Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Tintin: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Janet J for Readers Favorite Great blistering barna

Reviewed by Janet J for Readers Favorite

Great blistering barnacles! Our hero, young reporter Tintin (with a nose for news) stumbles across a find among the odds and ends at the Old Street Market: a model of The Unicorn, a ship which belonged to Sir Francis Hannock, w...
Reviewed by Janet J for Readers Favorite

Great blistering barnacles! Our hero, young reporter Tintin (with a nose for news) stumbles across a find among the odds and ends at the Old Street Market: a model of The Unicorn, a ship which belonged to Sir Francis Hannock, who lost his fortune when it went down. When the model is accidentally knocked to the floor, the broken mast reveals a piece of rolled parchment; on the parchment, written in a spidery hand, is a riddle. Whoever solves the riddle holds a crucial piece of information pointing to the location of pirate Red Rackman's treasure!

Tintin isn't the only one pursuing the treasure of the notorious pirate; as soon as he owns the model ship he finds himself in frequent danger, but with his white terrier Snowy at his side, he always manages to find a creative way to escape his pursuers (“Great snakes! Look out!”). Snowy is also an excellent judge of character; together they are a formidable team. This story takes Tintin and Snowy from land to sea, as well as from the extremes of the bottom of the ocean to the limitless sky. A few of the unusual characters Tintin encounters include a sinister descendant of pirate Red Rackman himself, camels, and an opera singer.

This audiobook version of the movie tie-in novelization is delightful and engaging, and truly great to listen to. Nick Sullivan’s narration gives each character a distinctive voice, accent, or dialect, while establishing a lively tone and pace that keep the listener actively involved. The book is recommended for readers aged 8 and up, and this audio version should be very appealing to all ages.

posted by ReadersFavorite on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I saw the movie

Its awesome! If ur just thinking about going, GO. U will love it! The animation was so real! It must have cost like a billion dollers to get the animation looking that real but i am glad they did! If u have ever seen the polor express (which i dont know a single person ...
Its awesome! If ur just thinking about going, GO. U will love it! The animation was so real! It must have cost like a billion dollers to get the animation looking that real but i am glad they did! If u have ever seen the polor express (which i dont know a single person who hasent) the charecters in the movies will remind u of the polor express movie. In fact, guess what? The guy who made indiana jones up? Well he got all his ideas from these tin tin stories. I am glad they made a movie of it. I am sure the book is just as great!

posted by 10691484 on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Janet J for Readers Favorite Great blistering barna

    Reviewed by Janet J for Readers Favorite

    Great blistering barnacles! Our hero, young reporter Tintin (with a nose for news) stumbles across a find among the odds and ends at the Old Street Market: a model of The Unicorn, a ship which belonged to Sir Francis Hannock, who lost his fortune when it went down. When the model is accidentally knocked to the floor, the broken mast reveals a piece of rolled parchment; on the parchment, written in a spidery hand, is a riddle. Whoever solves the riddle holds a crucial piece of information pointing to the location of pirate Red Rackman's treasure!

    Tintin isn't the only one pursuing the treasure of the notorious pirate; as soon as he owns the model ship he finds himself in frequent danger, but with his white terrier Snowy at his side, he always manages to find a creative way to escape his pursuers (“Great snakes! Look out!”). Snowy is also an excellent judge of character; together they are a formidable team. This story takes Tintin and Snowy from land to sea, as well as from the extremes of the bottom of the ocean to the limitless sky. A few of the unusual characters Tintin encounters include a sinister descendant of pirate Red Rackman himself, camels, and an opera singer.

    This audiobook version of the movie tie-in novelization is delightful and engaging, and truly great to listen to. Nick Sullivan’s narration gives each character a distinctive voice, accent, or dialect, while establishing a lively tone and pace that keep the listener actively involved. The book is recommended for readers aged 8 and up, and this audio version should be very appealing to all ages.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    The book


    Tin tin is a great movie. I luv the comics! This is an action packed book and movie that everyone will enjoy.
    But there is a little bit of blood, and there r guns so but it is cartooned 4 the movie.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    A wonderful book that inspired my son to ENJOY reading!

    I bought this for my 8 yo son who HATES to read but has wanted to see the movie. So I made a deal- if he reads the book- he sees the movie at the theater. Not only has he read this book with little arguement, he read it in record time.For him- that's a big deal. Usually he fakes reading what he is assigned to read but this time he would stop reading to tell me what has happened and is genuinely excited by the series. In fact, he now wants to buy the entire Tin Tin series to read (since we haven't been able to locate them in the library) and do his upcoming 3rd grade Author assignment on the life of Herge.
    I would say it is a huge success!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Awesome

    This book is prettyy good. You should watch the movie.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    read this

    I am readig this for my reading group its so good so far

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    This is amazing!

    This book is amazing, it is as adventurous as the epic movie. It is the exact same as the movie, which is why I like it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Great

    I am ahuuuuuuuge tintin fan. It is my faveoret movie.
    It looks good I hope it is........... well looks are deasevig.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Ssssoooo ccccoooooooollll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is the best book ever

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaattttttttttttt

    Gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatttttttttttttt. I l o v e love tintin way more than all of you. Me and my mom watched the movie 14 times in the theater.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    LOVE IT

    Read it!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Daring

    Good

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great book

    It was great.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Is the Adventures of Tintin a series?

    Is the Adventures of Tintin a series? Is this a great,good book to read? Is this book worth reading? Should I get this book? URGENT!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    TinTin Rocks!!

    TinTin is a vary adventurous read. YOU WILL LOVE IT!! Be sure to see the movie and read the comic books

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Abnghj

    Hgdvhnbc

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    TinTin

    I am the biggest TinTin fan on the face of the earth, love books and movie. Go TinTin!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Gret

    I read the sample.It was great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Good

    It looks great but shoud I get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    I dont have this

    Should I get this? I saw the movie...it was GOOD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Love it

    Must have

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5