Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

Average Rating 3.5
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(62)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

you should read this book

This book is about two boys named Tom and Huck. They heard about a treasure buried somewhere. They are trying to find out where the treasure is buried but they have a little problem--other people are looking for the treasure too. Injun Joe is also looking for the tre...
This book is about two boys named Tom and Huck. They heard about a treasure buried somewhere. They are trying to find out where the treasure is buried but they have a little problem--other people are looking for the treasure too. Injun Joe is also looking for the treasure and he is the meanest person that no one likes. One night Tom and Huck were walking in a grave yard and saw Injun Joe kill a guy. So now Tom and Huck are scared of Injun Joe. Then Tom ran away to an island because he wanted to try living on his own. Everyone in the town thought Tom and Huck died, but they didn┬┐t. On the day of their funeral they showed up and surprised all the grown ups. Do they find the treasure? Read and find out. This was an easy book to read because it was short. I liked this book because it had a lot of adventure.

posted by Anonymous on June 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Poor qualitiy edition

The story, of course, is great. But this edition came through with so many "typos" that I just couldn't read it. I got another copy through Gutenberg...

posted by read-knit on January 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Not The Adventures of Tom Sawyer!!!!!!!!!

    I got this hopeing it was "The Adventures of Tom Sawyer" but instead it is "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn"

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Great book

    Its a good book i got it at the lybary at my school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Uuuuggghhhhh

    This wasnt even in english most of the time read a dif. version then youll be happier

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Its a pretty good book!

    The book Tom Sawyer is a pretty decent book. I liked the non stop adventure that Tom and his best freind Huck Finn had together. If youa re looking for a good book to read I sugest this one. The only part of the book I didnt like was thsat it was so long, but if you find a good book then how long it is shouldnt matter. Right? Right! So, everyone read thhis book it is really good.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    not a great book

    are you looking for something that is a chalange to fallow, something that is not the easest book. this is the choice for you... at first its not great but at the end yhou will really fall in love with tom

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    best book

    This is one of the best book i have ever red but i would never read it over and over agin cause some parts are boring but others and really good cause i am reading this in class and my teacher is awsome whn we are in class

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Awesome book!!!!!

    At first when i saw the book i didnt think i was hoing to like it but when i started reading i knew i was wrong.that just goes to prove never judge a person or book by there cover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Stupid

    Its abriged version if you want the real version dont buy it its a waste of money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    This book is the most boring book i have EVERread in my entire life!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is so boring that if i had a paper back version of it i would through it across the room and stomp on it with a high heel entill it is shredded to bits!!!! The end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    This is a great version but....

    This is a great book but it isnt tom sawyer. Its hucklberry finn. If you dont mind getting a diffrrent book from what it says then thats ok but warning wrong book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Mmark twain

    As sir poopypants i declare this book the most wonderful book in the world@?factories and co. Sorry people who are to read this that was my sister and i will try to keep her off the nook.in the meantime this book is tho most wonderful book in the world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    To Book

    There aren't many typos because of the different dialect (the way people speak the same language differently like Brittish English and American English) used. That is because the book was published in the 1870's when there was a different "type" of English. Quick fact: "Mark Twain" was a boating term used to signal when the water was high enough so that the boat wouldn't run a ground. Samuel Clemens grew up in a river town so he experienced a lot of sailing and boaring terms in his childhood; That is what lead him to his penname as an author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Dean Goranites of the BookReviewersClub reviewed the book "

    Dean Goranites of the BookReviewersClub reviewed the book "The Adventures of Tom Sawyer" by Mark Twain.




    This story is about a boy named Tom Sawyer who is a very selfish type of "Bad Boy," which actually makes him a fairly lovable character. Tom spends most of his time with Huckleberry Finn, the son of the town drunkard, who is more or less an orphan. He is not forced to do anything; he does whatever he wants.




    One interesting aspect of the story is how much superstition is in this novel. Tom and Finn talk about all the different superstitions of the time like ghosts, dead cats and more. Mark Twain took most of his ideas for the story from daily life, which makes the story cool and interesting.




    Dean thinks Mark Twain did a great job in this book. All in all, he gave the book 5 stars because the story was so interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    To : NO!

    U r cyber bullying, u know that right? The guy probly just hit the wrong button.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    To yoshigal

    Maybe i would...but you insist on not using proper grammar.. so you'll just have to read it yourself...maybe it'll improve your improper gramatical errors to read something besides texts

    -harry_potter_girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Yoshigal

    Hows the book i still havent read it give real answer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Book is great but app keeps on malfuntioning.

    I recommend this book but the nook app in specific is not good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Terrible

    My activity reader wont respond because of this book. It has
    the paragraphs triple spaced and the book has stopped on page 147 and i cant read further. I recommend a different edition if this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    So when ur bored

    Okay smart ones out there how do you talk to one another on a nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    NO

    It is not a food book idiot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18