Customer Reviews for

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 687 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great book and story.

I purchased this book for my daughter because her school has banned this book along with several others from both the public and private school systems here in the good 'ol US of A.
Many of my daughters teachers repeatably asked me to not purchase this book because thi...
I purchased this book for my daughter because her school has banned this book along with several others from both the public and private school systems here in the good 'ol US of A.
Many of my daughters teachers repeatably asked me to not purchase this book because this book represents free thought and wasn't politically correct.
ARE YOU KIDDING ME? IT'S MARK TWAIN...
Yeah the good 'ol suppression is alive and well here in America... :(

posted by mopheen on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not happy

Did not recieve tge whole book after buy only the frist chapter after paying $3.99 not very happy

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Timeless Classic

    This rigorous adventure of the sequel of yet another classic, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, tells the tale of a young boy, Huckleberry Finn (Huck), who seeks an adventure of his own. The adventures of Huck and his companion, Jim - a slave of Huck's widowed guardian, take place alongside the Mississippi River in the Deep South. Previous to when the adventures begins, Huck had lived with a widowed woman who owned Jim (the slave); however, soon after the novel starts, Huck gets kidnapped by his brutal, abusive, alcoholic father and is taken to a shed-like, abandoned cabin. His Pap keeps a close eye on Huck and locks him in, fearing that he would escape or be taken from him. By one day faking his own murder, Huck quickly escapes, and on his way out finds Jim who has also succeeded at running away; they both take off! Living and traveling on a raft, the mismatched yet extremely compatible pair take on the fun-filled, exaggerated adventures, creating a satirical impression of the bizarre culture of the Deep South. Their adventures include coming across a circus, a shipwreck, a funeral, frauds, and more all the while sticking together and becoming the best of friends. The growth of their friendship is one of the most amazing and significant of the things in the novel that withstands the terrible remarks and actions of continued slavery and profound racism that exist. A recurring theme and symbol is that of the Mississippi River, which symbolizes the freedom of the individual (or in this case the inseparable dynamic duo) on which Huck and Jim travel on through their childish pranks, adventures, and nostalgic incidences that they repeatedly encounter. The strong southern twang and diction that Mark Twain heavily incorporates into the novel through the dialect between characters and through the thoughts of Huck himself is remarkable and extraordinarily unique. There was nothing in this novel that seemed out of place or that proved to result in distaste. This timeless classic is one that everyone should read due to the rich symbolism and culture that the reader experiences with Huck and Jim. Overall, a cleverly put together and humorous read that will leave the reader satisfied.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a story of a boy's comming of age. Mark Twain leads you on a grand journy down the Mississippi River, past slave hunters, and fueding families. You will want to finish this book.

    This book is a guide to growing up. Filled with life lessons, and ethical quandries, Mark Twain weaves a story that is repeated throught mythology and legand. A boy grows to find that the way he was raised may be incorrect. You will be impressed by the complexity of this seemingly simple book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Zackery Eades

    Zackery Eades
    The book The adventures of Huckleberry Fin, by Mark Twain is one of the most symbolic books I have ever read. Huck escapes down the river from a horribly abusive father and bad life. Huck finds Jim, a runaway slave, and tells him to leave the island and go down stream with him because people are coming for him. The two travel down stream at night and sleep during the day because there afraid someone would take Jim away if they saw him just because he is black. They encounter many side adventures on there way: getting separated, family feuds, fake dolphins and dukes, and scams. The main event is how Jim gets captured and how Huck throughout the adventure overcomes what he has been taught his entire life, which blacks are not people and are lower than him, and breaks him out of slavery. The book has so many symbols, but one of the main ones is that the river represents freedom and safety but it is ironic that it is taken Jim deeper into slave territory.
    I loved this book and enjoyed reading it. It is full of excitement and adventure and it has many life lessons that could be learned. Some that I learned is revenge is a horrible thing to get deep into; with the Grangerfords who where good people but got rapped up in revenge and grudges and all end up dead. I love how Huck as a character changes his views completely and grows up and draws his own conclusions on slavery and acts out on it. The book did not leave the reader hanging at the end which I really like because I do not want to be made to read another book to find out the ending, and it makes me lose interest. The symbolism in this book I find absolutely amazing.
    Two books I recommend if you like this book is The adventures of Tom Sawyer, Mark Twain and Moby Dick, by Herman Melvilles.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn was a great book. I kn

