Customer Reviews for

The Adoration of Jenna Fox

Average Rating 4
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

What makes us human? How far would you go to save your child? What is ethically and morally right and wrong? These are heavy questions that the author will make the reader ponder long after the last page has been turned.

Jenna Fox has just woken up from over a...
What makes us human? How far would you go to save your child? What is ethically and morally right and wrong? These are heavy questions that the author will make the reader ponder long after the last page has been turned.

Jenna Fox has just woken up from over a year-long coma. She doesn't remember anything, but has fragments of memory that she is slowly trying to piece together. There are people there that say they are her parents, and another woman that is her grandmother. Left with the video disks of her life, she starts to watch and ponder "Who is Jenna Fox?"

There has been an accident, but no one will talk to her about the details. As she slowly heals, Jenna questions everything and starts to fill in gaps. After a little while of recovery, she pushes to go to school and begins to attend a local charter school. There she meets an odd assortment of classmates.

Alice has medical issues of her own, and starts to explain the federal ethics board to Jenna. Each person is allotted 100 lifetime points to be used for medical reasons. Alice has prosthetic limbs and explains that limb replacement is relatively low on the point scale. Other procedures would be worth much more. Dane is a neighbor but something seems off with him. When Jenna looks in his eyes, he seems empty. And then there is Ethan. He's hiding a dark secret of his own.

As Jenna discovers the world around her, the secrets and mysteries that are her life slowly start to be revealed. Remembering what Alice has explained about the lifetime points, Jenna comes to realize that there are even deeper secrets about her that she must uncover. Her parents have moved her from Boston to California. Is it to protect her from those that were involved with the accident? Or does it have more far-reaching medical and ethical implications?

Without wanting to give away the plot twists and hidden mysteries of the story, I will tell you that the issues Ms. Pearson raises will cause you to ponder how far science should be allowed to explore. As Jenna tries to discover, the reader will also be forced to wonder how much of us do we need to keep us truly human? Ms. Pearson makes the reader question if it's truly the flesh and blood that makes us human, or if there is something further inside that gives us our identity. Comparing the
lack of emotion that Dane has with Jenna's unwavering questioning of everything, it shows the reader that things are not always black and white. The majority of us live in the gray area that is between the two extremes.

Read THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX to find out what it means to sacrifice everything for love and how to really be human.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This was recommended to me because I enjoyed The Hunger Games se

This was recommended to me because I enjoyed The Hunger Games series so much. The only thing it has in common is being futuristic and have a female protagonist.

posted by 7128716 on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    What makes us human? How far would you go to save your child? What is ethically and morally right and wrong? These are heavy questions that the author will make the reader ponder long after the last page has been turned. <BR/><BR/>Jenna Fox has just woken up from over a year-long coma. She doesn't remember anything, but has fragments of memory that she is slowly trying to piece together. There are people there that say they are her parents, and another woman that is her grandmother. Left with the video disks of her life, she starts to watch and ponder "Who is Jenna Fox?" <BR/><BR/>There has been an accident, but no one will talk to her about the details. As she slowly heals, Jenna questions everything and starts to fill in gaps. After a little while of recovery, she pushes to go to school and begins to attend a local charter school. There she meets an odd assortment of classmates. <BR/><BR/>Alice has medical issues of her own, and starts to explain the federal ethics board to Jenna. Each person is allotted 100 lifetime points to be used for medical reasons. Alice has prosthetic limbs and explains that limb replacement is relatively low on the point scale. Other procedures would be worth much more. Dane is a neighbor but something seems off with him. When Jenna looks in his eyes, he seems empty. And then there is Ethan. He's hiding a dark secret of his own. <BR/><BR/>As Jenna discovers the world around her, the secrets and mysteries that are her life slowly start to be revealed. Remembering what Alice has explained about the lifetime points, Jenna comes to realize that there are even deeper secrets about her that she must uncover. Her parents have moved her from Boston to California. Is it to protect her from those that were involved with the accident? Or does it have more far-reaching medical and ethical implications? <BR/><BR/>Without wanting to give away the plot twists and hidden mysteries of the story, I will tell you that the issues Ms. Pearson raises will cause you to ponder how far science should be allowed to explore. As Jenna tries to discover, the reader will also be forced to wonder how much of us do we need to keep us truly human? Ms. Pearson makes the reader question if it's truly the flesh and blood that makes us human, or if there is something further inside that gives us our identity. Comparing the <BR/>lack of emotion that Dane has with Jenna's unwavering questioning of everything, it shows the reader that things are not always black and white. The majority of us live in the gray area that is between the two extremes. <BR/><BR/>Read THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX to find out what it means to sacrifice everything for love and how to really be human.

