BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 687 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great book and story.

I purchased this book for my daughter because her school has banned this book along with several others from both the public and private school systems here in the good 'ol US of A.
Many of my daughters teachers repeatably asked me to not purchase this book because thi...
I purchased this book for my daughter because her school has banned this book along with several others from both the public and private school systems here in the good 'ol US of A.
Many of my daughters teachers repeatably asked me to not purchase this book because this book represents free thought and wasn't politically correct.
ARE YOU KIDDING ME? IT'S MARK TWAIN...
Yeah the good 'ol suppression is alive and well here in America... :(

posted by mopheen on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

To: about n word

Um....ya you shouldn't tell people how to spell if you can't even spell yourself! And 'swar', well if that's supposed to be "swear", well you spelled that wrong, too. And 'witch' is "which"! And it's "quiet", not 'quit'. Plus in the way that you used "quiet", you should...
Um....ya you shouldn't tell people how to spell if you can't even spell yourself! And 'swar', well if that's supposed to be "swear", well you spelled that wrong, too. And 'witch' is "which"! And it's "quiet", not 'quit'. Plus in the way that you used "quiet", you should have used "silent" instead. So get better in spelling!

posted by 10901475 on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Good but confusing.

    It was a good about a adventure but was a little confusing . That was because i was probaly not quite old enough to read it and understand. I think tom sawyer is better for kids and early teens.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    PEANUT BUTTER JELLY TIME!!!!

    Its PEANUT BUTTER JELLY TIME! PEANUT BUTTER JELLY TIME!!!!!!!!!!! WOOP!WOOP!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Rosencrantz's workshop/base

    A small bunker built into a cliff, with a secret entrance on the ground level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Vm .hvobmB

    Ah tutuyucbagvkgyib.gqy . Muyqbah
    oy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Review of The Aeventures of Huckleberry Finn

    This book, like The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, gives a more unique perspective on life back then. This book is a good book, if you want to closely examineit. I have gained more knowledge from this book then I have with others. I believe that every school should incorperate it into their readings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Free

    This book used to be free. What happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    The Wild Mississippi river

    In college we discussed the idea that the Mississippi represented the normal life, whereas the shore represented the craziness of civilization. Of course as Huck journeys through adolescents he tries to conform to the civilized life that everyone expects of him, but he constantly seeks the refuge of the river in order to put everything back into perspective.
    After spending many years out of college trying to make my way through the craziness of civilized life (job, family, bills, etc...) I find myself yearning for the opportunity to retreat to the Wild Mississippi river in order to figure out this crazy existence known as life. But that option is no longer available. I need to stay on shore and figure it out from here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    said the n word

    don't wanna talk about it

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A story of a boy whos life is not like everybody else around him. Hard times at school and at home which leds him to the trouble he gets in daily . Lying to his peers and getting in trouble is the way he deals with his troubled life as a boy.

    This book is a tough book to read, but it's worth it. It's filled with mind blowing problems people might have to grow up faster. It shows you how life was in the past, how it is now and much life changed. The boy in the story might have problems but all you have to do is deal with them and move on. It's based near the Mississippi River where slavery was aloud. Life might change in a blink of an eye if you don't life it the way you want it even if your trying to find who you really are.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Not what I had in mind

    I bought this book thinking it would be a fun read. I was mistaking. It was kind of a slow read. I couldn't get caught up in the story at all.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    DECENT

    This book was decent. It was boring at parts and great at parts I would recommend it, but it was not great.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    Does it deserve to be known as a classic?

    As a young adult, I would not recommend this book. I was assigned to read it as a summer project and I simply did not care for it. Some of it, in fact, was rather offending. For one, the countless times Mark Twain makes fun of the black race is just disgusting. It seems one of the main ideas in the book is that the black race is unintelligent and good for nothing besides caring for the white people. It really bothered me how much he put them down on almost every single page. That is why some parts of America are still fighting racism, because young children and adults are being showered with old ideas that we are trying to get rid of today. Despite the constant racial comments in the book, it all depends on its reader how the information is taken. Yes, they are constantly using the N word and putting down the black race, but if the novel is read well, it is evident that Jim was no fool. He had incredible common sense more than most of the white people named in the book. Yes, he was unnecessarily superstitious, but he always knew how to take care of himself, and he was constantly looking out for Huck Finn. He may not have been the most intelligent character in the book, but he sure was loyal to his friends, and that right there makes a man smart in my opinion. Besides the racial controversy, the book itself is not terrible. It is quite hard to understand in some parts because of the accents that the different characters use, but for the most part, it teaches that a person gets what is coming to them. Several times in the story it tells of crooks and thieves that lie to get what they want and you think they're going to get away with it, but at the very end of the book, they get what they deserve. Overall, I would not recommend this book to the younger, more impressionable youth, but to mature young adults that can read this novel and learn the life lessons that it teaches.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6