Customer Reviews for

Adrenaline

Average Rating 4
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

!!!

Harriet Klauser, stop ruining the books for everyone!!!

posted by 10571547 on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

this gripping thriller hooks the audience from the opening famous last words to the confrontation

In London terrorists bomb the CIA headquarters; twenty people die in the attack. British and American authorities conclude that CIA operative seven months pregnant Lucy Capra was instrumental in aiding the terrorists with the deadly explosion. Her vanishing accentuate...
In London terrorists bomb the CIA headquarters; twenty people die in the attack. British and American authorities conclude that CIA operative seven months pregnant Lucy Capra was instrumental in aiding the terrorists with the deadly explosion. Her vanishing accentuates their assertion.

CIA agents grab Lucy's husband Sam, also an operative. They assume he abetted his wife as he left the building after a call from her and just prior to the explosion; making him the lone survivor of the mass murders. His colleagues torture him to force him to reveal the truth to them. Throughout his ordeal and in spite of the contrary damning evidence starting with Lucy's warning call, Sam believes she is innocent. He escapes his captors and begins the quest to find his wife and their son who he assumes has been born since his Lucy disappeared.

Although somewhat linear, this gripping thriller hooks the audience from the opening famous last words to the confrontation. Fast-paced and loaded with action without a respite, sub-genre fans will relish joining beleaguered obsessed hero Sam on his odyssey as he learns the hard way how deep the tentacles of the enemy is.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    !!!

    Harriet Klauser, stop ruining the books for everyone!!!

    34 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Fantastic Thriller!

    Within the first five pages I could tell this was going to be a great story. I've read Mr. Abbott's books in the past and liked them. This one I loved. Sam Capra is living a normal life, at least as normal as someone working for the CIA can have. Living in London with his wife, Lucy, waiting for the birth of their child. Going to the office, searching for the bad guys, coming home at night, meeting their friends. Pretty routine. Then - BAM! It all changes in 30 seconds. I can't wait for the next in the series.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Loved this book!!!

    This was an action packed fast easy read. The characters and the story line gripped me from beginning to the end. I can't wait to read the next book to follow Sam on his next mission. I liked that the author did not bog you down with boring details of landscapes and such..just got right to the point and gave you all the visual info you needed to know.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    Exciting book!

    This book really grabbed my interest early on, in chapter one. At around the half-way point is where it gets really exciting, though! By the time I got there, I was so anxious to find out what would happen next that I found myself awake until 5:00 AM still reading! Great start on a fresh new series and I can't wait for the next installment!

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced and solidly written

    Sam Capra's life is seemingly perfect - a beautiful wife with a baby on the way, an exciting job tracking down criminals for the CIA - until it literally explodes around him one morning. A phone call from his wife, Lucy, gets him out of his London-based office building seconds before a bomb destroys it, just in time to see her driven off by a strange, scarred man. Sam and the missing Lucy are the prime suspects for the bombing and he suffers months of interrogation and torture at the hands of the CIA, refusing to confess to any involvement or even consider the idea that his wife had deceived him. He finally escapes, determined to find Lucy's kidnappers and prove his and her innocence. Hunted by the CIA, Sam dodges mounting obstacles on a trail across Europe in pursuit of the Novem Soles, a mysterious organization implicated in the bombing and kidnapping. In exchange for help from Mila, a beautiful and mysterious woman with powerful connections of her own, Sam takes a job to find a millionaire's daughter whose kidnappers may also be Lucy's. Sam infiltrates an Amsterdam criminal network to get close to the man who holds his wife and uncovers a smuggling operation for a horrifying new technology. To maintain his cover he finds himself forced to commit increasingly worse crimes, confirming his guilt and his criminal nature in the eyes of the CIA. As Sam gets closer to the millionaire's daughter, Lucy, and their new-born baby boy, he finds that he is not the only one with dubious claims to virtue, and his quest to discover the real villains among the members of a conspiracy that spans continents becomes ever more difficult. With a plot that's intricate and twisted, yet never feels contrived, in Adrenaline it's clear that Abbot is in complete control of his world. He contrasts sometimes horrific depictions of degenerate behavior with an inspiring portrayal of Sam's steadfast faith and loyalty, guided by an unshakable moral compass that transcends the law. The characters are very real, a mix of truly likeable, intriguing, or disgusting specimens of humanity, and are worldly and devious enough to transport the reader out of the mundane to an edgy, dangerous existence. Abbot's terse yet evocative descriptions, "Monday in London. Gray, bleak, the sky smeared with rain," (pg. 314) never slow down the pace but bring substance and richness to the story. And Abbot's wonderfully dry and subtle sense of humor adds to an already great novel. Quill says: Fast-paced and solidly written, Adrenaline explores the boundaries between good and evil through a gripping and finely-crafted story.

