Customer Reviews for

Adrenaline

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

!!!

Harriet Klauser, stop ruining the books for everyone!!!

posted by 10571547 on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

this gripping thriller hooks the audience from the opening famous last words to the confrontation

In London terrorists bomb the CIA headquarters; twenty people die in the attack. British and American authorities conclude that CIA operative seven months pregnant Lucy Capra was instrumental in aiding the terrorists with the deadly explosion. Her vanishing accentuate...
In London terrorists bomb the CIA headquarters; twenty people die in the attack. British and American authorities conclude that CIA operative seven months pregnant Lucy Capra was instrumental in aiding the terrorists with the deadly explosion. Her vanishing accentuates their assertion.

CIA agents grab Lucy's husband Sam, also an operative. They assume he abetted his wife as he left the building after a call from her and just prior to the explosion; making him the lone survivor of the mass murders. His colleagues torture him to force him to reveal the truth to them. Throughout his ordeal and in spite of the contrary damning evidence starting with Lucy's warning call, Sam believes she is innocent. He escapes his captors and begins the quest to find his wife and their son who he assumes has been born since his Lucy disappeared.

Although somewhat linear, this gripping thriller hooks the audience from the opening famous last words to the confrontation. Fast-paced and loaded with action without a respite, sub-genre fans will relish joining beleaguered obsessed hero Sam on his odyssey as he learns the hard way how deep the tentacles of the enemy is.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Fantastic Thriller!

    Within the first five pages I could tell this was going to be a great story. I've read Mr. Abbott's books in the past and liked them. This one I loved. Sam Capra is living a normal life, at least as normal as someone working for the CIA can have. Living in London with his wife, Lucy, waiting for the birth of their child. Going to the office, searching for the bad guys, coming home at night, meeting their friends. Pretty routine. Then - BAM! It all changes in 30 seconds. I can't wait for the next in the series.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Loved this book!!!

    This was an action packed fast easy read. The characters and the story line gripped me from beginning to the end. I can't wait to read the next book to follow Sam on his next mission. I liked that the author did not bog you down with boring details of landscapes and such..just got right to the point and gave you all the visual info you needed to know.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    Exciting book!

    This book really grabbed my interest early on, in chapter one. At around the half-way point is where it gets really exciting, though! By the time I got there, I was so anxious to find out what would happen next that I found myself awake until 5:00 AM still reading! Great start on a fresh new series and I can't wait for the next installment!

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Great reading

    Read this if you want a book that you simply can't put down.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced and solidly written

    Sam Capra's life is seemingly perfect - a beautiful wife with a baby on the way, an exciting job tracking down criminals for the CIA - until it literally explodes around him one morning. A phone call from his wife, Lucy, gets him out of his London-based office building seconds before a bomb destroys it, just in time to see her driven off by a strange, scarred man. Sam and the missing Lucy are the prime suspects for the bombing and he suffers months of interrogation and torture at the hands of the CIA, refusing to confess to any involvement or even consider the idea that his wife had deceived him. He finally escapes, determined to find Lucy's kidnappers and prove his and her innocence. Hunted by the CIA, Sam dodges mounting obstacles on a trail across Europe in pursuit of the Novem Soles, a mysterious organization implicated in the bombing and kidnapping. In exchange for help from Mila, a beautiful and mysterious woman with powerful connections of her own, Sam takes a job to find a millionaire's daughter whose kidnappers may also be Lucy's. Sam infiltrates an Amsterdam criminal network to get close to the man who holds his wife and uncovers a smuggling operation for a horrifying new technology. To maintain his cover he finds himself forced to commit increasingly worse crimes, confirming his guilt and his criminal nature in the eyes of the CIA. As Sam gets closer to the millionaire's daughter, Lucy, and their new-born baby boy, he finds that he is not the only one with dubious claims to virtue, and his quest to discover the real villains among the members of a conspiracy that spans continents becomes ever more difficult. With a plot that's intricate and twisted, yet never feels contrived, in Adrenaline it's clear that Abbot is in complete control of his world. He contrasts sometimes horrific depictions of degenerate behavior with an inspiring portrayal of Sam's steadfast faith and loyalty, guided by an unshakable moral compass that transcends the law. The characters are very real, a mix of truly likeable, intriguing, or disgusting specimens of humanity, and are worldly and devious enough to transport the reader out of the mundane to an edgy, dangerous existence. Abbot's terse yet evocative descriptions, "Monday in London. Gray, bleak, the sky smeared with rain," (pg. 314) never slow down the pace but bring substance and richness to the story. And Abbot's wonderfully dry and subtle sense of humor adds to an already great novel. Quill says: Fast-paced and solidly written, Adrenaline explores the boundaries between good and evil through a gripping and finely-crafted story.

    13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Great summer book

    Couldnt put it down...an easy, fast paced read

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    First Rate Read!

    Outsranding book, hard to put down! Long too, you get your value both in quantity and quality, highly recommended.

    Bob Nagy

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    awesome

    Rread this book in2days the ending left me wanting more sam capra

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good book i enjoyed it.

    Overall the book was very interesting and hard to set down. There is alot of viloence and many people die. Sam capra is a cool character which has many ideas on how to escape and being friends with all sorts of people. The main question in book 1 that i always wanted to find was: did his wife betray him, and the company? Great book 400+ page book with action on every page. Enjoy a great book and relax.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Love Love Love it

    The world must know about a great book !!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Love it.

    I love this series. It is a bit un realistic, as some have pointed out. But it is FICTION. Most movies are hard to believe too. Hope to read a long line of Sam Capra novels. Keep them coming Jeff Abbott.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    An all-time favorite!

    A friend recommended this book. I had never read this author before. I couldn't get this one done fast enough to read the sequel, "The Last Minute! Fast paced, really loved it! Wish more of Abbott's books were available as NOOK Books!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Great to find a new autor!

    I was excited to find a new author that I hadn't tried before. Kept my attention until the very end!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    If you like action at a fast pace, you'll love Adrenaline

    Move over Jason Bourne! I loved this book. I have read other Jeff Abbot books, but this was his best so far.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Omg people

    Oh and as the person who wrote that post, the book was great.
    The author who wrote this deserves to have people comment on it who actually care about it.
    Note to the author- i know what its like to have nobody appreciate your hard work and it sucks... for that, i thank you for putting in so much of Your time and efort into a great piece of work like this one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Post card

    Great book! I loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Very exciting!

    Good characters. Fast paced. Could be based on actual things going on in the world. Violence. I recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Love it

    I love the nook i have bad eyes so it helps a lot

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I couldn't put this down, Adrenaline is the perfect name, it nev

    I couldn't put this down, Adrenaline is the perfect name, it never slow down! I stayed up way to late for two nights in a row because I had to read what came next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Extraordinary!

    This book had me on the edge of my seat. I was so into it that I felt as if I WAS the characters themselves, who were so greatly developed. The thrill and action was so extreme and entertaining, I stayed up until 5 AM reading this book until I finished. I recommend this book for everyone. It will not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6