Customer Reviews for

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn - 1st Edition

Average Rating 4
( 426 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Classic

The audiobook assisted with the understanding of the dialects of the characters, similar to a play but with the images in your mind.

posted by Raccoon on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Pass for a Better Version

The story is a classic but this e-version was not the worst nor the best. There are funny breaks and odd fonts randomly placed through the story. It is worth looking for a better e-version.

posted by AnnFerguson1 on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Incredible book

    Even though I'm sure a lot of people hear this is a classic and think it's just some old book, I have to say I love The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. The characters are incredible. The dialogue is often hilarious and tragic. It's just an all-around incredible novel.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Great Work

    Twain initially conceived of the work as a sequel to The Adventures of Tom Sawyer that would follow Huck Finn through adulthood. Beginning with a few pages he had removed from the earlier novel, Twain began work on a manuscript he originally titled Huckleberry Finn's Autobiography. Twain worked on the manuscript off and on for the next several years, ultimately abandoning his original plan of following Huck's development into adulthood. He appeared to have lost interest in the manuscript while it was in progress, and set it aside for several years. After making a trip down the Mississippi, Twain returned to his work on the novel. Upon completion, the novel's title closely paralleled its predecessor's: Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Tom Sawyer's Comrade).
    Unlike The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Twain's Adventures of Huckleberry Finn does not have the definite article "the" as a part of its proper title. Essayist and critic Spencer Neve states that this absence represents the "never fulfilled anticipations" of Huck's adventures-while Tom's adventures were completed (at least at the time) by the end of his novel, Huck's narrative ends with his stated intention to head West

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Excellent novel!

    This classic story is a marvelous example of Mark Twain's writing skills and of his prominence as a writer. This story is hilarious and heartwarming, and is sure to enchant anyone who reads it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Wwonderful book

    I loved reading this book from front to back it is on of the greaatest books ive ever read ndd ull love it too

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 1999

    A great book, perhaps misunderstood

    Ok guys, this book is actually really good. It is filled with delightful humor and perspective into what life use to be like. I highly recomend it to anyone, though some individuals may need a dictionary, the syntax is awesome. I understand that Huckleberry Finn might have somewhat of a bad reputation but i think its just misunderstood.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Lolz

    Lolz

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good book good book good book

    Good book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    Whoever gives this a terrible rating needs their head examined!

    I can't type much, seein' as how I've got to be off finishing my report on Twain, but would like to say just a few things first. One! this is an excellent book and is written in an excellent style. Twain uses the language of the time, and that really gives life to the story. As a story itself it is extreemly exciting and is worth your time! Two! the people who said this book is boring really do need to get their head examined. This is not just a story about some kids trying to be bandits in a club, or some kid and his nigger floating down the mississippi on a raft. This book was written by Twain to deal with the moral and racial issues of the time. Much of which (especially in the moral bit) still applies today, which makes it one of the most highly regarded American Novels of all time. I could ramble on about much more but really I must finish my bit on Huck Finn and then start on my bit for Connecticut Yankee

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Briana

    Scarlet, your not on my team anymore.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Please NOTE: the reviews here are Not reviews of the audiobook n

    Please NOTE: the reviews here are Not reviews of the audiobook narrated by Richard Henzel. N they're reviews of the print version. Barnes & Noble just putt all of the reviews,on here. Duh. Your, Richard Henzel

    Check out audible if you want to see reviews of my Brooks's. Thanks. Richard henzel

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Northernstar

    Todayi call starclan down opoun us to witness the making of a warrior! Spottedpaw, your warrior name shall be Spottedfeather! Congradulations!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    AMoofmoofmoof probuction

    Kool i know right

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was the best book i read and most interestion one. It was a very good attention grabber.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    huck finn

    this book is awesome must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    it freaking sucks

    thebaurthor is so dumb

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    awesome

    best book ever!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    Excellent Book with Extensive Additional Materials

    Highly recommended

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    American Classic - THE Great American Novel

    This was just as fresh as I remember reading more than 20 years ago. A true American classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fine book, but...

    What is this doing in the SF/F section?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    Good Book

    5 stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12