    13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    K

    Of course harriet klausner has to come along and ruin another book. Please bn, delete this obnoxious poster and her plot spoiling posts. Ppl are sick of her!!!!

    12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Great reading

    Read this if you want a book that you simply can't put down.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun action ride!

    Adrenaline by Jeff Abbott certainly has a fitting title. The book is packed with action and characters in extreme situations making insane choices to keep themselves and others alive. While part of the title comes from the main character’s hobby of parkour, which I think is ridiculous, it fits well. Sam Capra is an innocent CIA Agent framed for a heinous crime. Readers are struggling with Sam as he comes to grip with his life’s massive changes. When he starts to right the wrongs he was saddled with it’s a non-stop thrill ride. While the science involved in the “evil” weapon is a little hokey and the last twist was obvious its still a very good book and leads into many more options. Overall, a fun, fast paced action novel!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Great summer book

    Couldnt put it down...an easy, fast paced read

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    First Rate Read!

    Outsranding book, hard to put down! Long too, you get your value both in quantity and quality, highly recommended.

    Bob Nagy

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    awesome

    Rread this book in2days the ending left me wanting more sam capra

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I listened to this story as an audiobook, narrated by Kevin T. C

    I listened to this story as an audiobook, narrated by Kevin T. Collins, so my review is based on that version.

    This story starts out nice enough, with a guy and his loving wife. They seem to have a nice little life with a baby on the way. Then Sam’s building blows up. Then it is the worst day of his life…or at least that is what he thinks. His belief that things can’t get any worse is based on a false premise. The ‘company’ (it’s really like the CIA in disguise) that Sam works for doesn’t believe he is innocent of the bombing. They believe he is a traitor and they also believe that with enough torture, they can get him to confess.

    No matter how hard they try, they can’t get Sam to confess to being a traitor, so now they are convinced it was his wife who is the traitor but Sam must have known about it. They decide to let Sam out of prison. They don’t release him completely (just in case) but give him a bartending job in New York so they can use him as bait to lure the real traitor out into the open. But Sam can’t just sit around while his wife and baby are out there someplace. If the ‘company’ isn’t going to help him find them, then Sam is determined to find them himself.

    There was a lot of action in this story. The author did not bog down the story with lots of little useless bits of information. You just went from action, to action, to more action. Sam’s determination and true grit is the only thing that keeps him going… that and his ability to kick people in the head. He engages in a running style I never heard of before that involves jumping on and off walls. It seems to give him good balance and the ability to find his way out of traps and kick people in the head.

    Although most of the mystery about the ‘who is the mystery bad guy behind it all' was solved, the author did not solve every mystery in the book, leaving some for the next Sam Capra installment.

    The Narration Review
    This audiobook was narrated by Kevin T. Collins. He did a great job with all the action scenes and I could almost picture him right on the edge of his seat while narrating the action. It sounded like he was really into the story, which drew me into it even more. He also did a great job with all the different voices for all the different characters. Each person had a different voice and I was able to easily follow dialog when several people were speaking.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good book i enjoyed it.

    Overall the book was very interesting and hard to set down. There is alot of viloence and many people die. Sam capra is a cool character which has many ideas on how to escape and being friends with all sorts of people. The main question in book 1 that i always wanted to find was: did his wife betray him, and the company? Great book 400+ page book with action on every page. Enjoy a great book and relax.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Very good reading and fast paced. Reminded me of the earlier &q

    Very good reading and fast paced. Reminded me of the earlier "Harry Bosch" series by Michael Connelly books. Looking forward to the next book as well as a continuing series on "Sam Capra".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    I have not read this book as of yet so the low rating I am tired

    I have not read this book as of yet so the low rating I am tired of those reviewers who need to go into detail about the book .
    I am put off from buying a book because the story is ruined.  I would like to find out for myself it spoils the book, why can't they just
    say something like the story keeps you guessing or the characters are believable.  I do not want a book report!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Great read

    A page turner.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Love Love Love it

    The world must know about a great book !!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    A lot of fight scenes

    A good conspiracy yarn, but the sadistic focus on torture and violence detracts from the experience.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    Buy it!

    Grabs you on the first page! At the end you want more!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Don't Waste Your $$$

    Started out fine, but became so implausible it was laughable! Don't waste your time and money.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11