Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Average Rating 3.5
( 656 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(105)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I love Watson!

This book consists of several bite-sized nuggets of mystery, each of the tales being 20-25 pps long. Holmes usually has the answer to the case before he hears the end of the story, and Watson always tries to be as perceptive as Holmes, but fails. However, we need Watson...
This book consists of several bite-sized nuggets of mystery, each of the tales being 20-25 pps long. Holmes usually has the answer to the case before he hears the end of the story, and Watson always tries to be as perceptive as Holmes, but fails. However, we need Watson because he is the narrator! I can't decide which was scarier: The Speckled Band or The Engineer's Thumb. Gripping! I am glad to have finally discovered Watson and Holmes!

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

59 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Needs editing

This book was obviously scanned from a book and then posted here. Many characters were not translated correctly and thus it is very difficult to read. I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend downloading this book even though it is free unless you e6j0...
This book was obviously scanned from a book and then posted here. Many characters were not translated correctly and thus it is very difficult to read. I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend downloading this book even though it is free unless you e6j0y rea6ing teXt in th15 fo4ma+.

posted by AZ_ReaderLR on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Needs editing

    This book was obviously scanned from a book and then posted here. Many characters were not translated correctly and thus it is very difficult to read. I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend downloading this book even though it is free unless you e6j0y rea6ing teXt in th15 fo4ma+.

    59 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Disgusting.

    This book is simply unreadable. There is no attempt at typographical consistency or formatting. I am tempted to ask Customer Service how to delete this piece of garbage, and I regret that I cannot give this ebook zero stars. It is a download only diehard Holmes fans without any money to spare should even consider purchasing.

    31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Poor Quality

    Great book, but the copy quality was so poor it wasn't possible to read.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Hard to understand

    The pages are all mixed up and hard to understand about the book that way if you want to read then buy one for better quality DO NOT GET THE FREE ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poor quality

    THis book is almost impossible to read. Lots of mistakes when it was scanned in.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Beware the freebies!

    Many, MANY of the free copies of public domain books available on the Nook are disappointingly unreadable. They either start in the middle of the novel, are written only half in English, or have rampant symbols and punctuation in the middle of words, or all three. The fact that there are anywhere from 3 to 15 copies or more of these free books just makes it harder to wade through the multiple copies to find one that may be readable. Having heard better reviews from Kindle readers, I have to sadly say I am starting to regret my decision to go with the Nook. I would feel a whole lot better about my purchase if I thought any of these problems were being addressed.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    It's too hard to read past the typos Very hard too read past the typos

    Because of all the typos in this scan of the book, it is very hard to read it.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Bad edition

    While these stories are classics, find another edition to read. This one is very badly scanned, and most words are unrecognizable.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No read

    I can't read this book. I thaught a free book would be good, but I was wrong. All the chapters are called: Hosted By Google.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Terrible scan

    Impossible to read, full of gibberish.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Post your e-mail and name

    V

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    AWSOME!!!!!!

    WRITE MORE!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    This is definitely a fake. It cannot be read. I had the impressi

    This is definitely a fake. It cannot be read. I had the impression of reading a document that contains some translated text. I am not recommeding this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    STOOOOOP!!!!! DONT BUY THIS BOOK!!!!

    The quality of the book is so baaaaaad. Youre in the middle of reading and then you see 8<••nl*. Like what the crap! I couldnt even get to the first mystery because it was so bad. If i could rate this book a zero i would.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    Is it good or bad.i just dont understand.some say great read while others say its terrible and now they see why it was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    HORRIBLE!

    This is a horrible version of this book! Why is this even on the Nook store? It has a whole lot of mispelled words and is thus impossible to reas! Woukd rate it 0 stars if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Heyy

    Is it that bad!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Bad translation

    I did not like how the translation had 9ui1 @ 7ew 0f 14ese.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Whyyyyyyy?

    Why th heck do you people talk using thes ripoff free copies? Don't you have cellphones?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6