Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing, Classic, Funny. Why was it ever banned?

Huckleberry Finn was once said to be the source of all american literarture. Earnest Hemingway said that and was right. Huck Finn and his friend Jim, a slave, have some amazing and amusing journeys as they travel down the Mississippi River. Recommended for anyone lookin...
Huckleberry Finn was once said to be the source of all american literarture. Earnest Hemingway said that and was right. Huck Finn and his friend Jim, a slave, have some amazing and amusing journeys as they travel down the Mississippi River. Recommended for anyone looking for a laugh and a life lesson.

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

okay

I think this book was good, but at some parts it was kind of boring. The way it is narrated by Huck is perfect, because that's the way people talked at that time. When Jim talked, it was strange, because some words were written wrong and that mixed up what he was saying...
I think this book was good, but at some parts it was kind of boring. The way it is narrated by Huck is perfect, because that's the way people talked at that time. When Jim talked, it was strange, because some words were written wrong and that mixed up what he was saying.

posted by Anonymous on November 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    okay

    I think this book was good, but at some parts it was kind of boring. The way it is narrated by Huck is perfect, because that's the way people talked at that time. When Jim talked, it was strange, because some words were written wrong and that mixed up what he was saying.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Huckleberry Finn By Mark Twain

    3 Stars

    Huckleberry Finn By Mark Twain <br />
    <br />
    3 Stars <br />
    <br />
    This is the sequel to Mark Twain's The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. It starts out were it left off. Huck is kidnapped by his dad who wants his money. His dad is a horrible person and a drunk. Huck meets an escaping slave Jim along the way and they set off in search of the freedom they are both looking for. This of course leads to many amusing adventures. They get into all sorts of things and meet up with a lot of questionable characters on the Mississippi river. Jim gets caught and is being held as a runaway slave. Huck decides that he must go save him even if it means he will go to hell. Arriving at the plantation where Jim is being kept leads to a whole new adventure and the arrival of help to pull off stealing Jim back and setting him free for good.<br />
    <br />
    This is one of those books that I wish I had read when I was young and was reading adventures like Call of The Wild and the like. I know I would have loved it then. That is the only reason for the 3 stars. It was a good read and amusing but I didn't relate with it as much at this time. The imagination that is involved in these stories is wonderful. I had to laugh at the reasons things were accomplished the way they were so that they would be done right and moral in keeping with stories of great adventurers. Because who could possibly want to do anything the simple way. It did make me long for the days when using that imagination made for the best times ever.<br />

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is about the adventure of a young man traviling down the mississippi river after running away from his abusive father. He meet meny people in his travils and learns alot about life. This book have fowl language and is intended for mature readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Huck Finn, not the greatest adventure.

    This great book is about a young boy that is very crazy, his name is Huckleberry Finn. He isn¿t like most kids today because he really likes the outdoors. He doesn¿t like to be inside the house, and he¿d rather go out hiking in the woods than sitting in the house and watching TV. He has a very cruel dad that never allows him to leave the house, and takes all of Huck¿s money. One day he ends up running away from his dad¿s house, and goes on a very long adventure. He finds many people. Some end up being his friend, and others are just there for their own convenience and lie about everything. He ends up having to go back to his old lifestyle and is somewhat happy that he got a life lasting adventure! This book is very fun for people that have the patience to go through and read every word carefully, because you get confused very easily. It has a great accent, but sometimes it¿s just a little too much. I didn¿t really think that the author Mark Twain had much of a message to this story, except for one that wasn¿t really a message but it¿s as close as I can get, and that is to go for what you want, and don¿t let anybody hold you back! And that¿s also what I learned about this book! But the greatest thing in this book is that he never gives up, and really fights for what he wants! He always goes for what he believes in, and doesn¿t care for anyone else!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Huckleberry Finn, ummm not as good as Tom Sawyer

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn Huckleberry Finn isn¿t really the best book I have ever read , but it is interesting in an adventurous sort of way. Huckleberry Finn is a young boy who is best friends with Tom Sawyer. Huck and Tom are quite rascally little boys. They create a gang, steal, sneak around, and do many other adventurous things. Huck doesn¿t really have a home. His dad is an alcoholic and he steals Huck¿s money. Also he won¿t let Huck go to school. Huck lives with a very clean, uptight family for a while and then gets tired of wearing all the tight nice clothes so he runs away. He ends up in a big problem where he has to be very brave, but he figures everything out and goes back to his old lifestyle. Huck is happy living with the pigs and running around all day with Tom. I think that there are many things that you can learn about people by reading this, but also if you¿re not up for reading parts over and over then don¿t read Huckleberry Finn. Many parts of the book you may not understand because of the dialogue that Mark Twain uses. Mark Twain also wrote The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. In my opinion Tom Sawyer is a better example of Mark Twain¿s abilities as an author. This book is more for the older reader as well. Some of the language may be inappropriate for younger people too, but it is just how they talked back then. Huckleberry Finn was okay, but not the best book I have ever read. If you want a good read then you should go for Tom Sawyer. Huckleberry Finn is more entertaining if you have nothing to do. ¿Well there is nothing more to write about Huck and his adventures¿ - Huck

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    NOT THAT SERIOUS

    This book is definitely nothing special.Everyone makes a big deal about this book but it is average. There are many other books that are wayyyyyy better!!!!if you dont read this book...life goes own..your not missing anything. Save your time and read a better book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    great novel, except for the third act

    everyone who uses the hemingway quote should finish it, where old ernest said you have to quit reading when tom sawyer comes back into the story, because the rest is cheating. 100 pages! the story reaches its natrual, moral, artistic and thematic climax, and the only thing left is for huck to free jim and light out for the Territory--and what does twain do? He drags tom sawyer back into the story, and everything falls apart. and that's the great american novel? no. parts of it are beautiful and the best, like hemingway said, but the ending, twain's overuse of the theme of death and rebrith, and many other artistic faults, which we don't have time to get into, make it a manuscript about twenty drafts and two years from completion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    this book was OK it wasnt the best but it was OK. it got me confused befause theu like to discribe alot of things and they say realy bbad swares and are veyr mean to each other. they say stuff abuot boys and girls body parts touching and nasty stuff like that . if u are a perfert u would read this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    3.5

    This book starts out really really great, but ever since the king & the duke show up, everything goes downhill from there. However the whole part where Huck has to get Jim from away from tom's aunt & uncle was very good & brought the story up some. The whole Duke & King part was not needed at all. Other than that it was good, & Mark Twain was a good writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1