Customer Reviews for

The Adventures and the Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Sterling Unabridged Classics Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    best for thrilling

    best for anyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    I loved this book!!!!

    This book was great!!! I don't love mystery that much but this book was wonderful. What great mysteries!!!! If you want a good book to read read this one!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    this book is a good book!

    this book is a classic and it's a mystery book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    JOHNLOCK IS CANNON

    Yes it is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Great Book

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    The book that I read was The Hound of Baskervilles by Sir Arthur

    The book that I read was The Hound of Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This book is about a hound that terrorizes the moor in Coombe Tracey, London. The hound apparently killed the most famous man in England, Sir Charles Baskerville. Now that Sherlock and Watson have to go on another investigation, they have to be smart, swift and witty to catch this hound. It first starts out at a crime scene where Charles Baskerville is dead. Then Dr. Mortimer comes in to examine the body. Then they notice bite marks and dog prints the size of cantaloupes. This is the basis of the mystery in this story.
    One of the main strengths of this book is the unique point of view through which this story is narrated. Because even though that Sherlock Holmes is the main character of the story, his sidekick Watson is the narrator. Since he is the narrator and a personal friend of Holmes, he can see what Sherlock sees and what he speaks his mind about, too. Watson is very peculiar about Sherlock and what decisions he makes, which is usually a bad idea, but sometimes, his choices work out perfectly in the end. When watson describes how he moves and how his attitude is at all times, really brings out and helps you understand why Sherlock has his motive to do what he is ordered to do. This strength of this book gives a mysterious feeling that gives great description on what you have read. This is the book that Doyle fans would go crazy for.
    One weakness of the book. Except, for only one scene in this book, is that there was one part in this book that didn’t really provide a well suited setting that readers could imagine what was going on. Other than that, the book was fantastic. In the setting, he only said it was a beautiful coffee shop. And that was it. So then they start to talk about how they could catch the hound. Then at the time, Stapleton was an ally, so he decided to sit with them and talk as well.
    Personally I think this is simply one of the best books that I have read in my life. The storyline was perfect for expert readers, and the setting was so detailed, it felt like I was actually in the story itself. So overall, an outstanding book. The author would even have one part of the story to just be about the architecture of the building. The author describes the way others talk, how the hound should sound like, and even how the trees leaves on the ground rustling. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, by far the best author in history.
    This book would be perfect for Sherlock Holmes fans and many others who like to read about this era. The book is well fitted and very well written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, who is, well, to me, one of the greatest writers in history because of his storylines and his sophisticated way of writing. For the fans of Doyle, if you haven’t read this book yet, I would right away because I assure you, this book will blow your mind. If you like mystery books, action, and fiction, this book has all of them combined into one book. Mystery is probably the main part of the story but action. This book is just packed with action. The fights, shootouts, and even, killing the hound, that was by far the best part, in action sense. So to you Doyle fans, read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1