Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer: (Bullseye Step into Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 334 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

you should read this book

This book is about two boys named Tom and Huck. They heard about a treasure buried somewhere. They are trying to find out where the treasure is buried but they have a little problem--other people are looking for the treasure too. Injun Joe is also looking for the tre...
This book is about two boys named Tom and Huck. They heard about a treasure buried somewhere. They are trying to find out where the treasure is buried but they have a little problem--other people are looking for the treasure too. Injun Joe is also looking for the treasure and he is the meanest person that no one likes. One night Tom and Huck were walking in a grave yard and saw Injun Joe kill a guy. So now Tom and Huck are scared of Injun Joe. Then Tom ran away to an island because he wanted to try living on his own. Everyone in the town thought Tom and Huck died, but they didn┬┐t. On the day of their funeral they showed up and surprised all the grown ups. Do they find the treasure? Read and find out. This was an easy book to read because it was short. I liked this book because it had a lot of adventure.

posted by Anonymous on June 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Poor qualitiy edition

The story, of course, is great. But this edition came through with so many "typos" that I just couldn't read it. I got another copy through Gutenberg...

posted by read-knit on January 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Captivating Recount of a Young Boy's Adventure Into Manhood

    The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain is a very enthralling novel. It is about an imaginative young boy, Tom Sawyer who can be very mischievous but is naturally "good", instead of his half brother Sid, or the novel's antagonist, Injun Joe. He begins the story as a manipulative young rebel, which is demonstrated when he swindles his classmates into whitewashing a fence that he was originally punished to do, in exchange for small treasures. Tom, captivated with stories of pirates and other rebels, leads him and his friends in a series of adventures, from playing battles to running away to an island to create a pirate crew. As the adventures become more serious and dangerous, Tom becomes more and more mature. After witnessing a murder, and testifying against the killer, Injun Joe, Tom and Huckleberry Finn fear for their lives while treasure hunting, and they both display heroics that ultimately result into their "real" maturation into adulthood. Twain, throughout the story satirizes the hypocrisy of most adult institutions, such as the church, Sunday school, regular school and the temperance tavern. He views that adults are hypocritical and pretentious, possessing a certain "false maturity". This "false" maturity is defined by the moral maturity a person or institution has. For example, the temperance tavern, which is not supposed to serve alcohol, has a secret back room that does just that. By the end of the novel, Tom changed from attempting to undermine all authority, into a defender of the respectable adult society, displaying the truest sense of moral maturity, even though he was still not very old. Tom first explores superstitions with Huck, and soon becomes dependant on them. They created so many beliefs that in any uncertain situation, such as when they were in the haunted mansion, they can provide reassurance and confidence in one's self. Rebellion is prevalent within the novel. Tom and his friends commit crimes and disobey their parents, but they never are geared at hurting any other people. These minor rebellions could never lead to worse crimes, because Tom and the boys felt deep remorse only for stealing small amounts of bacon. These rebellious adventures for Tom lead to his praise within the community, like when he returns from Jackson's Island and shows up at his own funeral, only to be greeted with hugs. Injun Joe however, commits crimes that are obviously harmful to others such as murder, and finally dies, which shows that Twain condemns crimes that are harmful to others. I strongly recommend this intriguing book, although at times it can be hard to follow.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Rough beginning, good ending

    I had to read this book as part of my summer honors language arts work. In my opinion, the beginning of the novel was rough, but after you understand the slang words and get to know the characters...the novel gets really good. I would probably recommend this book to soone who is 12 years of age or Older. :)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    jacksob Jackson

    This book is the most interesting book ever. You must read it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Aw

    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Superb Awesome

    Im in sixth grade and i loved it its not that hard just need to get used to the vocab

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    RESERVED

    For a future date. ~Batu.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    It is a great book!

    It's a great book but there are a lot of mistakes in this one. If you relly want to injoy the book you should get a better version.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    Although Tom Sawyer was a sneaky and hateful boy at times, he basically had a caring heart for his Aunt Polly, for young Becky Thatcher, for town drunk Muff Potter, and even for rowdy rebel Huck Finn. That's nice of him to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    Mischevious young boy...

    This book is wonderful. Tom is a michevious young boy. His love intrest with Becky Thatcher is so sweet and touching. Although it takes 20 pages for the book to get started it is very good. It is a rather slow moving book until you get to the end, so i sugest reading at least 40 pages at a time. Overall Tom Sawyer is fabulous and all the charcters leave you cracking, up or very scared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    Very interesting, surprising

    I thought that this book was really interesting. I enjoyed this book up until the middle of the story. This part of the book gave too much information about subjects that were not following the story. The writer didn't stay on track with where the story was going. At this point in the book I almost felt too bored to read it, but then it started to get more and more interesting. I recommend this book to anyone who likes action/adventure storys. I think this book would be a little to complicated for any student or child under the grade of five. Overall, this book was a good book to read if you are bored with just sitting around watching TV.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    A masterpiece!

