Customer Reviews for

Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great adventure book

I bought this book for my husband, who loves sailing and adventures. He is not an avid reader, but he really enjoyed this book! He had a hard time putting it down each day. He said it made him want to quit his job, build a boat, and travel.
Inside the book were mult...
I bought this book for my husband, who loves sailing and adventures. He is not an avid reader, but he really enjoyed this book! He had a hard time putting it down each day. He said it made him want to quit his job, build a boat, and travel.
Inside the book were multiple drawings, which really helped visualize the path of the author. He had a map of the seas he traveled, and there were random drawings throughout that added interest.
Although the book might feel a little long at first (256 pages), it is a quick read and goes by fast because it's so interesting. Highly recommended!

posted by 196878 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Legolas

40% is still a good percentage. Lower then we want but at least is not 10%.

posted by 17395236 on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fascinating read!

    Steve Callahan's account of being lost at sea for 76 days was absolutely fascinating. Because he kept a journal during the event, he is able to recall each day with amazing detail as well as supplying sketches he made of some of his innovations and of the boat and the fish. You get to see his ups and downs, his state of mind, what sparked new innovations, etc. His survival is truly amazing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Excellent read

    I read this book several years ago when it was first published. I thought I would read it again after hopefully matured a bit. It was just as good as the first time I read it. It's an example of what the human spirit can do when put to the test.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Great book!

    Awesome adventure and I love his perspective on life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Must read! An unbelievable tale of survivable!

    I enjoyed this true story of such hardship and such amazing struggles and ingenuity .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Excellant

    Enjoyed the book. Worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    My goodness, 76 days out to sea. Steven Callahan would not have

    My goodness, 76 days out to sea. Steven Callahan would not have made it had he not been so ingenious. He gives great details on everything he rigged to stay alive. Great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Paul B.

    Unbelievable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Incredible Story: Adrift The famous Steve Callahan was lost at s

    Incredible Story: Adrift
    The famous Steve Callahan was lost at sea for 76 days after his sailboat was destroyed in a storm. As no one knew where he was, his only chance of survival was to stay alive in his safety raft with only a few supplies until he reached shipping lanes or land. Adrift, written by Steve Callahan himself, is the retelling of his grueling experience and extreme will to survive.
    A major theme portrayed throughout this book was perseverance. There were countless times when Callahan could have given up all hope when it came to getting food and water and keeping his raft repaired; however, he was very determined to perfect these survival skills. It was amazing how he found solutions to almost every problem that he encountered in the raft. Callahan also displayed the power of an optimistic attitude. Whether it be lack of food and water or a shark attacking the raft, Callahan learned to look at the positive aspects of his situation, instead of focusing on the endless negative events that occurred. Being able to keep this optimistic outlook is what kept him focused, determined, and in the end alive. The power of his positive mindset is an example to all people.
    I was very impressed with how Callahan used a surplus of imagery, as it made me feel like I could experience everything that he was. I was able to see, feel, hear, and taste the ocean through his descriptions. I also enjoyed how he wrote about all the thoughts going through his mind, because it helped me understand what his thought process was all throughout his journey, making it very credible and realistic. I disliked the amount of detail he went into when describing killing fish. It was disgusting to read, and occurred numerous times.
    I would recommend this book to someone because I believe it is an incredible story. It is amazing to experience the 76 days on the raft with Steve Callahan. As the entire story involves one character on the ocean, it is a very easy read; however, it is still attention grabbing and very well written. I would give it 4 out of 5 stars. Another book with similar themes that I gave this rating and would suggest is Sarah Gruen’s Water for Elephants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2005

    Great Survivor Story

    This is a well written story of a man's ability to survive on an inflatable raft for 76 days. Written in the first person the author/survivor describes as only he can the depth of his pain as well as the spiritual awakening he experiences. Everytime he describes his small tins of fresh water he made me want to go get a drink myself. His survival skllls, luck, ingenuity, resoursefulness, and his overwhelming desire to live kept him alive where most other people would have surely perished. This is a remarkable story told in a captivating way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1