Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Captain Underpants

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Funny Book

This book is fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn...
This book is fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This Book Was awesome

Captain Underpants is so cool. He is a man that did not have any brains. The best thing was when he went out in his Under pants it was so funny. But I dont want to tell you the rest.

posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    This book is a awsome story.

    I would recomend this story to people. This book is about two kids that get a ring and the play with it. They make their pricipal turn into a superhero. He is a fake one. This superhero fights crime and protects the town from all evil villans. This book will make you feel better inside because it is funny, fiction, and a good book. Younger kids should read this when they get 6-10.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    This book is great for children from 4 - 13

    This book is funny and it has Action, Thrills and Laffs

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    making my son a reader

    My 6 y.o. son loves Captain Underpants. We snuggle up and read it together, and he giggles hysterically. I'm glad to see him enjoying reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    GREAT GOOFY SERIES

    THE BOOK ARRIVED RIGHT ON TIME AND IN GREAT CONDITION.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Ragin' Rockin' Book

    My son really enjoyed this book. It was one of the first books that got him interested in reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious

    I picked this book up on a whim in my ever expanding quest to teach my autistic 10 year old son to read for pleasure. He's always been a fan of the David books by David Shannon and despite connecting with those real well it is time to move toward something more his grade (and reading) level. The set up of a superhero and two friends who get into loads of trouble piqued my interest. I shelled out for the super special collector's edition because it came with a cd that has bonus features, like a mini game and a music video. I thought spreading the book across multiple medias would help engage him (not to mention he loves playing on the computer).

    And I completely scored on this one. From chapter one my kids loved this book. (And the book itself, not the cd!) Harold and George's adventures are mischievous and outrageous enough to not just get the kids reading, but rereading on their own and telling other people about it. When we finished they begged to go out and get the second one, which definitely pleased this book-loving mom.

    In this first adventure kids can meet Harold and George, best friends who are also major tricksters. Harold and George often go way too far in their pranks (in fact, ruining everyone else's fun is a reoccurring theme and not shown in a positive light). But when really serious problems begin (like Dr. Diaper sending his evil robots to take over the world) Harold and George manage to do the right thing, proving they aren't bad boys, they just get carried away.

    There are a ton of illustrations on every page and the super hero himself, Captain Underpants is so corny and over the top that it's hard not to love him. This book is a great option for middle grade readers,somewhere between Dr. Seuss but not ready to read chapter books on their own, or for tough to engage readers. I think can appeal to boys and girls and should absolutely be a part of public or school collections aimed at children. Teachers looking for a read on the fun side, with short, punchy chapters will find these books have a lot to offer too. And of course, parents might not like Harold and George's naughty natures, or the crudeness of some of the parts, but the moral of the story and getting kids reading trumps all.

    Recommended for: 7-12 years olds

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    The Best!

    I really injoined this book becuase it was funny . and THE charaters were really funny and almost real. I think that because in all cartoons every body hates there princabal. I really injoed when geogh mipmotised his princabal and made him do funny and weard things . then he made him captin under pants.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2001

    A creative work of art!

    I must say after my first reading, I was a little less than thrilled about this book. However, after changing my adult perspective to one of the age range for which this book was written, I have a different opinion. I think that George and Harold's fascination with creativity could inspire readers to tap into their creative side and also teach children to use their idle time more effectively. I also enjoyed the parallel between Dr. Diapers and the character Dr. Evil in the popular Austin Powers movies. The only major thing worth mentioning in regards to what the book may be lacking is the absence of parental figures.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    It's a good start, for a GOOD BOOK!

    DAV. I have to admit, I love a lot of your books. But I, uh....have to admit, this has a S-t-U-p-I-d story-line, well...anyways it's funny!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2002

    This book was very cool

    This book was very cool because I like whan Hrard throws that little fake dodo and Dr.Driaper said I need to go to the bath room it made me laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2002

    Adventures of Captain Underpants

    The Adventures of Captain Underpants is a book to read. It's a book about two boys misguided adventures about their comic book hero. This is one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2001

    TRA LA LAAAA!!

    Tra-la-laaaa! It's Captain Underpants to save the day. In the imaginative and very humorous childrens book The Adventures of Captain Underpants, author Dav Pilkey treats readers to the zany adventures of George and Harold. The two boys break up the monotony of fourth grade by pulling pranks on their fellow schoolmates and tormenting their Principal. The boys also make a nice profit selling their homemade comic book, Captain Underpants, on the playground. This further fuels Principal Krupp's hatred for the duo. After catching George and Harold on video performing their most heinous prank yet, Principal Krupp blackmails the two into doing all of his chores. Not only are they forced to wash Krupp's car, but they also nust give up making Captain Underground comics! After some serious scheming the lads order a hypnosis ring to mesmerize their Principal and enchant him into giving over the video. The hypnotism goes well, but soon the children are in to deep. Principal Krupp takes on the alter-ego of Captain Underpants and runs amok in the town wearing only his drawers. Major action ensues, and the boys have a comic book-like adventure. This book is humorous and I feel many children will enjoy it's animated ending. The two may have deactivated Captain Underpants for now, but for how long?!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1