Customer Reviews for

The Admiral's Penniless Bride

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Real Keeper

Carla Kelly is a master storyteller and she never disappoints me. She certainly knows how to create characters that pull you in and keep you reading. The Admiral's Penniless Bride had me chuckling in Chapter One, crying a few chapters later, and sighing in contentment a...
Carla Kelly is a master storyteller and she never disappoints me. She certainly knows how to create characters that pull you in and keep you reading. The Admiral's Penniless Bride had me chuckling in Chapter One, crying a few chapters later, and sighing in contentment at the end. Sally (aka Spohie) and Charles are mature characters who meet when their lives seem to be meandering out of their control. Their marriage of convenience is supposed to solve their most immediate problems and not involve their hearts, but each soon discovers that the other has filled an empty void that each had in their heart and life. I only put this book down because I needed to get some sleep; otherwise, I'd have stayed up all night. Definitely an engaging, emotional read!

posted by Lulu_Burroughs on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I've read a few of her other books and they did not have any sexual content in them so this was a complete disappointment and $4 was wasted.

posted by Soundbyte7 on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    A Real Keeper

    Carla Kelly is a master storyteller and she never disappoints me. She certainly knows how to create characters that pull you in and keep you reading. The Admiral's Penniless Bride had me chuckling in Chapter One, crying a few chapters later, and sighing in contentment at the end. Sally (aka Spohie) and Charles are mature characters who meet when their lives seem to be meandering out of their control. Their marriage of convenience is supposed to solve their most immediate problems and not involve their hearts, but each soon discovers that the other has filled an empty void that each had in their heart and life. I only put this book down because I needed to get some sleep; otherwise, I'd have stayed up all night. Definitely an engaging, emotional read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Disappointed

    I've read a few of her other books and they did not have any sexual content in them so this was a complete disappointment and $4 was wasted.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Disappointed!

    Ugh! I am trying to think of a single part of this book that I liked and I am not coming up with anything. I usually like Carla Kelly books. This was a complete waste of time and money. I wish that I could give it zero stars but it won't let me post this without a star. Don't waste your money. It's not worth it. I was wondering if it was the sexual parts that I didn't like, but it was just the whole thing. The wife could not stop wining and the husband was a complete disappointment in the end! Disgusted!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    A great "un"-romance!

    Sally Paul is a widow whose husband killed himself after being involved with a Naval scandal. She has neither a job nor money when her path crosses with Admiral Sir Charles Bright. Sir Bright wants to marry immediately to get his female relatives off his back. When he realizes the desperate state Sally is in he offers matrimony. As unlikely as the premise is, the marry actually works as the couple falls in love. I really liked this story and the way it defies the characteristics of a typical Regency romance. The hero is not handsome, not even in a battle scared way, nor is he rich. In almost all other romances all wrongs are righted. In this story, the hero and heroine do end up happily together, but a miscarriage of justice can not be rectified. Some how this all added to the story's appeal.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Story..A keeper for your library

    This was an absolutely wonderful story. I generally lean towards the young virgin/older hero type story lines and when I first read the lead characters ages I wasn't sure I would continue with the book, but I am so very glad I did. Carla Kelly has a way with building the characters, separately and together. The way she weaves their lives within the story engages you from start to finish. This was an all-nighter for me, I couldn't put it down. From beginning to end, it was a delightful read. And the end is very satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    Original and Well Written.......................................

    Original and Well Written..........................................................
    What I loved about it was  he was not a duke or an earl.  Though he was an Admiral in the navy which made him seem more macho.  She was a woman who had known real adversity but was nor bitter about it.  She had a  great heart and empathy for other people. He was over forty and she was over thirty.  They were able to talk to each other without all those he said she said moments that breed misunderstanding.  Lots of quirky characters and interesting storyline.  
     
    What cost it a star was the fact that there was way to much crying going on.  These people are English for heavens sake.  They invented the stiff upper lip.  This group could get hysterical at a Macdonalds commercial if they had had them.  Also the story ended so abruptly.  I thought the writer might have had to catch a plane.  Plus if ever a story screamed for an Epilogue it was this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    I rather enjoyed this, despite disappointment from other readers

    I rather enjoyed this, despite disappointment from other readers. I think I've read others in the series, and enjoyed them too. Despite any errors on her part, she always spins a great yarn. Stop keeping me up all night, Ms Kelly--no, don't!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    One of my favorite Carla Kelly books

    Stay with it. The payoff as she builds these characters is big ... fun minor characters and real anguish until the Admiral gets his act together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Excellent. This book is compelling in its characterization and

    Excellent.

    This book is compelling in its characterization and plot but the  love story is like watching a flower unfurl in slow motions--utterly stunning. 




    Kelly, always, writes with such finesse and historical truth while never losing sight of the utter humanity of the individual lives of the smallest of characters in her book. 




    Here we have a heroine who knows what it is to hungry, a plain hero whose soul is large and a happily ever after we can believe in.




    This is simply a stellar read. Heartbreaking and heartwarming but always clear sighted and filled with empathy. 




    I love it and hope you will as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Great book

    Loved this book. The characters wre great. You help but to fall in love with them, they are not the usaul ones. This book is a great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    you'll like the characters

    good love story with characters you can really like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3