about anyone. <BR/>In respect to the author's farewell, like Tobias Griffin, I urge you to "...live fast, live good, live simple." (B. Welligan) and enjoy this story for what it is, not for what it could have been.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    Too pricey for such a cheap read

    The characters were not developed enough. This book dragged on and on and on. As I was reading, I often found myself drifting off into thoughts about things I needed to get done like grade papers, fold laundry, pay bills, cook lunch, make a dentist appointment to get my teeth pulled, etc. It was pretty difficult to finish this book and I really wanted to like it. Also, I did not really notice before purchasing the book, but the cover of the book has an upside down flag. As I was reading the story, I couldn't help but go back to the cover wondering who made the choice to put an upside down flag on the front. It bothered me. I believe that the book could sell just as well with a different cover. Lastly, I have to say that it is totally off base to compare this author to Kurt Vonnegut. This book is nowhere near the brilliance of Vonnegut and will quickly go in my donation pile, unlike my Vonnegut books which are displayed proudly on the bookshelf in my classroom.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    Adios Tobias Griffin...Really?

    This book was so cliched I could barely finish it. I kept telling myself to give the book a chance. But, alas, the "chance" I gave it was for naught. I agree with the previous poster to some extent--the book did border on ridiculous. At times I felt like I was reading a middle school student's hastily finished English paper in which the author was trying to appear witty but just ended up coming across as trite. Don't waste your time or money. If you really want to read this book, pick it up at the local library.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    Adios, this book!

    I don't know what made me decide to buy this book, but a few pages into it, I was instantly regretting the decision. I gave this book two stars because, as a fellow author, I have to respect the hard work that goes into trying to write a book and eventually get it published. The story didn't feel cohesive and I had a really hard time getting behind the main character. And, isn't that why we read books? Because, hopefully, at some point, we become involved in a love (or hate) affair with the main character. I found myself skimming pages, trying to hurry to the end of the book so I could move on to the next one in my "to read" pile. I hope Mr./Ms. Kawa's next book is a little more developed and his/her characters stand on their own. Nice effort, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious!

    Hilarious and awesome! I loved this book and have told all my friends to read it too! It's different, it's fun, and is a far cry from the generic storytellers of our time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1