    36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    The Adoration of Jenna Fox By: Mary E. Pearson

    The Adoration of Jenna Fox
    By: Mary E. Pearson

    Waking up after 18-month-long coma, 17-year-old Jenna Fox has no recollection of anything, not even her name. She feels no love for her mother and father; after all, she doesn't even remember them. Why should she love strangers? She is reminded of her past through her parents' verbal stories and home movies they provide her. Jenna doesn't feel comfortable in her body, which doesn't seem to work just right. Her hands don't intertwine together smoothly, and her classmates point out her awkward gait. Jenna wants to fit in again. She aspires to be the Jenna her parents knew and cherished. It is difficult, though, when all she can remember is bits and pieces of her life before the accident that sent her into a never-ending coma, most of which are insignificant. She wonders why she can't eat normal food, and why her grandmother no longer loves her. She wonders why she lives in California when her dad and her old house are still in Boston. She makes desperate cries in the middle of the night to anyone who will listen, "Tell me who I am" (29). With so much to take in so quickly, Jenna feels overloaded with information in an attempt to find out the answer to the most important question: Who is Jenna Fox?

    Taking place in the future, this science fiction novel explores the implications of today's medicine in the eventual future. In addition, innovative technologies advance medicine to new heights, some of which may cross the line.

    In my opinion, Mary E. Pearson did an excellent job crafting The Adoration of Jenna Fox. The chapters allow for the reader to easily follow the story, and each chapter smoothly transitions into the next. The storyline itself is one of a kind and keeps you gripped from beginning to end. The book contained no boring sections because every paragraph, every line, and every sentence was a piece of the puzzle I, as the reader, needed to figure out exactly who Jenna Fox is.

    While reading this book, expect to be surprised. You are taken along the journey with Jenna, and only find out what she finds out. This format provides for a captivating, page flipping book that grips you to the end. Whether you enjoy mystery/science fiction or simply enjoy reading, Mary E. Pearson's The Adoration of Jenna Fox is a sure winner.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    One of the best sci-fi books ever!

    The Adoration of Jenna Fox and it's sequel are two very detailed and mind-blowing books. Everyone should read these books, because they have a special way of capturing the reader's attention. These books change the way you think! (in a good way)

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    The Adoration Of Jenna Fox By: Mary E. Pearson

    The Adoration of Jenna Fox
    By: Mary E. Pearson


    There was an accident, an accident that had changed everything for Jenna Fox. In Mary E. Pearson's The Adoration of Jenna Fox, Jenna Fox grew up like any other only child. Her parents adored her and would do anything for her. Maybe even something illegal.

    In this book you get to be inside Jenna's head as she is learning to cope with the new life she has been given after her accident and how she deals with all this new information. You get to be right there with her and hear everything she hears and see everything she sees and think the way she thinks.

    After Jenna's accident her parents felt it was necessary to move Jenna from their home and life in Boston to somewhere in southern California. Jenna's mother Claire and her grandmother Lily dropped everything and moved without really telling anyone were they were going and why they were moving.

    The grandmother, Lily, in this book is very interesting but fascinating. She starts out not liking the "new" Jenna and ignoring her and not wanting to have anything to do with Jenna. But as Jenna starts to become more and more Jenna again, Lily opens up and is the one that is really there for Jenna. And Lily doesn't hold or hide anything from Jenna like others do. She tells Jenna everything like it is.

    I enjoyed The Adoration of Jenna Fox a lot. I love being inside Jenna's head; a thing that Jenna always thought about was why she has memories of things that don't seem very important memories. She would always try and piece them together. She once said "A bit for someone here. A bit there. And sometimes they don't add up to anything whole. " (231).

    As Jenna moves on from her accident, she learns more and more about what is important in life and what can just be left behind. I would really encourage anyone to read this book if you are looking for an easier book that makes you think ahead to what is going to happen next and try and figure out what else her parents are trying to hide from her, Jenna Fox.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Surprised me.

    I found myself strangely enthralled with this little story: the characters, the mystery of it all, the real feeling that seeps from every word. I really enjoyed it and highly recommend it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Makes You Think!

