Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Classic Starts Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Cool

    Read it now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    amazing

    its was a great book. fantastic sequal to tom sawyer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Luve to read

    I remember reading this amazing story with my dad. We realy enjoyed it. I hope that whomever is reading this will read it. To see how interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly simplified

    This abridgment of the classic novel is written at a third grade reading level (which buyers need to know and which is not stated in the description). Because of the highly devolved nature of the plot, many plot points are eliminated. The plot points that remain seldom retain the original flavor, theme or message, and resemble the original in only the broadest manner. This is not an accurate accommodation for those students who are assigned the book in school (probably 9th to 10th grades) but who need lower levels of complexity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Review for Huckleberry Finn The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn,

    Review for Huckleberry Finn

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, By Mark Twain, was a simple and yet lyrical portrayal of pre-Civil War America. It starts out with a boy- an adventurous, quick-thinking, kind-hearted boy, who possess eyes that can see through the facades of many dishonest, un-virtuous, and incompetent adults around him. He finds himself floating down the grand Mississippi, a young boy making a living in a world of adults. He has many adventures and escapades- the first one leading straight into the next. He manages to escape flee these scrapes by using his razor-sharp wit and talent to lie convincingly.

    While, at first glance, this book is seemingly plotless and pointless, a reader will find many surprising lessons to be learned throought the book. Many times, Huck will be a sole witness to a crook’s wrongdoings and crimes. Even though he fears responsibility, he does his best to expose the crooks for what they really are, sometimes putting his own life on the line to do so. He learns that even though he seeks a life of freedom without consequences, he must own up and accept the penalties for his actions. He begins to understand that if consequences are not accepted, people’s lives can be ruined.


    Admittedly, I did find parts of this book to be disturbing, and even slightly offensive. He portrayed most of his characters as simple-minded, blundering cowardly, and easily fooled. It said more about the writer than the people he was writing about, I think. I sort of got the impression that Mark Twain felt quite cynical towards people in general. When I looked it up, I discovered that towards the end of his life, Mark Twain did become cynical and critical of the human race, due to unfortunate personal loss and financial failure. It was interesting and disturbing at the same time to see how this pessimistic point of view showed through his writing in his novel.


    This book, I would say, is a good read for many Americans. It captures the heart of the American Dream- the desire for freedom without fear of consequence. Even though the writer’s negative feelings towards people showed through in places, it was fun to read the sort of scrapes Huck found himself in, and the bright, original way in which he escaped these sticky messes. In my mind, I sort of viewed Huck as a representation of your average “American Joe”- He’s bright, inventive, and, most importantly, he longs for a life of freedom. I would also like to recommended The Adventures Of Tom Sawyer to anyone who enjoyed this book. It was- in my opinion- much more entertaining, and it did not show the same pessimistic point of view as Huckleberry Finn. however, negative point of view or not, I would definitely give this book 4 stars out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    what i think of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn The story bas

    what i think of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
    The story basically follows the adventures of young Huckleberry Finn and a runaway slave named Jim. Huck is trying to escape has drunken and abusive father, while Jim is trying to escape slavery. Jim is trying to escape being sold down the river, or else he would be separated from his family. There is a moral to this book as Huck slowly learns to love Jim as a friend and not think of the color of his skin. Earlier in the novel Huck is worried about helping a runaway slave and is not sure what he should do. Huck being raised in Missouri, he has been taught that helping a slave run away is one of the worst sins imaginable and that blacks are pretty much worthless except as slaves and property. It takes a while for the truth to come to Huck but he finds that he is determined to help his friend get his freedom, no matter what. Huck ends up risking his own life to do just that. He not only saves Jim, but his own soul too. I didn’t like how the book was very challenging for me to read because of the grammar structure but, it makes the story a lot better and is a pure joy to read and I suggest you read. Just let the story flow and enjoy each word. The dialects used may slow you down a bit at first but they add so much to the meaning to the book. This is a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You should read this!

    Eight to twelve year old boys and girls will enjoy reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. It is very suspenseful when Huck tricks his pap that he is dead. The book is very adventurous when Tom and Jim explore the lake. The story was exciting when Tom and Huck went on an adventure together to save Jim. If you like this book you will also like The Adventures Tom Sawyer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A mark twain DISCOVORY

    Amazing! Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2