    Tom recounts the story in a humorous way that keeps the reader reading. The story will live on in the bookshelves for years to come. The text is exciting, interesting, hilarious and everything a goood book needs. As I am a big fan fantasy reasder, and do not read many classics with a few exceptions like The Prince and the Pauper or The Call of the Wild, the book deserves four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    The Advemture of Tom Sawyer is a wonderful book

    I recently read the Adventures of Tom Sawyer. I really had high hopes for this book, considering how much I enjoyed Huckleberry Finn. Now that I have read the book I can say that if you¿re a fan of Mark Twain or any of his writings you will enjoy this book. I don't want to ruin any surprises, but the book moves from one exciting scene to the next. I just had to keep reading to see what happened. Whether Tom's hunting for treasure or becoming a pirate there was always something motivating me to keep reading on. For instance, the book holds something interesting for everyone. It has several plot twists throughout the whole book that will keep anyone involved. This is the kind of book that you will want to read just to know how it ends. I was spending a large amount of time reading this book for that very reason. After I was finished reading I was happy, but disappointed that it had to end. Tom and Huck do several things throughout the book such as stumble on a murder and witness it, run from home and become pirates. Tom gets lost in a cave with Becky Thatcher. However, some things I disliked about the book are that some of the characters were under developed. There was a good amount of room to expand with characters such as Aunt Polly and the Widow Douglas. The book started out slow but does pick up speed after awhile. One thing I thought was strange was the relationship between Tom and Huck in Huckleberry Finn. Huck was clever and was not fooled into anything. But Tom can talk Huck into just about anything in Tom Sawyer. And so, the most important part of this book to me would be the relationship Mark Twain sets with the book. He writes very interesting books and shows how it relates to him. For instance, Mark Twain states that Tom Sawyer was a mixture of three boys that he knew and how it related to him. Aside from a few minor issues such as character development I felt that Tom Sawyer is an instant classic that anyone would be proud to own. After you read this book I suggest getting Huckleberry Finn. But there isn¿t anything that stops Tom Sawyer from becoming a wonderful book filled with action, adventure and comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    a great American classic

    The adventures of Tom Sawyer is a good book for all ages. To me, the things that happend in the book could have been true. The one thing I diden't like about the book was, it dident have a solid story line. It was like each chapter was one adventure. It was rare for more than two chapture's to follow each other. Besides that, it was a great book and I would recomend it to all my friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    Student Review

    Charlie Jones Activity 3 Honors 12/21/02 Was Tom dead or alive? These were the questions rolling around St. Petersburg because of Tom¿s disappearance. Tom is a troublesome kid having a hard time understanding and getting by life without any problems. Tom and his friend run away from home and were both witnesses of a murder, not knowing what they should do they both just tried to forget about it. Tom is also trying to learn about girls and how they work, he can¿t seem to figure ¿life¿ out. Tom goes through many adventures with some very close calls. In the beginning of the novel Tom and Huck are walking through the graveyard looking for a spot to burry a cat. Were they not only walking through a place where people go after they are killed or die, but they saw someone get murdered right before there eyes. They were so shocked that they had no idea what to think or even what to do. This wasn¿t supposed to happen in real life, these were the things that happened in those really fake horror movies. Kids were not supposed to witness these types of things. This part of the story is the end of the beginning but the beginning of the rest of the book. This starts the adventure and welcomes more adventure to come. Once this happened I got more interested in the book, and I wanted to know what was going to happen next. The boys decided to leave everything that they saw that night, back there. They signed an agreement in there blood that they were not to tell a soul. By this agreement it made the book more interesting because I knew that they were going to have to go through some hard struggles to keep it a secret. I also knew that one of them was going to tell someone. That is why this was the beginning of all the adventure. Another part of the story that really stood out at me was the scene in the court. This relates to the beginning of the book because Tom and Huck were the only ones who knew who had really killed the Dr. in the graveyard. The author puts the lives of two men on the line into the hands of Tom. This got me interested because I¿m a Kid and in life we usually don¿t get to make big decisions like that that will affect a grown man¿s life. So that was pretty cool. It shocked me when Tom told the judge and everyone in court. Yea I thought he was going to tell someone but not in front of lost of people, I thought that he would do it to the side and away from everybody. It made me happy thought when he did tell because Muff Potter was getting the blame for the murder and he didn¿t do it. What Tom did was the right thing, it may not have been the smartest but it was the right thing to do. If he would have never told then his friend would be in jail for nothing for the rest of his life. They would be living a lie, and Injun Joe a murderer would still be on the loose. Overall I believe that The Adventures of Tom Sawyer was a good book, I loved how it was adventurous. The author really made it interesting when he put a kid in the middle of everything big. Not in many books do you have the main character a kid and the plot is a murder. I liked how that was the case in this book. I would definitely recommend this book to someone who likes Adventure and suspense. Tom was alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    The best review....ever.... lollol

