Customer Reviews for

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 668 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(277)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great book and story.

I purchased this book for my daughter because her school has banned this book along with several others from both the public and private school systems here in the good 'ol US of A.
Many of my daughters teachers repeatably asked me to not purchase this book because thi...
I purchased this book for my daughter because her school has banned this book along with several others from both the public and private school systems here in the good 'ol US of A.
Many of my daughters teachers repeatably asked me to not purchase this book because this book represents free thought and wasn't politically correct.
ARE YOU KIDDING ME? IT'S MARK TWAIN...
Yeah the good 'ol suppression is alive and well here in America... :(

posted by mopheen on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

To: about n word

Um....ya you shouldn't tell people how to spell if you can't even spell yourself! And 'swar', well if that's supposed to be "swear", well you spelled that wrong, too. And 'witch' is "which"! And it's "quiet", not 'quit'. Plus in the way that you used "quiet", you should...
Um....ya you shouldn't tell people how to spell if you can't even spell yourself! And 'swar', well if that's supposed to be "swear", well you spelled that wrong, too. And 'witch' is "which"! And it's "quiet", not 'quit'. Plus in the way that you used "quiet", you should have used "silent" instead. So get better in spelling!

posted by 10901475 on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    wow

    I have never read such a supremely borish book. The intellectual level was high and rather impressing, but the way it was written in general, with no specific plot line and poor grammar, I couldn't make it past chapter 5. I am fully aware that the grammar is poor on purpose because that is the way most people spoke in those times- but I was not there and therefore I was unable to comprehend anything at the pace I normally work at. This would be an excellent book for anyone who has the uncanny ability to read in such a way as to understand what the characters are saying. Though I do give credit to Twain on his outlook on society. It was a good book, (I know I have previously stated I didn't read past chapter 5- it's true, I listened to it on tape after that) but extremely difficult for me to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Poorly thought out

    To be blunt, I wouldn't recommend this book. Though it is supposedly considered one of the greatest American novels of all time, I cannot help but disagree. There are many weak points in the plot, as well as entire chapters where the author simply forgets his writing objective and writes without any clear plan or goal in mind. While I was required to read this for a class, I doubt I would have enjoyed this book any more if I had read it on my own.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    in response to ipseityy

    Yes i am a junior in high school as well and this was one of my summer reading books. But my i just say, that yes, while the book is offensive to the black race, at the time when it was written, stuff was said like that all the time, so it wasn't offensive at all unless you were a black rights activist. I'm not saying that i agree with what Twain writes in this book... i don't agree with it at all... i just want to point out that this was nothing out of the normal from the time period that it came from. I would also like to say that how is this book supposed to hold my attention if it couldn't even hold the attention of the man who wrote it! I read the foor notes, and at a lot of points in the book twain just stopped writing and then would pick it up again like 5 years later. I have to admit i was excited to read the book because i was happy to finally be reading american literature (last year we read all european depressing novels) but i was very disappointed. I felt that it didn't have a plot until the last few chapters...and it really didn't hold my attention at all. Yes it is a classic....it's just not for me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    Never Again

    The first half of the book admittingly, I wanted to shrivel up of boredom. There was hardly any dialogue, and if, and when there finally was, it was hard to interpret. Towards the end it got better, yet I would not want to relive my reading experience with this book ever again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    I hated it!

    I really didn't like The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Yea, it was a good story, but it was written with such poor english and foul language, that I could hardly concentrate whenever I read it. It took me forever to read because I would have to read a paragraph three times before I would understand what the author was trying to say! I would not recommend this book to anyone. The only reason I finished it was because it was required f

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3