    Although, this is not the most in depth story it is worth reading. The idea behind the plot is extremely thought provoking. What lengths would you go to as a parent to save your child? Technology is changing the world.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    The Adoration of Jenna Fox

    How far would you go to save your child? What makes you,you? These are the things Jenna Fox has to learn...again. She wasn't supposed to survive the accident... but she did. Jenna's life turns upside-down when she wakes up from a year long coma in the so-called state of California that her parents moved her to from Boston during the coma so she can stay away from tne people that were involved. Jenna's dad isn't helping very much to here when he goes on a business trip back to Boston while Jenna is recovering with her mother, and Lily, which supposovly is her grandmother. But Jenna knows Lily, wait Grandma, doesnt like her. But mom says she is still in shock and has to recover herself, but Jenna isn't sure. When Jenna goes back to school she meets others with problems of their own. Jenna realizes that she is human, and what makes you human is whats inside of you and nothing can change that. You must read this book, it is very heart-warming story about Jenna's road to recovery. I loved it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    A Must Read

    I was thoroughly impressed with this book. As soon as I started reading it I could not put it down. This story captures the reader and brings them along on this uncertain journey with Jenna Fox. This book is captivating and something like I have never read before. Mary E. Pearson does an excellent job of explaining, in detail, every thought or feeling of the "new" Jenna Fox. As the story begins Jenna does not know who she is and can not remember anything from before the accident. As the story goes we are caught up with characters and rooting for Jenna to find out the truth of her mysterious new life. The reader will not want this book to end because of the relationship developed with Jenna. As a first time reader of Pearson, I can honestly say she has caught my attention with this thrilling and mysterious novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really, really liked this book!

    Just know this.. After finishing this book, I went out and bought two more by the same author. Interesting and intriguing read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    this book is pure genius. it keeps the reader guessing as long as jenna does. it's like the reader is on the journey with her. plus this novel brings up great philosophical questions like how far will you go to save someone? for those who like science fiction or even reluctant readers of sci-fi will enjoy this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Best book ever!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gorgeously Stunning

    The Adoration of Jenna Fox is a stunning futuristic story about a girl who went, mysteriously, into a coma for one whole year. Now, Mother (at least that what Jenna calls the women) makes her watch their home videos of what the old Jenna Fox was like... But, as Jenna learns more and more, The old Jenna Fox isn't someone she wants to be. As she makes new friends (and enemies) Jenna ventures out into the unknown. She has questions, too. Who was she? What were her likes? Dislikes? Why can't she taste? And why is there a blue goo underneath her skin?? Pearson is a smart, funny, and lovable writer... I will never forget this book! The Adoration of Jenna Fox is Gorgeously Stunning!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Good book, a must get

    Very scientific, great storyline.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Jennas Parents

    Her parents are hiding things. That is what make sthis sstory go round, trust. This book is soo worth reading. I usually dont like Science Fiction, but this book and the Giver by Lois Lowry are my exceptions. I was forced to read for school, now I am forever grateful I was forced.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Profound and thought provoking, this book had me captivated from

    Profound and thought provoking, this book had me captivated from the start. It is such a different theme then what I am used to reading. It is about a girl that wakes up from a coma and doesn't know who she is and there is some funky things going on that she has to try and figure them out. I decided to read it because I won the sequel to this book, The Fox Inheritance, in a giveaway. I don't know if I would have picked it pu if I hadn't won the sequel. I am glad I did. I was pleasently surprised at how good it was. The characters really draw you in. The were well thought out and there was enough detail put into them that you could relate to what they all were going through. Jenna and Allys(I still really don't know how to pronounce this name if anyone who read this book knows how to pronounce it please let me know in the comments) are my favorite characters. They really spoke to me in a deep way. I can kind of relate to what they both had to go through. The one thing that I didn't really like was that this book was somewhat predictable. I could guess what was going to happen before it happened. Overall this book was amazing and I would suggest it to anyone to read. The ending was really perfect and I really like how it ended. I already started the sequel and can't wait to tell you guys my thoughts on that one as well. It is really good so far.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Great read!

    Our teacher read this book to us, and I couldn't wait for her to finish it. Their is a sequal to this book that I am currently reading, called The Fox Inheritance. If you want to know what happens to all of them after 200 years, you need to read the sequal. They are both really good books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Great Book!

    I needed to read this story over the summer for school, and I really enjoyed the fast paced book. I believe this story is appropriate for ages ten to thirteen. It changed my whole outlook on what technology is doing, and I really think you should read it. My only issue is, the sentences are too short...like instead of saying "She went shopping for shoes at the mall" the author would say,"She went shopping. She needed shoes." I don't know that just annoyed me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    This was recommended to me because I enjoyed The Hunger Games se

    This was recommended to me because I enjoyed The Hunger Games series so much. The only thing it has in common is being futuristic and have a female protagonist.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Well -written and a quick read

    Well -written and a quick read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    i love scifi books but i was dissapointed towards the end :(

    this book is really good, i enjoyed reading it. the main characters is so conflicting with her surroundings. she discovers screts and lies and desperation form her family. as she tries to remember her past she is trying to build a new life as the "new jenna". but her parents want her to be the same jenna as she was before...i dont want to go to any further details but its a good book. the ending couldve been better but if u enjoys suspense and romance and tragety..buy it :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13