    The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is a book about a teenage boy who gets into mischief, trouble, and just has a good time enjoying being a kid. At the beginning of the book it explains his living situation and environment; he lives with his aunt Polly and younger brothers Sid, who is quieter, less adventurous, in a house where he spends any time he¿s not asleep or in trouble outdoors (and even sometimes when he is in trouble). He is a very cunning, and even at times deceiving, boy the uses the majority of his smarts to his own good or for the good of people he really, really cares for. His best friends are Joe Harper and the famous Huckleberry Finn (Huck Finn). They go on many adventures together; pirating and sailing down the river, running away and causing mischief whenever. But the really big adventures involve most just Huck and Tom. One night Tom and Huck sneak out late at night with a dead cat in a bag and head to the graveyard. While there though they see Injun Joe, one of the worst men they know of, Muff Potter, and Doc Robinson digging up an old body. Then something happens they did not expect; Injun Joe knocks out Muff, kills Doc Robinson, and then blames it on him. Muff is imprisoned-to-be hanged and Tom and Huck swears to keep `mum¿ (keep quiet) about it. That promise has to be broken however when Tom must testify in court against Injun Joe. After this Injun Joe runs away and Tom finds him when being stuck in a cave with him and the girl that he likes, Becky Thatcher. The rest you¿ll have to read to find out. The characters were very real and I think were brought a lot from Mark Twain himself. The style of writing he used for this novel is so unique and original starting from the beginning, though some may be a little hard to understand at first. The characters are so very real and well brought to life. The main characters¿ feelings mock those of real people¿s through out mostly the whole book. When Tom gets in trouble you want him to do good and when Muff Potter goes to jail you feel sorry for him. Overall I think this was a very good, classic novel and the best of Mark Twain¿s work I¿ve read (considering this is probably the only of Mark Twain¿s work I¿ve read). I would suggest this is anyone who likes down to earth adventure stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    EXCELLENT NOVEL!!

    If you can read English, it does not matter if you can't speak English, but if you can read English you MUST READ THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    pretty good

    It started out kind of boring but then it got better and I really enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    A Little Insight Into 'The Adventures of Tom Sawyer'

    The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain is a timeless classic about the exploits of a young boy, and his friends. It has appealed to generation after generation, and to young and old alike. The main character is a boy about nine or ten years old, named Tom Sawyer. He is a feisty, troublesome lad, delighting in things such as dipping little girls¿ hair in ink, and playing tricks on his younger brother. Some important points to look at in the book are Tom¿s changing disposition, the language style, and the story¿s depiction of real life. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is a story that has ups and downs to keep you glued to the pages until the end. First, it is important to notice the changes in Tom¿s disposition. In the beginning, he loves to play pranks on others, and get out of the consequences of his actions. One of his attempts to escape punishment is when he is told to whitewash his aunt¿s fence. He ends up getting out of the punishment by playing a sneaky trick on all of the other neighborhood boys. Later on, the reader will notice that he is more mature, like when trying to prove his worth to his crush, Becky Thatcher. His attitude seems very different from the beginning to the end. Although the story takes place over a few months, Tom¿s attitude gets a readjustment as if it was over several years. Second, the reader should take note of the unusual language style. The characters¿ dialogue is written in very poor English, to give the reader a sense of the character¿s education and personality. Furthermore, it is told in the beginning that the setting for the story is rural Missouri, and the author was very careful to make the characters¿ speech compliment that theme. While the dialogue for this story is written to display a dialect of the English language that is sometimes hard to understand, if one takes the time to understand what is being said, they get a better understanding of the personality of the character. Lastly, the reader must ask, ¿is this an accurate description of late nineteenth century life in Missouri?¿ I truthfully cannot answer that question, but I believe that it is a little bit of truth, with a lot of exaggeration. The author says that he drew many of the situations in the book from real-life, but I think that there is ample embellishing to parts of the book. For example, there is the part of the story where Tom and his friend Huckleberry Finn hear about a treasure hidden in a cave, and are hunted by a man called Injun Joe because of it. I certainly believe that this did not happen in real life, and that the author added this episode in the story to add a bit of excitement and suspense. While many details of the story are taken from real life events and places, I believe it is quite doubtful this is an accurate depiction of life in the late 1800¿s. In conclusion, I enjoyed reading this book. While the book has a few minor setbacks, I feel that it is a very well written book that deserves the continuous praise it gets. While reading the book, one should stay focused on the changes in Tom¿s disposition, the unique language style, and the book¿s depiction of real life in the time period in which it is written. This was a wonderful classic book that follows the life of a boy growing up in times very different from our own. While it might be tough to decipher some of the language and symbols used in the book, the reader would benefit greatly from understanding them. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys classic literature, or stories about life in the 1800¿s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2001

    TOM SAWYER: ALL AMERICAN BOY

    Tom Sawyer faced many challanges. He found ways to survive life in the 19th century. Tom proved to be a true friend to Jim by helping him get away. I enjoyed reading about their adventures and problems they faced on their journey. I felt this was one of Mark Twain's better books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2000

    Thoroughly Enjoyable

    I started reading this book yesterday and finished it today. I coudn't put it down. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recomend it. Tom is hilarious. I had expected to find it a bit on the boring side, but it was quite an enjoyable read. I am now going to read The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, which is my father's favorite book. The text is clear, easy to follow and extremely entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3