BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Average Rating 3.5
( 688 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(318)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(109)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I love Watson!

This book consists of several bite-sized nuggets of mystery, each of the tales being 20-25 pps long. Holmes usually has the answer to the case before he hears the end of the story, and Watson always tries to be as perceptive as Holmes, but fails. However, we need Watson...
This book consists of several bite-sized nuggets of mystery, each of the tales being 20-25 pps long. Holmes usually has the answer to the case before he hears the end of the story, and Watson always tries to be as perceptive as Holmes, but fails. However, we need Watson because he is the narrator! I can't decide which was scarier: The Speckled Band or The Engineer's Thumb. Gripping! I am glad to have finally discovered Watson and Holmes!

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

61 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Needs editing

This book was obviously scanned from a book and then posted here. Many characters were not translated correctly and thus it is very difficult to read. I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend downloading this book even though it is free unless you e6j0...
This book was obviously scanned from a book and then posted here. Many characters were not translated correctly and thus it is very difficult to read. I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend downloading this book even though it is free unless you e6j0y rea6ing teXt in th15 fo4ma+.

posted by AZ_ReaderLR on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 690 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Is that ben?

    On the cover. Cumberbatch?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    The Dark One*2* Moonpaw

    Moonpaw looked uneasily at her brothers. They had done everything they could to stop their dark sister, but she had still managed to become an apprentice! To Smallstar no less! This was very bad. Very very bad. "You will gaurd the camp alone tonight," droned Smallstar. And with that the clan departed. Moonpaw ran to Lilytail and asked,"how could you let Deadkit be an apprentice!" <br>
    "Oh," said Lilytail dreamily," she seems to have... changed..." Sunpaw and Starpaw turned from where they where hushidly having a conversation, and padded over to Moonpaw. "What are we going to do," hissed Starpaw," I think you apprentices should be getting some sleep," interjected Lilytail. The three siblings fell asleep slowly, one by one. <p>
    Moonpaw was awoken by a scuffling, a scuffling out of camp it sounded like. She cuffed Sunpaw and Starpaw in the head. "I think Deadkit-paw is leaving camp, I'm going to follow her," she said hushed. "Mm-k," said Sunpaw, but Starpaw sat up. "I'll stand gaurd while you find her," he said dutifully. "Thanks," said Moonpaw greatfully. She stalked out of camp after Deadpaw, until she got to a cave. There, dhe hesitated. Eventually she followed Deadpaw in. She sat hidden in the doorway, but she didn't see Deadpaw. Deadpaw jumped at Moonpaw from behind, and pushed her into the pit. Moonpaw screamed and Deadpaw laughed. "Did I do well," she asked. "Very," boomed a voice. Moonpaw cowered. That was the voice of her father! <p>

    *Ok, a few things. A my name is Whirlwind, B if you want me to continue I need three good comments on all of my stories,(Chapter one, prolouge, this chapter. ) C character aplicationas will be on the prolouge* <p>

    - Whirlwind

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    #15

    !!!I LOVE STAR TREK!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Sherlock

    I grew up on the Sherlock Holmes stores when I was a child. Reading these stories takes me back to the good old days. :) Have fun reading!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Wondering about Sherlock Holmes!

    I have always been wondering what Sherlock Holmes is like, and here's my chance!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Awsome book !!!!!!!!

    Love sherlock homes you should read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Anyone here watch star trek

    If so have you watched data immitate sherlock holmes? Then captian picard told himt o get rid of the damned pipe! ( someone was crancy)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Book Girl

    Write on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Great book.

    Great book by author Arthur Conan Doyle! Great book for children and adults alike! Wonder full and fast read. This is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Rowena R Reviews

    I have almost no words for how wonderful this book is. Even though there are some errors, it's great for those who want to be detectives. All you young detectives-to-be, read this book and follow in Holmes' footsteps to acheive your goals of being a smart detective like him! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great read, minor grammatical errors and typos

    I love the story of sherlock holmes, so it is fun to finally read the book. I also enjoy visualizing sherlock and watson as the sherlock and watson from the movies and the bbc tv show. The typos are annoying but i can deal with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    I like it

    There seem to be some gramatical errors but i have always enjoyyed shwrlock holms so this was fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    looks good

    Even though there is 3 million dislikes i am still gettimg it beacause sherlock holmes isn't just a story it is a mystery
    ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Best Ever

    This is wonderful book¿!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Good book

    It a good book to get if you like sherlock and the movies.
    *****************************************************************************

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    To Ferret Whistler

    The stories of Sherlock Holmes are awesome, but this copy i aweful. There are so many spelling and grammat errors it is not even worth it. :/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    All time great

    Sherlock is timeless

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Terrible!!

    This book os justterrible!! Do not get!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    good but not perfect

    a great way to enjoy sherlock holmes, save for a few spelling errors this book is noteworthy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    A Perfect Little Companion

    This review details the Barnes and Noble Collector's Edition hardcover pocket size version of 'The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes' as the reviewer assumes you are already familiar with the content of the book. The book itself is well made, though the print is a bit small and the pages have a tendancy to stick together. The real beauty of these $5.35 volumes is their pocket size. The print can be a bit hard on the eyes, as it is tiny as mentioned, but for the road there is little that can be substituted. As an avid Holmes fan, I've got the two Barnes and Noble hardbacks with the collected stories as well as several other volumes, such as a hardback that replicates the original run in The Strand. The problem with all of these books? None of them are very convenient to take with me. When I got my hands on this little guy though I stripped the jacket right off and stuck it in my pocket. I know that jacket's going to get beat up, even though the design is attractive. Now I've got some decent short stories with me wherever I go. I keep it in my laptop bag and have it with me during downtime between classes to keep me entertained. These books, the Sherlock Holmes volume as well as the others in the series are not good choices if you are looking to suppliment your own personal library, or to tackle a text for the first time. Their small size means little in the way of space for taking notes, and if you're just sitting at home, they can be a bit clumsy. But if you've already read the work in question, they make great little guides. Included is an afterward talking about the text, mildly interesting, as well as a short bio on the author and a short list of books that might interest you if you enjoyed the reading. These are nice touches, but not necessary for a book of this size which is, after all, meant to be portable. I'd recommend the short story volumes myself, they have some of Poe's work anthologized, though with a ribbon to mark your place any of the volumes will make a good companion, be it on bus rides, in between (and hopefully not during!) class, or on trips. Of course, classic works only are part of the series but hopefully you've got a taste. Now I'm just waiting for some portable Theodore Dreiser. Anyway, while this review can not speak for the content of all the books (I give the Sherlock Holmes stories a firm 5 stars however), I can safely say that the convenience and style of these sturdy portable books rates an easy four stars, with only some minor faults holding them back from being brilliant. If not this volume, then look at the other titles available, if classics interest you at all, there is sure to be something you like. And if you love Sherlock Holmes, then definately check out the little volume that includes Hound of the Baskervilles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 690 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 35