Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Had to keep reading!

We had to read this book in English class for Junior year. I enjoyed it alot! It is amazing! The improper grammer is hard to follow at times, especially Jim but otherwise most people in our Class LOVE IT!!!! great reading!

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

okay

I think this book was good, but at some parts it was kind of boring. The way it is narrated by Huck is perfect, because that's the way people talked at that time. When Jim talked, it was strange, because some words were written wrong and that mixed up what he was saying...
I think this book was good, but at some parts it was kind of boring. The way it is narrated by Huck is perfect, because that's the way people talked at that time. When Jim talked, it was strange, because some words were written wrong and that mixed up what he was saying.

posted by Anonymous on November 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    Had to keep reading!

    We had to read this book in English class for Junior year. I enjoyed it alot! It is amazing! The improper grammer is hard to follow at times, especially Jim but otherwise most people in our Class LOVE IT!!!! great reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is a sequel of sorts.  First

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is a sequel of sorts.  First came The Adventures of Tom Sawyer which Huckleberry Finn was a character in just as Tom Sawyer was in this one.  In this adventure Huckleberry runs away from his alcoholic father and along the way runs into a slave Jim, who is trying to gain his freedom.   As they stop in towns along the river they always seem to run into trouble.




    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn was more enjoyable to read on my own then it was to read for school.   Huck definitely has a original imagination to get them through all the hijinks they go through.




    I felt that by the Tom Sawyer showed up the book could and probably should have ended.  Many of the people in the town were pretty gullible to believe Huck, Tom and other characters like the Duke or King. 




    An Interesting read. Not sure I understand why it is a classic except that is by Mark Twain.  I could see the authors humor throughout the book, which he was known for. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Suprisingly Good Read

    I never thought I would actually enjoy reading this book but was pleasantly surprised. Twain intertwined good humor with meaningful themes making for a book that made you not only laugh at all the ingenious plotlines but also think about the cruelties of our so-called "sivilized" world. You truly fall in love with these characters. I recommend this book to anyone searching for an adventure, comedy, or heartwarming and meaningful book. An honestly wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    The South in their terms

    Mark Twain is pure genius in this novel of a mere slave wanting freedom and a poor boy wanting to live on his own terms. The book stars Huckleberry Finn and Tom Sawyer. As Jim wants to get back to his family both he and Huck go on multiple adventures both exciting and dangerous. Some of which include false identities and immodest plays.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    A Very Intersting Classic Novel!

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain is a very interesting classic novel. The novel¿s main character, Huck Finn, runs away from home and finds a runaway slave called Jim. Huck and Jim become friends and decide to run away together. They have many adventures and see the different types of people in America. They come across some obstacles but they overcome them together. Most importantly, they learn new things and have some fun. I really enjoyed reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn because it showed the unanimity between two people from different racial backgrounds. The characters were realistic and each had an interesting personality. The book had some sentences and phrases that were difficult to understand at first but I was able to understand their meanings after rereading them. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is one of the best books I have ever read (and that¿s a lot of books). I would recommend it to anybody who likes classics. This book can also be read by anyone who likes mischief and adventure because this book contains a lot of those and more. If you read it, hope you¿ll enjoy it as much as I did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Freedom and Friendship

