BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Average Rating 3.5
( 687 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(317)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(109)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I love Watson!

This book consists of several bite-sized nuggets of mystery, each of the tales being 20-25 pps long. Holmes usually has the answer to the case before he hears the end of the story, and Watson always tries to be as perceptive as Holmes, but fails. However, we need Watson...
This book consists of several bite-sized nuggets of mystery, each of the tales being 20-25 pps long. Holmes usually has the answer to the case before he hears the end of the story, and Watson always tries to be as perceptive as Holmes, but fails. However, we need Watson because he is the narrator! I can't decide which was scarier: The Speckled Band or The Engineer's Thumb. Gripping! I am glad to have finally discovered Watson and Holmes!

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

61 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Needs editing

This book was obviously scanned from a book and then posted here. Many characters were not translated correctly and thus it is very difficult to read. I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend downloading this book even though it is free unless you e6j0...
This book was obviously scanned from a book and then posted here. Many characters were not translated correctly and thus it is very difficult to read. I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend downloading this book even though it is free unless you e6j0y rea6ing teXt in th15 fo4ma+.

posted by AZ_ReaderLR on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    The book full of Mysteries

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, written by Conan Doyle, is a series of short stories about cases Holmes and his sidekick Dr. Watson have solved. Sherlock Holmes is an observant man and his intuition is unmatched by anyone in Europe. Dr.Watson is Holmes's sidekick in this book, trying to solve difficult cases applying Holmes's techniques. In this short story, the people that need a case to be solved are the Baskervilles. In the past, there was a man named Hugo that was obsessed with a young girl, and eventually kidnapped her and molested her. She escaped with the help of an ivy covered wall. Hugo supposedly made a deal with the devil in order to find the girl. Later Hugo's companions found his body next to the girl's with his throat ripped open by a big black beast. Mortimer, the family doctor, reports that the supernatural beast haunts the family.

    I enjoyed reading this book, but I somewhat dislike it just because some of the things Conan Doyle writes can get confusing. Whenever Holmes is on a case, he observes every detail and listens to everything a person has to say. This shows his intelligence and his determination to show this intelligence to the people around him. Dr.Watson admires Holmes's skills and tries to apply them to what he does to contribute to solve a case. This supports the fact that Holmes is person people look up to. The supernatural hound is symbolism for truth and fantasy; Sir Charles Baskerville was the man that was afraid of the curse. The fact that Sir Charles had poor health supports the fact that he was scared to death by the "hound." I would recommend this book to people of all shapes and sizes. The book makes you think; The mysteries makes the book suspenseful, but Holmes solves these cases with unmatched logic.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good stories, lots of errors

    I absolutely LOVE Sherlock Holmes but this version has lots of scan errors. To people interested in these stories, I would suggest finding a different version. It would be worth a few dollars extra.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2000

    Brill

    This book is a mix up of lots of stories. It is a wonderfull book to read on the go as the stories are relitively short and if you get bored with one you can move onto the next!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Hi

    Lots of growing and shrinking
    Fantasy
    But all in all a good book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    A series of short stories that are quite entertaining even though Arthur Conan Doyle's writing style is somewhat dated.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great read, minor grammatical errors and typos

    I love the story of sherlock holmes, so it is fun to finally read the book. I also enjoy visualizing sherlock and watson as the sherlock and watson from the movies and the bbc tv show. The typos are annoying but i can deal with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Good book

    It a good book to get if you like sherlock and the movies.
    *****************************************************************************

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    good but not perfect

    a great way to enjoy sherlock holmes, save for a few spelling errors this book is noteworthy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    A Perfect Little Companion

    This review details the Barnes and Noble Collector's Edition hardcover pocket size version of 'The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes' as the reviewer assumes you are already familiar with the content of the book. The book itself is well made, though the print is a bit small and the pages have a tendancy to stick together. The real beauty of these $5.35 volumes is their pocket size. The print can be a bit hard on the eyes, as it is tiny as mentioned, but for the road there is little that can be substituted. As an avid Holmes fan, I've got the two Barnes and Noble hardbacks with the collected stories as well as several other volumes, such as a hardback that replicates the original run in The Strand. The problem with all of these books? None of them are very convenient to take with me. When I got my hands on this little guy though I stripped the jacket right off and stuck it in my pocket. I know that jacket's going to get beat up, even though the design is attractive. Now I've got some decent short stories with me wherever I go. I keep it in my laptop bag and have it with me during downtime between classes to keep me entertained. These books, the Sherlock Holmes volume as well as the others in the series are not good choices if you are looking to suppliment your own personal library, or to tackle a text for the first time. Their small size means little in the way of space for taking notes, and if you're just sitting at home, they can be a bit clumsy. But if you've already read the work in question, they make great little guides. Included is an afterward talking about the text, mildly interesting, as well as a short bio on the author and a short list of books that might interest you if you enjoyed the reading. These are nice touches, but not necessary for a book of this size which is, after all, meant to be portable. I'd recommend the short story volumes myself, they have some of Poe's work anthologized, though with a ribbon to mark your place any of the volumes will make a good companion, be it on bus rides, in between (and hopefully not during!) class, or on trips. Of course, classic works only are part of the series but hopefully you've got a taste. Now I'm just waiting for some portable Theodore Dreiser. Anyway, while this review can not speak for the content of all the books (I give the Sherlock Holmes stories a firm 5 stars however), I can safely say that the convenience and style of these sturdy portable books rates an easy four stars, with only some minor faults holding them back from being brilliant. If not this volume, then look at the other titles available, if classics interest you at all, there is sure to be something you like. And if you love Sherlock Holmes, then definately check out the little volume that includes Hound of the Baskervilles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Good book. Why is it from Watson's point of view? view????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Good book but too many typos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Grear Story, Decent Copy

    The stories are entertaining, but you have to decipher some of the words that were misinterpreted by the scanner vand never corrected. However, it is better than some of the other versions available. If you can be a patient reader and spend some time with it, I would recconend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    I watched the movies and enjoy him.... I think I should read this book now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    2013!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2013 IS HERE BROS AND DUDE- ETS!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    Please tell me whether or not this is a biography or autobiography!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Great book must read

    Grear book something to love if u enjoy mysteries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    one of THE best

    One of the BEST books I've ever read... The tiniest details that we tend to ignore, he captures them and deduces from them. good job to Doyle! If he were alive in this era, I'm sure he'd have written stories based on today's modern technology and modern ways of crimes committed.
    A Must Read Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

    So far the book has been exellent. Very well written but there's quite a few typos. Reccomended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    An easy read

    That kept me entertained for the most part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    It is a good book

    I would read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sherlock Holmes was the original CSI

    I had read these stories as a kid and had forgotten a lot. When I recently read these stories I thought it was so interesting how Sherlock Holmes was the original Crime Scene Investigator. He really was a brillant, flawed character who cared deeply about his cases. The stories are entertaining especially after seeing the movie recently. If you like these stories, read any of the JD Robb series. Eve Dallas is also a great investigator.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7