Customer Reviews for

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn: A Norton Critical Edition

Average Rating 4
( 426 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Classic

The audiobook assisted with the understanding of the dialects of the characters, similar to a play but with the images in your mind.

posted by Raccoon on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Pass for a Better Version

The story is a classic but this e-version was not the worst nor the best. There are funny breaks and odd fonts randomly placed through the story. It is worth looking for a better e-version.

posted by AnnFerguson1 on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A very good book

    I like this book very much. It does get a little boring in the middle, but the ending is my favorite! It's worth reading.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Classic

    The audiobook assisted with the understanding of the dialects of the characters, similar to a play but with the images in your mind.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great Book!

    A very favorited classic.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Good book but hard to read

    I love the story but when they talk it is kinda hard to umderstand because they talk with a southern acent. If you can get past that it is a good book for 10-12 yo.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    :(

    4got 2 save spot

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    difufjjv

    i have not read it but im relaited to the guy who wrote it

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    An Interesting, Yet Good Book!

    I enjoy the books by Mark Twain, generally, but this book was a little different. I'm not saying i didn't like it, but it was different. The story was great but, at times i got a little bit confused because the author kept rambling on and on and on about semi-irrelevant things. I recommend it but it wasn't my favorite. Also, the part where Tom Sawyer comes in is a little boring and it seems to drag a bit. It is a good book to read for a book report or something like that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    One Reader's Response to Huck Finn

    Overall, I found this book to be great. Twain's characters were lively and energetic. His use of the southern dialect in Huck's narrative and in the dialog between characters added a certain depth to the novel. It made the characters seem more realistic because the story was set in Missouri along the Mississippi River, and for them to have been speaking proper English would have been hard to swallow. Twain's characters were interestingly crafted as well. Huck and Jim were both amusingly superstitious, the King and the Duke were brilliant and stupid at the same time, and the contrast between the Widow Douglas and her sister on their views on Christianity was very striking indeed. The only negative thing that I found in the book was the use of derogatory names for the slaves. Of course, these names are expected to appear in the novel due to its setting in time. Other than that, the book was great. It was full of adventure, cultural color, and vivid imagery. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    It weren't to bad!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The book was a very southern style book.I have to say Iactually did like the book pretty good.It was a very adventourous book with Huck and Jim headed north up the Mississippi River. The story gave a pretty great picture of the way the south is and that might be my favorite part about the book. It also reminded me of the kinds of books my elementary school teachers would read to my class.It is aanother good adventure book that needs to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2001

    Be taken away on an adventure while reading this book

    Very good book - quick reading as the scenery, adventures and characters change often. Moral issues also presented. A boy who is not afraid to overcome the poor circumstances that he is born into.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2001

    book is cool

    really, really, really good book or something. almost as good as poncho's frito's war of love or something.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    ITS VERY GOOD

    i think its funny how twain writes in this book, because u get the atmosphere of how a ten year old thinks. I LOVED THE BOOK HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    AWESOME I HAVE READ IT 6TIMES

    An AMAZING book! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    a "stunning" read

    This book is very good as you might see there are like 675 results for Huck Finn an of all of them this is the one to get.

    Samuel Clemens or better known as "Mark Twain" is a very good writer bcuz he really lets you know everything about the charecters and will have you laughing in No TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GDT THIS BOOK


    Thank you

    BookWorm24601

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Sparrow

    **Pouts and flounders off."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great classic!!

    A great book to read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Classic book

    Good classic book. Worth keeping in your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Rylee

    Off to france!!!! Love u guys!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Life on the river

    It's interesting to read this book 150 years after the Civil War and the Emancipation. I really enjoyed this story of friendship and adventure. Twain does a great job of writing in the vernacular also lots of superstition, which I found interesting. This book chronicles Huck & Jim's life on the river, living on a raft for several months. Huck finds out what it means to be a real friend. Tom Sawyer also shows up, and hilarities ensue. The best part is the last 80 or so pages. Very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Good Read

    I liked this book it, Huck faced alot of conflicts but he got through them. I would recommend it to anyone that likes adventures.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4