Customer Reviews for

Adrenaline

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

!!!

Harriet Klauser, stop ruining the books for everyone!!!

posted by 10571547 on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

this gripping thriller hooks the audience from the opening famous last words to the confrontation

In London terrorists bomb the CIA headquarters; twenty people die in the attack. British and American authorities conclude that CIA operative seven months pregnant Lucy Capra was instrumental in aiding the terrorists with the deadly explosion. Her vanishing accentuate...
In London terrorists bomb the CIA headquarters; twenty people die in the attack. British and American authorities conclude that CIA operative seven months pregnant Lucy Capra was instrumental in aiding the terrorists with the deadly explosion. Her vanishing accentuates their assertion.

CIA agents grab Lucy's husband Sam, also an operative. They assume he abetted his wife as he left the building after a call from her and just prior to the explosion; making him the lone survivor of the mass murders. His colleagues torture him to force him to reveal the truth to them. Throughout his ordeal and in spite of the contrary damning evidence starting with Lucy's warning call, Sam believes she is innocent. He escapes his captors and begins the quest to find his wife and their son who he assumes has been born since his Lucy disappeared.

Although somewhat linear, this gripping thriller hooks the audience from the opening famous last words to the confrontation. Fast-paced and loaded with action without a respite, sub-genre fans will relish joining beleaguered obsessed hero Sam on his odyssey as he learns the hard way how deep the tentacles of the enemy is.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Love it.

    I love this series. It is a bit un realistic, as some have pointed out. But it is FICTION. Most movies are hard to believe too. Hope to read a long line of Sam Capra novels. Keep them coming Jeff Abbott.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    An all-time favorite!

    A friend recommended this book. I had never read this author before. I couldn't get this one done fast enough to read the sequel, "The Last Minute! Fast paced, really loved it! Wish more of Abbott's books were available as NOOK Books!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Right up there with the best of the genre!

    Exciting, fast paced. Super characters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Good read

    Bit far out at times, but enjoyable

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Great to find a new autor!

    I was excited to find a new author that I hadn't tried before. Kept my attention until the very end!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    If you like action at a fast pace, you'll love Adrenaline

    Move over Jason Bourne! I loved this book. I have read other Jeff Abbot books, but this was his best so far.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I was hooked after 10 pages

    Great plot and lots of twists and turns. Great reda!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Omg people

    Oh and as the person who wrote that post, the book was great.
    The author who wrote this deserves to have people comment on it who actually care about it.
    Note to the author- i know what its like to have nobody appreciate your hard work and it sucks... for that, i thank you for putting in so much of Your time and efort into a great piece of work like this one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Post card

    Great book! I loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Very exciting!

    Good characters. Fast paced. Could be based on actual things going on in the world. Violence. I recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Love it

    I love the nook i have bad eyes so it helps a lot

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    The plot of this book was not believable. There is an incredibl

    The plot of this book was not believable. There is an incredible amount of violence with graphic descriptions that were very disturbing.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I couldn't put this down, Adrenaline is the perfect name, it nev

    I couldn't put this down, Adrenaline is the perfect name, it never slow down! I stayed up way to late for two nights in a row because I had to read what came next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite "Adrenaline"

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    "Adrenaline" by Jeff Abbott has great potential. The plot is a thriller. Sam Capra is a CIA agent; he and his wife Lucy are expecting a child and living in London. Sam is in the midst of delivering an intelligence report when Lucy calls begging him to meet her outside. Just as he steps out the whole building explodes killing everyone inside. Sam becomes the first suspect. He endures months of torture as the CIA seeks information from him. The CIA determines that either Sam or Lucy is a traitor or she is a traitor and managed to hide it from him. Eventually Sam is released but kept under strict surveillance. They CIA hope he will lead them to Lucy. Sam believes his wife has been kidnapped and is determined to rescue her.

    The idea behind this book has been used many times. For that reason an author must come up with a unique spin on the spy espionage plot. Abbott's spin is restrained. Parts of this book were very exciting. However, the characters lacked dimension. The writing is good. There are numerous subplots that twist and turn working in tandem. I suspect Sam Capra will appear in sequels allowing his character to fully develop over time. I was not familiar with the author Jeff Abbott but will watch for more books by him. The ending is left with an opening for a sequel. The reader’s voice was fabulous. He made this book come to life. The inflections in his voice brought about excitement and made me want to keep listening.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Extraordinary!

    This book had me on the edge of my seat. I was so into it that I felt as if I WAS the characters themselves, who were so greatly developed. The thrill and action was so extreme and entertaining, I stayed up until 5 AM reading this book until I finished. I recommend this book for everyone. It will not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Read this book if you like fast paced reading.

    This was my first Jeff Abbott book. I now will read them all. Great reading, hard to put down!! No slow spots. Will recomend to friends and do recomend to any one its a great read. I also like that there is no explicet sex sceanes and bad language every other word! Proof a book is good without trash.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    AWESOME

    I have read a couple of Jeff Abbott books and love the fact that they are page turners. I found this author accidently and will read more of him. The mystery, intrigu and interaction of the characters is wonderful. I hope these people go on forever in more of his novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Could not put it down!!!

    I have a new favorite author. If you're a fan of Jack Reacher, you will love Sam Capra. Great book. Suspenseful from the first page. Good writing. Highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Really exciting- I still can't figure out why it was only 99cents!

    I bought this book because I really like thrillers, but I had never heard of the author. Since it was 99 cents, I really had my doubts. I figured it was a short story, or else this was some new author who probably wasn't very good. I must be fairly picky, because I see a lot of reviews for books I think were mediocre but people are raving with 5 stars. I was wrong about this book! It was exciting from start to finish. I liked the characters. I am looking forward to the next one if it is a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    This is a real good read!

    Fast, riveting, a real Page Turner. This had a marvelous story line with a few unexpected twists and turns that keep you reading. Great book and now I need to get the followup book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12