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn was a great book. I knew that this book was by Mark Twain so I thought it was going to be a little hard but it was not. It did have some hard parts but overall it was not a hard book to read. This book is a sequel to Tom Sawyer. This book is about a young boy living in the age before the Civil War happened. Huckleberry lives with a woman named the Widow and he also has a drunk for a father. One of his closest friends is Tom Sawyer. One day His father steals him and takes him to an area where no one can find them. Because his father drinks and hits him, Huckleberry runs away from his father. On the run Huckleberry meets a slave named Jim also on the run. Over all this book was very good and I enjoyed it. One thing I liked about the book was that it was not that hard to read but at the same time I think that some parts should have been easier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Huck and "N" word Jim

    This captivating story about a uneducated boy named Huck takes you on a thrilling roller-coaster ride through souther Missouri. Mark Twain did a phenominal job. He really expressed the ignorance of Southern people when it comes to slavery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    this is a great book for anyone wanting to look for an adventure story. well worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    Great book

    For starters this is a great book and I would recommend it to anyone who likes adventure. Now that that¿s out of the way, this book is set just before the civil war era, in Missouri and on the Mississippi river. Mark twain uses a great dialect and vocabulary in this book, it really brings you back to the time the book was wrote, and paints a vivid image of what the scene would look like if it were a movie. Although the vocabulary is very good I would get an audio tape of this book unless you are very good at pronunciation, because some of the speech is southern and not always spelled right to give you a feel for how the characters are supposed to talk. There is very much racist language so if your offended by that, this book maybe not the perfect book for you, there is a lot of use of the ¿N¿ word, which can scare off some people. Mark Twain does a brilliant job of depicting what it must have been like in those times. This book could almost be used for a middle school U.S. history class because of its historical accuracy about New Orleans, slaves traveling to the north in hope of freedom, and the education system and how many people viewed it. This book does have some softhearted spots as well, as the friend ship between Huck and Jim develops. As the story progresses you start to see more and more of Tom Sawyer influence Huck, how he creates these outrageous stories and tricks people and he even mentions many times that is what tom would have done, which I find strange because through out the whole book tom is involved very seldomly. To bring this review to an end, if words scare you probably not the best book choice, but if you like to read, love adventure, or just looking for something to read because you have to for school this is an all around great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    The Adventures of Huckleberry finn by Mark Twain

    The book "Adventures of Hucklebery Finn" is a very intersting and suspenceful book with many toching sences. This book is about Huckleberry Finn, a poor boy with a drinking father that has no job, and his friend Tom Sawyer, a middle-class boy with a crazy magination that found a robber's stash of gold. As a result of his adventure Huck got a part of that. Huck also became adopted by Widow Douglas. I like this book because it shows how much Huck was trying to put in effort in his life. He changes by his manners and how now he goes to school and church. But Tom is off to no good that leads into trouble. This book is very good and I hope the next reader injoys it as much as i did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Hucklberry finn

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain is about a young boy who is in search for freedom and adventure the book is based by Mississippi river . Huck is kidnapped by his drunken father he kidnaps his son because he wants six thousand dollars from him. Huck received six thousands dollars from the treasure that him and Tom Sawyer found. Huck finally get away from the deserted house in the middle of nowhere and gets a canoe to get off the river. Instead of going back to the town he runs away he is tired of the people and laws of the town. He meets a guy named Jim Ms. Watsons slave and they spend many days together traveling down the river. Both in the search for freedom. While Huck and Jim travel down the river they have many adventures and have many long talks they become best friends. They stole a lot of things from the house and find a wrecked ship and get mixed up in murders. They get separated after a steam boat hits their canoe. Huck has a run in with the Grangerfords and the Shepherdsons two families at war with each other. They they meet the king and duke and get in a good deal of trouble performing plays the king and the duke pretend to be Peter Wilks long lost brothers from England and try to steal all the money left in his will. Huck finally gets rid of them but is left to search for Jim who gets sold by the King. He ends up at Tom Sawyer's Aunt Sally's house, where Tom and Huck rescue Jim. Through all of the adventures down the river, Huck learns a variety of life lessons and improves as a person. He develops a ethics and truly feels for humanity. The difficulty of his character is enhanced by his ability to relate so easily with nature and the river

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    Great book

    Even though it is quite difficult to understand because of the accents of the characters,this is a great book.It has been criticized because of its presumed racism,however I think this was only caused because of poor understanding of the book since the smartest character in the book is black(Jim)and racism isn't actually about racism or slavery.This book features five major themes:Loneliness,superstition,birth and rebirth,religious hipocresy and freedom.We can see that Huck Finn is a great person in a really messed up society we can see that when Huck goes 'Ok i'll go to hell'when he decides to help Jim escape from the Phelps plantation.Overall,great story,that shows us the very racist society of Twain's days and the way human beings can be evil to one another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    This is a good book

    I like the book The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. There is lots of adventure, lots of action, and the book always keeps you guessing. Huck is always on some kind of adventure and on all of his adventures there is lots of action. Also the book always keeps you guessing so it makes it hard to put down. I think that the book The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is a great read for someone who likes adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Good book