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is nothing short of a great classic. Mark Twain¿s novel proves to be a novel full of adventure, maturity, and growth. Through Huck¿s journey down the Mississippi River, the author illustrates that often times, a person can¿t see the essence of someone until he or she gets close enough to share lives with that person. Huckleberry Finn, the main character and protagonist in the story, sets of on a journey to escape not only the wrath of his drunken and abusive father but also the clutches of American civilization. Huck is a paradigm of someone who has an awakening during his journey down the Mississippi River. Throughout the entire novel he continues to change and mold into a better person. For example, Huck says, ¿It made me feel so mean I could almost kissed his foot to get him to take it back. It was fifteen minutes before I could work myself up to go and humble myself to a nigger, but I done it, and I warn¿t ever sorry for it afterward, neither¿ (Twain 90). Huck no longer sees the Jim as only a slave, but he sees him as a real friend and more importantly a true friend. In fact, Jim is the major reason for Huck maturity. Several times throughout the book Huck contemplates turning Jim in for running away however, he decides not to because he has built a special friendship with him. Twain uses metaphors to describe the river that proves to an important element in the novel. For example, he writes that one part of the river had ¿a cut bank with smoky ghosts of big trees on it¿ (Twain 86). The Mississippi River symbolizes Huck¿s journey from repressed civilization to a new life of freedom. When he begins his journey, he is only a young boy who is dependent on what others think. After he, musters up enough courage to leave his father and embarks on his travels, Huck grows not physically but mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. He becomes more mature and much more independent. Through Twain¿s inclusion of the people and adventures Huck encounters, the reader is able to see the process of Huck¿s growth. Huck¿s continued struggle for freedom and more distance from civilization can be seen when he says ¿But I reckon I got to light out for the territory ahead of the rest, because Aunt Sally she¿s going to adopt me and sivilize me, and I can¿t stand it. I been there before¿ (Twain 283). Another thing that made this novel great was Twain¿s use of irony. Throughout the whole novel everyone thinks that Huck is dead however, we, as readers know that he is not dead, but he actually faked his death and staged the crime scene. Another example of Twain¿s use of irony is the fact that Huck and Jim are traveling down the Mississippi River and deeper into slave territory when they are trying to gain Jim his freedom. I enjoyed this book very much, and I hope you will too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Huck Finn is a masterpiece

    Wolfgang doesn't know what he is talking about.Huck Finn is clearly a great novel.It shows truth and life lessons.The reason why its so hard to understand because Twain wrote the way Jim talked.It showed the way a uneducated slave probably would have spoke.It has good morals and lessons.Its not racist either.Its truth!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Huckleberry Finn

    I think this book was good, but at some parts it was kind of boring. The way it is narrated by Huck is perfect, because that's the way people talked at that time. When Jim talked, it was strange, because some words were written wrong and that mixed up what he was saying. I think this is a good book that everyone should read if you have enough time, and is willing to take their time in understanding the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Very good, but not great

    An enjoyable read, though not as good as Tome Sawyer. A very good story, but it could be a little more excting in some spots. I still reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    A good old Book Written by some dead fuy.

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is considered one of the finest works of 19th American Literature. Written by Samuel Clemens, a popular American writer otherwise known as Mark Twain, in 1888, it was a tale about the various adventures Huckleberry Finn had. Huckleberry Finn, one of the major characters in another Mark Twain novel called The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, is an interesting character in that he more or less a clever free spirit, and Mark wastes nothing to give character development, which I find the novel is good at. In fact, the story overall is extremely well done, and it feels like being in the backwater Midwest in the 1800¿s. However, this is also one of the weak points. When you read it, it isn¿t in English, it is in American, slang and all. While this greatly aids in the storytelling, it can sometimes be confusing, and at some points I reached the point where I had to use a Slang - English Dictionary. Now, another thing that I didn¿t like was throughout the book it had many different emotions, but almost everywhere it is laced with cynicism against everything that was wrong back then. It had people betraying people from beginning to end, and even in the humorous portions it still bore signs of a cynic. However, Mark Twain IS to blame for this. At the time he was becoming more and more pessimistic about life, and it shows in the book. While this doesn¿t harm the overall story, I have an innate hatred for cynicism, and thus I couldn¿t help but feel a little peeved while reading it. The weakest part of the entire book, though, is the ending. You will understand once you read it. Compared to the rest of the book, it is a complete disappointment presentation-wise, and shows of a rushed ending. I guess Mark Twain was beginning to lose pride in his work and just wanted to end it. Other than these flaws, it is an excellent story, and with the exception of the ending has a perfect presentation, when you read this it places you right next to Jim and Huck. From the very beginning to the last paragraph you are always wondering what will happen, how that is like today and how it is good that it isn¿t around now. To sum it up, it is a great book, with a well-done story, superb presentation, and puts you back in time when steamboats were king. Though sometimes a little rocky and has an outline for an ending, the advantages weigh out these, making this classic a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2003

    Huck Finn

    Huck Finn was a very interesting book and it was also full of adventures. I kept me wanting to keep reading on and on after each chapter. There is so much excitement throughout the book and I would definatly recommend it to anyone and everyone. Also for parents who are trying to find a good book for their younger kids, Huck Finn would definatly be the choice I would recommend. I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1