    If you like Mark Twains writing style you will enjoy this book. The book is quite short, so it is a good book for siting in your favorite chair and forget your troubles after work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    Great read

    This book is a wonderful read. The language may prove difficult for some, but the lessons to be learned are timeless. I've re-read it a couple of times, and always enjoy it. Definitely a classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    Review of Huck leberry Finn

    Huckleberry Finn is a classic piece of American literature that should be mandatory reading for all young people. It is a must read for anyone that lives in a free society and is entering the teenage phase of life -where young people begin to make choices of right and wrong, good vs. evil and maturity over irresponsibility. Although the text used is somewhat dated, imagine how pop culture lingo will be viewed (or even understood) 10 years from now. The themes, characters, villains and heroes of Huckleberry Finn stand the test of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain, is a story t

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain, is a story that follows the endeavors of Huckleberry Finn in Missouri. Many of his adventures are performed with his companion, Tom Sawyer. These ventures range from starting a band of thieves with his Tom and his friends, to helping a slave in his search for freedom.
    This book portrays the times of slavery perfectly. Twain includes many instances of crude spelling, grammar, and slurs. He uses these to represent the southern accents and even the illiteracy of many people back in that time. One example is seen right in the beginning of the book. Huck and Tom sneak away through the woods and are almost caught by Jim, a slave. Huck trips over a root and hits the ground with a thud, which wakes Jim from his doze. As Jim gets up, he says:
    "Say, who is you? Whar is you? Dog my cats ef I didn' hear sumf'n..." -Jim pg. 8
    Later in the book, Huck finds himself running away after being kidnapped by his father. While escaping, Huck runs into Jim. Huck and Jim become quick friends as they search for freedom. Along the way they come into quite a bit of trouble. The two steal from a house they find, perform plays, and get separated several times. Throughout all of these adventures Jim becomes more of a father-like figure to Huck.
    Though I found this book hard to get into at first, I eventually got hooked. Twain uses just the right amounts of amusement, drama, and anticipation. He sends out a great message to the audience. I would definitely recommend this book to any reader hungry for a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    This book was a fantastic book if you want to study on satirical

    This book was a fantastic book if you want to study on satirical literature. when it comes to mark twain, he is the grand daddy of satirical books. If you like adventurous books then the adventures of huckleberry finn is a book for you. mark twain has been attacked for being racist and has a bad reputation for readers, but i recommend reading this fantastic novel of a boy and a runaway slave named jim, sailing down the mississippi river in search for cairo.
    a short review about huckleberry finn in search for cairo the free slave states to free a runaway slave named jim that he is sailing with. on the ways he struggles with the fact that helping Jim might send him to hell, but in the ironic way is the right way. reading this book is a great book i loved it and hopefully so will you!   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    ¿The Adventures of Huckleberry Fin¿ by Mark Twain. The books ma

    “The Adventures of Huckleberry Fin” by Mark Twain. The books major conflicts were the conflicts of Huck and Jim run into on there journey to freedom. Huck was a young boy running a way from his abusive father pap, and Jim was a runaway slave running from his owner Miss. Watson The setting of there journey was on the Mississippi river . On the journey Huck and Jim become close, which is abnormal to happen it the time frame of the book. An important part in when Huck notices that Jim is a real person and has feeling of his own. What I think the most important about this story is how a young boy Huck attitude and views of Jim a slave changes thought out the book. At first Huck see Jim as an object then later begins to see him as a human and a friend. The author’s message to the readers is not to treat others bad just because it’s what every one else in doing. Also the theme is that every one should be treated equally. I would recommend this book because it is a way to learn about the history or that time without reading a regular history book or biography. I would recommend it to high school student who are mature enough to handle the text, and appreciate it. Also it’s a mature book because of the hash vocabulary. I wouldn’t recommend to elementary student because they wouldn’t understand the story line of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Huck Finn

    I read Tom Sawyer in the summer of 6 th grade and finished Huck Finn a couple of weeks ago. It wasn' t as good as Tom Sawyer but was still pretty good. It was way better than a Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. It was sort of easy for me to read but to understand the book you have to be able to read and get the dialogue. I would reccomend it to anybody who liked Tom Sawyer or Mark Twain books. Anybody from 5th to about 9th grade would probably enjoy it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nice Copy of a Classic

    This book had already been banned in most schools across the country by the time I was old enough to read it. I've always been curious about it who hasn't heard of it after all? If your a fan of classics in literature you would probably enjoy it. It's not the best book from the era I ever read but still a welcome edition to my library at any rate.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    awesome book

    This was an awesome book. I would of never read it if it wasn't for my English teacher. I'm gald I read it because it a truly a great classic!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8